LinuxQuestions.org
Support LQ: Use code LQ3 and save $3 on Domain Registration
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Slackware
User Name
Password
Slackware This Forum is for the discussion of Slackware Linux.

Notices

View Poll Results: What filesystem do you use?
ext2 16 7.31%
ext3 67 30.59%
reiserfs 136 62.10%
Voters: 219. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Search this Thread
Old 09-15-2004, 02:06 AM   #46
theYinYeti
Senior Member
 
Registered: Jul 2004
Location: France
Distribution: Arch Linux
Posts: 1,897

Rep: Reputation: 61

JFS for multimedia content (especially big video files).
ReiserFS for everything else.

Yves.
 
Old 09-15-2004, 03:47 PM   #47
kaN5300
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Sep 2004
Location: Russia
Distribution: Slackware linux 10
Posts: 27

Rep: Reputation: 15
I installed my slack 10 with da ext3, but later, desided 2 "jump" 2 reiser( i read about a new version... http://www.namesys.com/). Now i found a way to change my linux FS without reinstalling slack, if my experiment will have success, i'll wright sm guide =)
 
Old 09-15-2004, 03:57 PM   #48
kodon
Member
 
Registered: Jul 2004
Location: [jax][fl][usa]
Distribution: Slackware64-current
Posts: 796

Rep: Reputation: 31
cool beans

hope it goes well
let us know how you did it if it works
 
Old 09-17-2004, 01:06 AM   #49
kaN5300
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Sep 2004
Location: Russia
Distribution: Slackware linux 10
Posts: 27

Rep: Reputation: 15
Look here:
http://www.linuxquestions.org/questi...hreadid=231648
 
Old 11-13-2004, 12:53 PM   #50
jadupl2
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Nov 2004
Posts: 12

Rep: Reputation: 0
ext3 vs Reisers on Redhat

Hopefully sometime RedHat will understand.

I am Using LVM and SuSE in a Prod environment.
I can enlarge my filesystem while my Oracle database is running !!!
(lvexpand + resize_reiserfs)
And it woks !

You cannot do that with ext3.
You have to unmount the ext3 filesystem (Stop database) , enlarge it, then mount it again.
I cannot to that in ther middle of the day

Until ext3 can do that, do even think to go ext3.

P.S. Unless you are willing to get up at 3am, to stop production machine to enlarge the ext3 filesystem.
 
Old 11-13-2004, 07:08 PM   #51
DaWallace
Member
 
Registered: Feb 2004
Location: Southern Maine, United States
Distribution: Slackware Ubuntu Debian FreeBSD
Posts: 418

Rep: Reputation: 31
anybody want to tell me why a directory full of many files totalling about 80MB can easily take up a gigabyte of actual disk space?

I've only really payed attention to this on reiserfs... which my server is running, my work box is ext3
 
Old 11-14-2004, 08:43 PM   #52
jadupl2
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Nov 2004
Posts: 12

Rep: Reputation: 0
Smile

You must have a couple of thousand file my friend.
Directory entrie must take more space than the actual file.

In Fedora Core 3, we can now increase a ext3 filesystem on line WITHOUT umounting it.

Hopefully Red Hat will include it in Red Hat Enterprise 4.0

# mount -t ext3 /dev/rootvg/test /test

# df -k /test
Filesystem 1K-blocks Used Available Use% Mounted on
/dev/mapper/rootvg-test
63461 5403 54782 9% /test

# lvextend -L+64M /dev/rootvg/test
Extending logical volume test to 128.00 MB
Logical volume test successfully resized

# ext2online /dev/rootvg/test
ext2online v1.1.18 - 2001/03/18 for EXT2FS 0.5b

# df -k /test
Filesystem 1K-blocks Used Available Use% Mounted on
/dev/mapper/rootvg-test
126931 5658 114725 5% /test
#


Thank You !
 
Old 11-15-2004, 03:41 AM   #53
zba78
Member
 
Registered: Oct 2004
Location: Birmingham, England
Distribution: OpenSuSE 10.2
Posts: 50

Rep: Reputation: 15
Has anyone tried ReiserFS v4? I'm still using 3.6
 
Old 11-15-2004, 06:08 AM   #54
vectordrake
Senior Member
 
Registered: Nov 2003
Location: NB,Canada
Distribution: Something alpha or beta, binary or source...
Posts: 2,280
Blog Entries: 4

Rep: Reputation: 47
Yes, as I mentioned early on in this thread, I tried it. I like it enough that I still have it. It seems to be a bit snappier with every day workstation performance and also with things like indexing. Updatedb goes a fair amount quicker on the new filesystem. The only comparison that I really have is Reiser v3.6, as that's what I've been using for the past 2 years prior to switching over to v4.

Its a bit tricky to get installed, though, as you can't simply upgrade to it, which means you have to create it from a kernel with the patch in it (as in another linux system, basically). I made a small partition and installed with the "mm" kernel and a base system. Then, I installed from there and chrooted into the new system and built it from the bottom up this time. But, you can follow the "Hard Disk Upgrade Mini-howto" at TLDP and copy your existing system to the new filesystem as well (which is what I have done previously).

Hope this brings more to the table, so to speak.
 
Old 11-15-2004, 06:12 PM   #55
jadupl2
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Nov 2004
Posts: 12

Rep: Reputation: 0
To install Fedora Code using Reiserfs, at the boot prompt type :
boot: linux reiserfs

The resiserfs option will appears in the filesystem drop down list.
So you will have ext2 ext3 and Reiserfs.

I did not tried it with Red Hat Enterprise yet, I will let you know when I have the answer.
 
Old 11-15-2004, 06:12 PM   #56
jadupl2
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Nov 2004
Posts: 12

Rep: Reputation: 0
To install Fedora Code using Reiserfs, at the boot prompt type :
boot: linux reiserfs

The resiserfs option will appears in the filesystem drop down list.
So you will have ext2 ext3 and Reiserfs.

I did not tried it with Red Hat Enterprise yet, I will let you know when I have the answer.
 
Old 11-16-2004, 12:39 AM   #57
nick_th_fury
Member
 
Registered: Jun 2003
Location: Texas
Distribution: Slackware, NetBSD
Posts: 151

Rep: Reputation: 23
I have tried reiserfs, but have had file corruption on 2 different pcs w/it.
Both of these happened under Suse.
When I switched last year to Slackware, I started using ext3 & it's been great.
I can't tell any speed difference, but then im not using it in a production enviroment.
Other than a firewall & a small web server at my work, I'm a desktop user.
 
Old 11-16-2004, 01:02 AM   #58
electronique
Member
 
Registered: Mar 2004
Location: Menomonie, WI
Distribution: SuSE 9.2, Slackware Current, Arch Linux 0.7
Posts: 119

Rep: Reputation: 15
XFS where I can use it, I think is very comprable to reiserFS and still only in it's incancy, it'll be blowing the socks off of ReiserFS in a few years or so... not that file system development is really that exciting
 
Old 11-16-2004, 09:33 AM   #59
LauroMoura
Member
 
Registered: Feb 2004
Location: Carpina, PE, Brazil
Distribution: Ubuntu 5.10
Posts: 44

Rep: Reputation: 15
I use reiser with my system ('/' and '/home') partitions and ext3 with my data files (old/legacy backup partition)
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
best filesystem TranceDude Linux - Software 2 08-12-2005 03:35 PM
Which filesystem should I use? dyefade Linux - Hardware 2 01-04-2005 03:05 PM
DISCUSSION: Virtual Filesystem: Building a Linux Filesystem from an Ordinary File mchirico LinuxAnswers Discussion 0 10-28-2004 10:35 PM
Encrypted Root Filesystem HOWTO and /dev filesystem tmillard Linux From Scratch 0 10-18-2004 03:58 PM
Cant get RW filesystem amp2000 Linux - General 4 04-30-2002 03:59 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:30 AM.

Main Menu
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration