LinuxQuestions.org
Latest LQ Deal: Latest LQ Deals
Home Forums Tutorials Articles Register
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Networking > Linux - Wireless Networking
User Name
Password
Linux - Wireless Networking This forum is for the discussion of wireless networking in Linux.

Notices

Search this Thread
Old 10-29-2005, 11:13 PM   #1
abbeyroadd
LQ Newbie

Rep: Reputation: 0
WMP11v4 and Breezy

First off this is my first post, I have been reading the forums for some time now but I need some help now and everyone here seems to be very knowledgeable here.

I am quite new to the Linux world and after a lot of research I decided that Ubuntu 5.10 (for AMD 64 CPU's) would be the best place to start. I guess my research fell short when I tried to get online with my wireless card. I just installed Ubuntu 5.10 on my home PC (dual boot with WinXP) and I am having a problem getting it to "use" my wireless PCI card, it's a Linkysys WMP11 version 4 that is giving me a pretty large headache.

I spent about an hour and a half last night talking with a friend (who has helped me a great deal so far) and we couldn't get the OS to utilize my card.

If I go into Device Manager I see that it recognizes my card, I loaded all three of the drivers (downloaded the most up to date drivers from Linksys' website) using ndiswrapper (ndiswrapper -utils), which I installed from my install CD using Synaptic.

What I did was:

Code:
ndiswrapper -i "driver name.inf"
modprobe -r ndiswrapper
modprobe ndiswrapper
I did this for all three of the drivers, and if I do an ndiswrapper -l it says:

Code:
lsbcmnds     driver present
lsipnds      driver present, hardware present
wmp11nds     driver present
But when I do an iwconfig it says:

Code:
lo No wireless extensions
eth0 No wireless extensions
sit0 No wireless extensions
The last thing I did was:

Code:
echo ndiswrapper >> /etc/modules