LinuxQuestions.org
Register a domain and help support LQ
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Newbie
User Name
Password
Linux - Newbie This Linux forum is for members that are new to Linux.
Just starting out and have a question? If it is not in the man pages or the how-to's this is the place!

Notices

Reply
 
Search this Thread
Old 05-14-2014, 09:16 AM   #16
oel
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Apr 2014
Posts: 21

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled

Hi again,

Ive been working with cdroom this days. First installing the Linux os and secondly Reading an iso (in the cdroom device) for the LIS installation....

At this moment I dont know what could be the problem. Here is a configuration screen with my virtual device on Hyper-V for Oracle Enterprise Linux

http://postimg.org/image/d244eczxt/

Regards
Attached Images
File Type: jpg dvd.jpg (72.3 KB, 5 views)
 
Old 05-14-2014, 09:26 AM   #17
jamison20000e
Senior Member
 
Registered: Nov 2005
Location: infinity; (randomly born:) Milwaukee, WI, US, Earth
Distribution: any UNIXish that works well on my cheapest with mostly KDE, Xfce, JWM or CLI but open ;-)
Posts: 1,345
Blog Entries: 2

Rep: Reputation: 349Reputation: 349Reputation: 349Reputation: 349
Can you add a second virtual DVD drive like in Virtualbox?
 
Old 05-14-2014, 09:47 AM   #18
oel
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Apr 2014
Posts: 21

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
jamison20000e , I tryed... In the image you can see a second input... But Linux cant recognize it after a reboot...
 
Old 05-14-2014, 09:58 AM   #19
jamison20000e
Senior Member
 
Registered: Nov 2005
Location: infinity; (randomly born:) Milwaukee, WI, US, Earth
Distribution: any UNIXish that works well on my cheapest with mostly KDE, Xfce, JWM or CLI but open ;-)
Posts: 1,345
Blog Entries: 2

Rep: Reputation: 349Reputation: 349Reputation: 349Reputation: 349
I wasn't sure if that was what was going on with the .iso loaded in both? Have other .iso or even CD\DVDs worked, can you burn to a disk and try the physical drive or any CD\DVD to see? Plus, are Hyper-V files (virtual drives and such) compatible to try other visualization software's like Virtualbox?
 
Old 05-14-2014, 10:34 AM   #20
oel
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Apr 2014
Posts: 21

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Ive tryed another iso (the last one that I used for LIS instalation) and the Linux os doesn't recognize it...
I cant use Virtualbox. We have to use Hiper-V due to licences issues.
 
Old 05-14-2014, 04:21 PM   #21
lleb
Senior Member
 
Registered: Dec 2005
Location: Florida
Distribution: CentOS/Fedora
Posts: 2,508

Rep: Reputation: 446Reputation: 446Reputation: 446Reputation: 446Reputation: 446
then i encourage you to contact Microsoft. this is their problem.
 
Old 05-15-2014, 06:36 AM   #22
oel
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Apr 2014
Posts: 21

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Ive found next information bug:

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/2600152

Quote:
WORKAROUND
To work around this issue, mount the ISO in the virtual machine. To mount an ISO file in the virtual machine, the following command must be run before executing the mount command:

# insmod /lib/modules/$(uname -r)/kernel/drivers/ata/ata_piix.ko

Alternatively, copy the ISO file into the virtual machine and mount it using the -o loop option.

Anybody knows what the sintaxis for the mount instruction with "-o loop option" is?

Regards
 
Old 05-15-2014, 08:22 AM   #23
jamison20000e
Senior Member
 
Registered: Nov 2005
Location: infinity; (randomly born:) Milwaukee, WI, US, Earth
Distribution: any UNIXish that works well on my cheapest with mostly KDE, Xfce, JWM or CLI but open ;-)
Posts: 1,345
Blog Entries: 2

Rep: Reputation: 349Reputation: 349Reputation: 349Reputation: 349
You could mount it with Furius Iso, Iso Master and so on or CLI should be
Code:
mount -t iso9660 -o loop <isoname>
 
Old 05-15-2014, 08:27 AM   #24
jamison20000e
Senior Member
 
Registered: Nov 2005
Location: infinity; (randomly born:) Milwaukee, WI, US, Earth
Distribution: any UNIXish that works well on my cheapest with mostly KDE, Xfce, JWM or CLI but open ;-)
Posts: 1,345
Blog Entries: 2

Rep: Reputation: 349Reputation: 349Reputation: 349Reputation: 349
but I don't think that's right you probably need to make a mount directory
Code:
sudo mkdir /media/iso
sudo mount /path/to/Software_HP_DP_8.00_for_HP-UX_TD586-15007.iso -o loop /media/iso

Last edited by jamison20000e; 05-16-2014 at 07:01 AM.
 
1 members found this post helpful.
Old 05-15-2014, 08:34 AM   #25
jamison20000e
Senior Member
 
Registered: Nov 2005
Location: infinity; (randomly born:) Milwaukee, WI, US, Earth
Distribution: any UNIXish that works well on my cheapest with mostly KDE, Xfce, JWM or CLI but open ;-)
Posts: 1,345
Blog Entries: 2

Rep: Reputation: 349Reputation: 349Reputation: 349Reputation: 349
post 24 just worked for me
 
1 members found this post helpful.
Old 05-16-2014, 03:22 AM   #26
oel
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Apr 2014
Posts: 21

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
jamison20000e,
your post 24 works for me too!!!!

Thank you very much
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
mount: mount point /mnt/cdrom does not exist Sujathapm Linux - Newbie 11 07-31-2013 02:19 AM
CDROM refuses to mount, /dev/cdrom does not exist shane25119 Linux - Hardware 10 08-02-2009 10:43 PM
Cdrom won't mount, "cdrom busy" mickeyboa Fedora 7 11-30-2004 10:39 PM
I can't mount CDROM dxtr Linux - Hardware 8 06-23-2004 09:21 PM
Can't Mount CDROM-Please Help! ClericPreston Linux - Newbie 2 06-17-2004 09:50 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:56 PM.

Main Menu
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration