LinuxQuestions.org
Review your favorite Linux distribution.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Other *NIX Forums > AIX
User Name
Password
AIX This forum is for the discussion of IBM AIX.
eserver and other IBM related questions are also on topic.

Notices

Reply
 
Search this Thread
Old 10-05-2012, 04:19 AM   #1
peacepanda
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Oct 2012
Posts: 26

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Question error while opning vi in AIX


Hi All,
I am trying to open vi in aix.But everytime I run the command I keep getting the error as
PHP Code:
E233cannot open display 
The file does open though but I still keep getting the roor.Can someone tell me what is the reason of the error here.

Regards,
Ajit
 
Old 10-05-2012, 09:44 AM   #2
MensaWater
Guru
 
Registered: May 2005
Location: Atlanta Georgia USA
Distribution: Redhat (RHEL), CentOS, Fedora, Debian, FreeBSD, HP-UX, Solaris, SCO
Posts: 5,950
Blog Entries: 5

Rep: Reputation: 755Reputation: 755Reputation: 755Reputation: 755Reputation: 755Reputation: 755Reputation: 755
"cannot open display" is usually an indication you're trying to open an X Windows (GUI) version of something.

I don't work on AIX but it may be whatever it is using for vi has both a character based (CLI) version and a GUI version (vim/gvim due for Linux). Often if this is the case any time it sees the DISPLAY variable set it automatically tries to use the GUI.

Type "echo $DISPLAY" to see if your DISPLAY variable is set. If so you can try doing "unset DISPLAY" to get rid of it and retry vi to see if it launches the character based version.

If you WANT the GUI version then you'd need to work on insuring you have X Windows (or emulator) running on the workstation you're trying to display back to AND insure you have some method of getting X Windows back to it (e.g. opening ports in the 6000 range or using ssh X tunneling).
 
1 members found this post helpful.
Old 10-10-2012, 03:47 AM   #3
NevemTeve
Senior Member
 
Registered: Oct 2011
Location: Budapest
Distribution: Debian/GNU/Linux, AIX
Posts: 1,617

Rep: Reputation: 483Reputation: 483Reputation: 483Reputation: 483Reputation: 483
Many platform automagically sets env var DISPLAY (if you have az X-server on the client-side), on AIX use sg like this:

Code:
export DISPLAY=$(who am i | awk '{ print substr($6,2,length($6)-2); }'):0
 
1 members found this post helpful.
  


Reply

Tags
aix, vi


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AIX 6.1 error : While creating VG/FS EngnrRG AIX 1 05-18-2011 05:52 PM
error while installing unixODBC-2.2.14 on AIX 5.3 -configure: error: C compiler canno sriram_nittala AIX 0 01-20-2010 03:18 AM
AIX mksysb error liou0325 AIX 2 07-26-2006 12:29 AM
exec() error on AIX 5L Manoj Oleti AIX 5 02-01-2006 11:18 PM
Gdb error on Aix 4.3.3 ayeletr AIX 3 04-05-2004 10:57 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:23 AM.

Main Menu
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration