LinuxQuestions.org
Support LQ: Use code LQ3 and save $3 on Domain Registration
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Virtualization and Cloud
User Name
Password
Linux - Virtualization and Cloud This forum is for the discussion of all topics relating to Linux Virtualization and Linux Cloud platforms. Xen, KVM, OpenVZ, VirtualBox, VMware, Linux-VServer and all other Linux Virtualization platforms are welcome. OpenStack, CloudStack, ownCloud, Cloud Foundry, Eucalyptus, Nimbus, OpenNebula and all other Linux Cloud platforms are welcome. Note that questions relating solely to non-Linux OS's should be asked in the General forum.

Notices

Reply
 
Search this Thread
Old 10-08-2012, 05:41 AM   #1
sudi267
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Sep 2012
Distribution: debian ubuntu
Posts: 10

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
network configuration for centos installed as virtual OS


i have installed centos6.2 as virtual OS on ubunutu 10.04
using this command

$ virt-install --connect qemu:///system -n mycentos3 -r 1024 -l '/home/sudi/Downloads/CentOS-6.2-i386-bin-DVD1(1).iso' --disk path=/var/lib/libvirt/images/mycentos3.img,size=8 --hvm --accelerate --network=bridge:virbr0

NOTE:i did minimal installation of centos

how do i configure network on centos
i tried to change the network scripts file thats is in

/etc/sysconfig/network.scripts/ifcfg-eth0

by specifying ipaddress and netmask of virbr0
also i have set default gateway for this virtual os centos
/etc/sysconfig/network

even after doing all this network is NOT enabled on centos
i pinged default gateway it says network is unreachable

i want to configure net using command line only how do i do it?
what changes i need to do?
 
Old 10-09-2012, 02:10 AM   #2
sudi267
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Sep 2012
Distribution: debian ubuntu
Posts: 10

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Wink net is properly configured i m able to ping problem finally solved !!!

hey guys my network is enabled on centos which is my guest virtual machine
i changed /etc/sysconfig/network-scripts/eth0
its like i removed the old ipaddress and netmask because i wanted ipaddr in centos to be dhcp configured
and jus added the BRIDGE="virbr0" in eth0 interface file
save and exit and
#ifconfig eth0 up
#dhclient eth0

now i able to ping my host os i.e ubuntu

net is properly configured on virtual machine centos.
 
  


Reply

Tags
kvm, network connectivity


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLVED] Update a CentOS 5 virtual server to CentOS 5.6 dazdaz Red Hat 4 04-10-2011 05:02 AM
[SOLVED] /etc/network/interfaces configuration for virtual interfaces nonshatter Linux - Networking 4 10-25-2010 06:22 AM
[SOLVED] Virtual bridged network with too high load - without IP configuration HasC Linux - Networking 5 04-21-2010 01:41 PM
Network configuration (1 NIC) for OSCAR 6.0.5 on CentOS 5.4 doggitydogs Linux - Networking 1 04-18-2010 05:11 PM
CentOS/RHEL Linux small network configuration help linux_newb Linux - Networking 4 01-15-2010 09:05 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:16 PM.

Main Menu
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration