LinuxQuestions.org
Welcome to the most active Linux Forum on the web.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Other *NIX Forums > Other *NIX
User Name
Password
Other *NIX This forum is for the discussion of any UNIX platform that does not have its own forum. Examples would include HP-UX, IRIX, Darwin, Tru64 and OS X.

Notices

Reply
 
Search this Thread
Old 04-12-2012, 12:25 PM   #1
Melensa
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Apr 2012
Location: Berlin
Posts: 8

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Sudo


Actually my question regards UNIX: sudo in MACOSX Terminal.
I want to deactivate the remote desktop management

chmod ug-s /System/Library/CoreServices/RemoteManagement/ARDAgent.app/Contents/MacOS/ARDAgent

but Terminal answers: Operation not permitted

Is there anybody who can help me?...

Thanks
Melensa
 
Old 04-12-2012, 01:02 PM   #2
MensaWater
Guru
 
Registered: May 2005
Location: Atlanta Georgia USA
Distribution: Redhat (RHEL), CentOS, Fedora, Debian, FreeBSD, HP-UX, Solaris, SCO
Posts: 6,015
Blog Entries: 5

Rep: Reputation: 787Reputation: 787Reputation: 787Reputation: 787Reputation: 787Reputation: 787Reputation: 787
You ask about sudo but aren't using sudo that I see.

What happens if you type:
sudo chmod ug-s /System/Library/CoreServices/RemoteManagement/ARDAgent.app/Contents/MacOS/ARDAgent
 
Old 04-14-2012, 03:31 PM   #3
Melensa
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Apr 2012
Location: Berlin
Posts: 8

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Why do you ask me what happens if I add sudo... do YOU know what happens or do you mean that I should try even it could be a terrible mistake? :-)

I know NOTHING in this field but I need to use some commands to eliminate my vulnerability to intruders. I need to tell the computer to eliminate the desktop management function.

You write:

Humility is the refuge of the incompetent.
~Nero Wolfe (Rex Stout character)

I don't need any refuge, not even humility could save me from my ignorance: I am REALLY an incompetent in this field but I need to use these commands.

Thank you for your answer

Melensa
 
Old 04-15-2012, 03:56 AM   #4
WizadNoNext
Member
 
Registered: Nov 2009
Posts: 125

Rep: Reputation: 9
I am sorry but this is linuxquestions and not macosxquestions. You should ask people, who work on you system, not people working on Linux, which is very very different.

P.S. Mac OS X have just UNIX base, most of software do not come neither from GNU nor UNIX. I have iMac G5 and it is pain in ass, cause it is different.
 
Old 04-16-2012, 08:50 AM   #5
MensaWater
Guru
 
Registered: May 2005
Location: Atlanta Georgia USA
Distribution: Redhat (RHEL), CentOS, Fedora, Debian, FreeBSD, HP-UX, Solaris, SCO
Posts: 6,015
Blog Entries: 5

Rep: Reputation: 787Reputation: 787Reputation: 787Reputation: 787Reputation: 787Reputation: 787Reputation: 787
Quote:
Originally Posted by Melensa View Post
Why do you ask me what happens if I add sudo... do YOU know what happens or do you mean that I should try even it could be a terrible mistake? :-)

I know NOTHING in this field but I need to use some commands to eliminate my vulnerability to intruders. I need to tell the computer to eliminate the desktop management function.

You write:

Humility is the refuge of the incompetent.
~Nero Wolfe (Rex Stout character)

I don't need any refuge, not even humility could save me from my ignorance: I am REALLY an incompetent in this field but I need to use these commands.

Thank you for your answer

Melensa
Asking people for FREE help then bitching about what they write is NOT the way to get help.

The humility line is a quote in my signature and not something directed at you personally. If you'd bothered to look at it you'd have known that given that I attribute it to Nero Wolfe.

I ask about what happens when you type the sudo line because I don't have a system like yours to test it on. I do not knowingly try to sabotage people asking for assistance. The sudo command itself only executes other commands as root. The chmod command itself changes permissions on files. Since you asked about doing the chmod and mentioned sudo I asked you to try doing the chmod with sudo. You really didn't give enough information for anyone to help you but I made the mistake of trying anyway. I won't bother to try any further.
 
1 members found this post helpful.
Old 04-16-2012, 08:53 AM   #6
MensaWater
Guru
 
Registered: May 2005
Location: Atlanta Georgia USA
Distribution: Redhat (RHEL), CentOS, Fedora, Debian, FreeBSD, HP-UX, Solaris, SCO
Posts: 6,015
Blog Entries: 5

Rep: Reputation: 787Reputation: 787Reputation: 787Reputation: 787Reputation: 787Reputation: 787Reputation: 787
Quote:
Originally Posted by WizadNoNext View Post
I am sorry but this is linuxquestions and not macosxquestions. You should ask people, who work on you system, not people working on Linux, which is very very different.

P.S. Mac OS X have just UNIX base, most of software do not come neither from GNU nor UNIX. I have iMac G5 and it is pain in ass, cause it is different.
Actually the OP posted in Other *NIX forum and since there is a UNIX base I think the Q was proper.

The OP's response however was another matter. It often amazes me how people looking for free help somehow think they have the right to demand things. Apparently the phrase "beggars can't be choosers" is lost on the OP.
 
Old 04-17-2012, 05:29 AM   #7
WizadNoNext
Member
 
Registered: Nov 2009
Posts: 125

Rep: Reputation: 9
If you want to change permissions to file you do not won, you need to do it from account, which do own this file or from root account. Easiest and fastest way is obviously using sudo. That is why, you were asked 'what happens if you use sudo'. Just add sudo in front and it will change permissions. sudo do not anything to be honest - it just call your command as root, nothing more.
 
Old 04-18-2012, 03:34 AM   #8
cliffordw
Member
 
Registered: Jan 2012
Location: South Africa
Posts: 278

Rep: Reputation: 118Reputation: 118
Hi Melensa,

To fix the "Operation not permitted" problem, sudo is the solution, i.e. run:
sudo chmod ug-s /System/Library/CoreServices/RemoteManagement/ARDAgent.app/Contents/MacOS/ARDAgent

This should not be necessary, though. You can simply disable this in System Preferences => Sharing => Remote Management.

One possible problem with changing the permissions, is that a future update may change these again without you knowing.

Good luck!
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
LXer: The Ultimate Sudo FAQ To Sudo Or Not To Sudo? LXer Syndicated Linux News 13 04-13-2013 01:36 AM
Can't use sudo, only account that's not root is not a sudo'ers [Ubuntu 9.10] randyriver10 Linux - Desktop 1 01-09-2010 07:56 PM
Problem with SUDO : sudo: pam_authenticate: Module is unknown cristoph_ Linux - Software 2 03-02-2009 07:12 PM
sudo blkid vs. sudo fdisk -l problems alienexplorers Linux - Newbie 1 01-13-2009 12:35 AM
Restricting Editing in Sudo (Advanced Sudo Question) LinuxGeek Linux - Software 4 11-04-2006 03:20 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:52 AM.

Main Menu
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration