LinuxQuestions.org
Review your favorite Linux distribution.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Desktop
User Name
Password
Linux - Desktop This forum is for the discussion of all Linux Software used in a desktop context.

Notices

Reply
 
LinkBack Search this Thread
Old 02-06-2013, 02:51 AM   #1
pestka
Member
 
Registered: Dec 2012
Location: Southampton, UK
Posts: 36

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Post XFCE panel autoresizes


Hi there!

I've recently upgraded 2 systems from Fedora 17 to 18 (both with XFCE) and noticed that in both cases there's something odd happening to the upper panel (the one which has the applications menu). Attached is a file which shows the issue.

What happens is that the panel resizes itself automatically, leaving empty gray space on the right side of the screen which does not really look good. What should happen is if there is any empty space between the workspace switcher and the clock it should move the clock to the very right of the screen and this is what I want to achieve. On the other hand; when there are multiple windows opened it fills up the space so the panel looks normally.

What to do in this situation?

P.
Attached Images
File Type: png empty_space.png (23.8 KB, 11 views)
 
Old 02-06-2013, 10:54 AM   #2
Philip Lacroix
Member
 
Registered: Jun 2012
Distribution: Slackware, FreeBSD
Posts: 147

Rep: Reputation: 57
Try removing the Window Buttons item and adding it again.

[Edit] I've seen something like this a couple of times. At least... looking at the file you posted it seems that the panel itself is already 100%: what happened to me was that the "Windows Buttons" item's size changed depending on the number of open windows, and all items on the right side sticked to it (clock, workspace selector,...) leaving the right side of the panel empty. What I did was right-clicking on the "Windows Buttons" item (exactly on the five dots you see at the left end of it), removing it, then adding it again with the "Panel preferences" menu: this fixed the thing.

Last edited by Philip Lacroix; 02-06-2013 at 01:08 PM.
 
Old 02-06-2013, 12:10 PM   #3
DavidMcCann
Senior Member
 
Registered: Jul 2006
Location: London
Distribution: CentOS, Salix
Posts: 2,835

Rep: Reputation: 729Reputation: 729Reputation: 729Reputation: 729Reputation: 729Reputation: 729Reputation: 729
Right-click on the panel and choose to configure it. If you've got the latest version, you should see an option to set the length:
http://www.linuceum.com/Distros/osDesktopConfigXfce.php
 
Old 02-13-2013, 03:57 AM   #4
pestka
Member
 
Registered: Dec 2012
Location: Southampton, UK
Posts: 36

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Hi Phillip,

I tried it a couple of times but that did not help. I was also trying to shut down xfce4-panel and start it again. I deleted different sections of my panel and added them again and that also did not help. I do not really want to reinstall xfce just because of that...
 
Old 02-13-2013, 09:48 AM   #5
Philip Lacroix
Member
 
Registered: Jun 2012
Distribution: Slackware, FreeBSD
Posts: 147

Rep: Reputation: 57
Hi,

did you try to create a new panel? You add a new taskbar to it (window buttons) and take all other items from your current panel (right click --> move), check if it works, then delete the original panel. This should work (and now I suspect that's what I actually did :-)

Regards,
Philip
 
Old 02-19-2013, 04:34 AM   #6
pestka
Member
 
Registered: Dec 2012
Location: Southampton, UK
Posts: 36

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Post

Hard as I tried I could not do that
I will try to remove entire panel and add it again.

Do xfce panels have their own configuration files? Perhaps if you copied yours and send it here I could paste it into my configuration? Not sure if that would work but it's worth to give it a go.
 
Old 02-21-2013, 05:25 PM   #7
Philip Lacroix
Member
 
Registered: Jun 2012
Distribution: Slackware, FreeBSD
Posts: 147

Rep: Reputation: 57
Hi pestka,

I tried switching from Fluxbox to XFCE on Slackware 14 and I had the same problem... with version 4.10.0, while Debian wheezy still has 4.8.0. In fact the window buttons don't expand anymore and I found that you have to use a separator for the same result: you can add one after the buttons and make it expandable and transparent.

I hope it works on your system too. Now I'm asking myself on which one I solved this differently... if I ever did, because I'm probably mixing things: I tried Fedora last year and eventually dropped it but it was version 16 or 17, and both have XFCE 4.8.3.

Best wishes,
Philip
 
2 members found this post helpful.
Old 02-22-2013, 03:03 AM   #8
pestka
Member
 
Registered: Dec 2012
Location: Southampton, UK
Posts: 36

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Post

Hi Phillip,

That's exactly what fixes the problem!!! It should be documented somewhere because it may really confuse people still new to graphic environments (I'm not new to Linux but still never dealt with separators and that kind of stuff). Nevertheless, thank you again a lot for the effort and that we finally found the solution.

Peter.
 
Old 02-22-2013, 09:07 AM   #9
Philip Lacroix
Member
 
Registered: Jun 2012
Distribution: Slackware, FreeBSD
Posts: 147

Rep: Reputation: 57
You're welcome! I'm glad to have learned something here. Regarding your suggestion, I was trying to figure out if it is possible to add a short howto in XFCE's wiki.

Philip
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
xfce panel has gone perkins17 Linux - Newbie 1 01-08-2009 01:30 PM
no Panel in xfce archShade Slackware 4 10-10-2007 03:12 PM
Xfce problems with task bar and xfce-panel aeruzcar Linux - Software 4 06-26-2006 05:29 AM
disabling xfce panel jawaharlal Linux - Software 1 11-25-2004 09:17 PM
xfce panel customization statmobile Linux - Newbie 2 01-30-2004 10:18 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:13 AM.

Main Menu
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration