LinuxQuestions.org
Did you know LQ has a Linux Hardware Compatibility List?
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Laptop and Netbook
User Name
Password
Linux - Laptop and Netbook Having a problem installing or configuring Linux on your laptop? Need help running Linux on your netbook? This forum is for you. This forum is for any topics relating to Linux and either traditional laptops or netbooks (such as the Asus EEE PC, Everex CloudBook or MSI Wind).

Notices



Reply
 
Search this Thread
Old 05-07-2012, 10:54 PM   #1
siickboii
Member
 
Registered: May 2012
Posts: 63

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Question bright idea


Im using fedora 16 on a cheap compaq cq57 and I cant adjust brightness in the gui. I can however use the keyboard short cut to brighten up things but it doesnt save because when I reboot machine the monitor is back dim. Any ideas why Im having this problem?
 
Old 05-07-2012, 11:09 PM   #2
frankbell
Guru
 
Registered: Jan 2006
Location: Virginia, USA
Distribution: Slackware, Mageia, Mint
Posts: 8,261

Rep: Reputation: 1570Reputation: 1570Reputation: 1570Reputation: 1570Reputation: 1570Reputation: 1570Reputation: 1570Reputation: 1570Reputation: 1570Reputation: 1570Reputation: 1570
When you say "the keyboard shortcut," are you referring to a hardware brightness control on a function key of some sort?

This is a shot in the dark, but, if that's the case, since it's hardware, you might take a look in the BIOS to see whether there is an initial setting there.
 
Old 05-08-2012, 12:25 AM   #3
siickboii
Member
 
Registered: May 2012
Posts: 63

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by frankbell View Post
When you say "the keyboard shortcut," are you referring to a hardware brightness control on a function key of some sort?

This is a shot in the dark, but, if that's the case, since it's hardware, you might take a look in the BIOS to see whether there is an initial setting there.
f2 is dimmer and f3 is brighter... Thanks i will check cmos
 
Old 05-08-2012, 03:44 PM   #4
jefro
Guru
 
Registered: Mar 2008
Posts: 12,093

Rep: Reputation: 1521Reputation: 1521Reputation: 1521Reputation: 1521Reputation: 1521Reputation: 1521Reputation: 1521Reputation: 1521Reputation: 1521Reputation: 1521Reputation: 1521
Did it ever work with another linux version or distro?
 
Old 05-08-2012, 05:23 PM   #5
siickboii
Member
 
Registered: May 2012
Posts: 63

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Quote:
Originally Posted by jefro View Post
Did it ever work with another linux version or distro?
10 years ago I took a unix, Linux red hat class. And besides jailbreaking my iPhone with a Linux base os, that's it. I still got my unix book somewhere .. I need to dust it off and refresh some
 
Old 05-08-2012, 05:24 PM   #6
siickboii
Member
 
Registered: May 2012
Posts: 63

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
I still have this problem. I did check CMOS but there was no settings for brightness.
 
Old 05-08-2012, 09:23 PM   #7
frankbell
Guru
 
Registered: Jan 2006
Location: Virginia, USA
Distribution: Slackware, Mageia, Mint
Posts: 8,261

Rep: Reputation: 1570Reputation: 1570Reputation: 1570Reputation: 1570Reputation: 1570Reputation: 1570Reputation: 1570Reputation: 1570Reputation: 1570Reputation: 1570Reputation: 1570
My brightness adjustments have always held. I'm sorry, I'm fresh out of ideas.
 
Old 05-08-2012, 09:43 PM   #8
jlinkels
Senior Member
 
Registered: Oct 2003
Location: Bonaire
Distribution: Debian Wheezy/Jessie/Sid, Linux Mint DE
Posts: 4,246

Rep: Reputation: 558Reputation: 558Reputation: 558Reputation: 558Reputation: 558Reputation: 558
If it is KDE4 brightness settings are adjusted in the Power Management applet. Every time KDE starts up, these settings override anything manually entered. You have to choose a profile according to your power situation at that moment and edit that one.

At least that is how it used to be. KDE Developers try to change this as often as possible between versions.

jlinkels
 
Old 10-10-2012, 06:31 PM   #9
siickboii
Member
 
Registered: May 2012
Posts: 63

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
I reinstalled os now no problems
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
LXer: Dimdim Open Source is a bright-bright solution for Web conferencing LXer Syndicated Linux News 0 06-13-2008 02:10 PM
Good idea/bad idea: interface colors introuble General 5 10-30-2006 02:33 PM
LXer: Freespire: Great Idea? Awful Idea? LXer Syndicated Linux News 1 05-04-2006 07:10 AM
The future Looks bright! I'm in. the.penguin.within LinuxQuestions.org Member Intro 3 01-20-2006 11:56 AM
Whose bright idea was it to associate .RPM with RealPlayer?? cav Linux - Software 1 02-20-2003 04:32 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:34 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration