LinuxQuestions.org
Welcome to the most active Linux Forum on the web.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Software > Linux - Kernel
User Name
Password
Linux - Kernel This forum is for all discussion relating to the Linux kernel.

Notices

Reply
 
Search this Thread
Old 09-30-2013, 12:26 PM   #1
DeeGee
Member
 
Registered: Apr 2013
Distribution: Debian, Linux From Scratch, Mint
Posts: 118

Rep: Reputation: 23
Linux 3.12 rc3 fails to load


Hi, I am experimenting with building the latest version of the kernel with Ubuntu 13.04.

The problem is, when loading it just outputs

Code:
Loading Linux 3.12rc3...
and stops there. The processor makes a huge noise but nothing happens.

Setting
Code:
GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT="debug"
gave no output.

However, I can load and boot in fine to my previous kernel.

Any help is greatly appreciated. Thank you
 
Old 10-01-2013, 09:44 AM   #2
sundialsvcs
Guru
 
Registered: Feb 2004
Location: SE Tennessee, USA
Distribution: Gentoo, LFS
Posts: 5,231

Rep: Reputation: 1071Reputation: 1071Reputation: 1071Reputation: 1071Reputation: 1071Reputation: 1071Reputation: 1071Reputation: 1071
I would suggest carefully repeating the package installation procedure.
 
Old 10-01-2013, 10:57 PM   #3
zeebra
Member
 
Registered: Dec 2011
Distribution: Mageia 3, Debian Wheezy, Maemo, Linux Mint 14.
Posts: 165

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Why use a release candidate instead of a stable release?

longterm: 3.10.14


Are you using initrd correctly?

Last edited by zeebra; 10-01-2013 at 10:59 PM.
 
Old 10-02-2013, 08:35 AM   #4
DeeGee
Member
 
Registered: Apr 2013
Distribution: Debian, Linux From Scratch, Mint
Posts: 118

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 23
I was using this for a learning purpose

Anyway, for someone who runs into the same error, here's what I did to solve the issue. My system runs a UEFI dual boot and running Boot Repair made it possible to successfully load the new kernel.
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Linux Mint fails to load (No graphics drivers??) (Please help!) evolver Linux - General 3 09-28-2012 02:23 PM
[SOLVED] mkinitrd library load failure, '-s', 13.37 / current / RC3 lazardo Slackware 4 03-24-2011 03:42 PM
Won't load Gnome on rc3.d codex73 Linux - General 2 04-25-2008 07:21 AM
Stepmania 3.9-rc3 emerge fails slithy Linux - Games 1 11-22-2005 05:32 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:08 AM.

Main Menu
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration