LinuxQuestions.org
Download your favorite Linux distribution at LQ ISO.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Newbie
User Name
Password
Linux - Newbie This Linux forum is for members that are new to Linux.
Just starting out and have a question? If it is not in the man pages or the how-to's this is the place!

Notices

Reply
 
Search this Thread
Old 05-08-2012, 05:01 PM   #1
Jonus
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: May 2012
Posts: 15

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Editing named breaks the network


I have been struggling to get a new server accessible on an existing network for about a week now. I keep running into a problem with my network's dns. Here's the situation:

A server named "proj" went down and needed to be rebuilt. I have done so using identical hardware but with a new os, CentOS 6.2. I finally have the new server in a acceptable working state. It is receiving a dhcp lease from "pdc" (Primary Domain Controller, which is also dns/dhcp server), I can ssh to and from, and have even had an rsync transfer going for about 24 hours now. In a Linux environment I am happy.

I've started to try to get it accessible over windows using samba. I've used other working servers as guides for smb.conf, here's the relevant excerpts:
Code:
[global]

        workgroup = BULLSEYE
        server string =

        netbios name = proj

        security = user
        passdb backend = tdbsam

#============================ Share Definitions ==============================
        [proj]
        comment = project directory
        path = /proj
        browseable = yes
        public = yes
        guest ok = yes
        force user = render
        force group = users
        read only = No
As far as I can tell there's nothing wrong with it, but I still can't see the machine from a windows box.

I'm pretty sure the dns server is setup to automatically update (at least I've seen it happen for other machines) but it hasn't added any entries for this new server. I'm guessing it is because it has the same host name (proj) as the old server, which still has an entry in the named zone files. Before touching anything if I do "host proj" it returns the old ip address. When I update the files it says "Host not found: 2(SERVFAIL)"

If this were the only issue it wouldn't be so bad, but once I update the named files things start to go bad. Not immediately, but eventually certain machines on the network become inaccessible through certain protocols. (ie can't connect to mail through snmp, but can still ssh to server; samba shares go offline; etc)

I haven't been able to spend much time testing things out when the network gets to this state because it's a panicked rush to get everything working again. The only way I've been able to fix the issue is with a backup restore of /var/named and /etc minus /etc/samba (which is pretty large).

Since testing for solutions makes things very unstable, I want to hear some experts advice on where I might want to start looking for the problem. Could dns be setup to only update automatically, and my tampering is breaking everything? How can I remove the record of the old server?

Thanks in advance, this is just something I haven't encountered before when adding machines to this network, and I did not setup "pdc" so I don't know if there is any tricky configs in there that I don't know about.
 
Old 05-08-2012, 09:56 PM   #2
Tinkster
Moderator
 
Registered: Apr 2002
Location: in a fallen world
Distribution: slackware by choice, others too :} ... android.
Posts: 22,965
Blog Entries: 11

Rep: Reputation: 865Reputation: 865Reputation: 865Reputation: 865Reputation: 865Reputation: 865Reputation: 865
Having servers sitting on DHCP is a kind of weird concept to me, but "Oh well, never mind".

The DNS & DHCP server infrastructure is running on which OS, which software?
 
Old 05-09-2012, 09:49 AM   #3
Jonus
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: May 2012
Posts: 15

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
DNS/DHCP server is running on CentOS 5.2, not sure what you mean by software.
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fedora breaks network AllanP Linux - Networking 2 10-22-2010 01:09 AM
(bind) named: couldn't open pid file '/var/run/named/named.pid' - any help? samengr Linux - Server 6 04-01-2009 06:22 AM
chown -R named:named /var/named crash the system? joangopan Fedora 2 09-09-2007 02:46 AM
Setting up Named on a small network rizhun Linux - Software 3 03-25-2006 10:22 AM
10 RC1 with PCMCIA on Laptop - X Server Breaks Network connectivity 1kyle Suse/Novell 4 09-16-2005 05:09 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:13 AM.

Main Menu
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration