LinuxQuestions.org
Share your knowledge at the LQ Wiki.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Slackware > Slackware - Installation
User Name
Password
Slackware - Installation This forum is for the discussion of installation issues with Slackware.

Notices

Reply
 
Search this Thread
Old 05-04-2012, 11:03 AM   #1
TheIndependentAquarius
Senior Member
 
Registered: Dec 2008
Posts: 4,633
Blog Entries: 29

Rep: Reputation: 897Reputation: 897Reputation: 897Reputation: 897Reputation: 897Reputation: 897Reputation: 897
Slackware 13.37 - cfdisk renders my partitions unusable after I delete them.


Windows Vista is already on the laptop.

With cfdisk -
I pressed "new" on a ntfs partition, and assigned the space to Linux. Then I realized that I should have divided that into two partitions - so I pressed "delete", and the space got labeled "unusable".

When the cursor is on the "unusable" space, I don't get any options of "formatting".

Now what to do?
 
Old 05-04-2012, 11:35 AM   #2
TobiSGD
Moderator
 
Registered: Dec 2009
Location: Hanover, Germany
Distribution: Main: Gentoo Others: What fits the task
Posts: 15,648
Blog Entries: 2

Rep: Reputation: 4095Reputation: 4095Reputation: 4095Reputation: 4095Reputation: 4095Reputation: 4095Reputation: 4095Reputation: 4095Reputation: 4095Reputation: 4095Reputation: 4095
There seems to be something seriously wrong:
Quote:
I pressed "new" on a ntfs partition
cfdisk doesn't give the option "New" on existing partitions, only on free, unpartitioned space.
Quote:
so I pressed "delete", and the space got labeled "unusable".
I have never seen cfdisk labeling something as unusable. Are you sure that is the label?
Quote:
When the cursor is on the "unusable" space, I don't get any options of "formatting".
Why should cfdisk give you format options on partitions that it thinks are unusable?
Quote:
Now what to do?
Simple, press q to quit cfdisk and start from the beginning. Unless you press "Write" and confirm with yes the disk is not altered.
 
1 members found this post helpful.
Old 05-04-2012, 12:08 PM   #3
TheIndependentAquarius
Senior Member
 
Registered: Dec 2008
Posts: 4,633
Blog Entries: 29

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 897Reputation: 897Reputation: 897Reputation: 897Reputation: 897Reputation: 897Reputation: 897
Thanks for replying.

There isn't any option named "new", sorry.
First time I created these partitions I did "write"
it on the disk. Shouldn't have done that.

I inserted the DVD again, nothing changed, obviously.
Check out the screenshot attached.

And please help if you can.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg DSC_0417.jpg (81.6 KB, 18 views)
 
Old 05-04-2012, 12:25 PM   #4
TobiSGD
Moderator
 
Registered: Dec 2009
Location: Hanover, Germany
Distribution: Main: Gentoo Others: What fits the task
Posts: 15,648
Blog Entries: 2

Rep: Reputation: 4095Reputation: 4095Reputation: 4095Reputation: 4095Reputation: 4095Reputation: 4095Reputation: 4095Reputation: 4095Reputation: 4095Reputation: 4095Reputation: 4095
Simple answer: The rest of the space is unusable just because you have already four primary partitions. This is the maximum number of primary partitions, so cfdisk can't create more. If you want more partitions delete the sda4 partition and create logical partitions instead of primary partitions after that.
 
2 members found this post helpful.
Old 05-04-2012, 12:39 PM   #5
TheIndependentAquarius
Senior Member
 
Registered: Dec 2008
Posts: 4,633
Blog Entries: 29

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 897Reputation: 897Reputation: 897Reputation: 897Reputation: 897Reputation: 897Reputation: 897
Quote:
Originally Posted by TobiSGD View Post
Simple answer: The rest of the space is unusable just because you have already four primary partitions. This is the maximum number of primary partitions, so cfdisk can't create more. If you want more partitions delete the sda4 partition and create logical partitions instead of primary partitions after that.
Great.
I seriously need to study out things now.

Thanks very much for the prompt response.
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A partition is unusable after cfdisk maximize completed_tzinfe Linux - Hardware 5 10-30-2011 04:54 PM
<Squeeze> Closing laptop lid renders computer unusable war1025 Debian 9 07-17-2010 04:48 AM
800x600 display renders some menus unusable Azul Rondo Linux - Desktop 4 08-02-2009 11:20 PM
i can not create all partitions i want with cfdisk -- slackware 10.0 eder_michael11 Linux - Newbie 5 03-27-2006 06:36 PM
Slackware, cfdisk, partitions, etc.. philY Slackware 7 11-02-2003 10:17 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:48 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration