LinuxQuestions.org
Visit the LQ Articles and Editorials section
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Slackware > Slackware - Installation
User Name
Password
Slackware - Installation This forum is for the discussion of installation issues with Slackware.

Notices

Reply
 
Search this Thread
Old 02-21-2012, 08:00 AM   #1
skelley
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Feb 2012
Posts: 2

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Slackware Installation


hi All,

I am new to Slackware and I have installed it on Vitualbox base OS(Windows7 64 bit)Installation is complete but when I try to login with root a splsh screen comes with icons for harddrive settings folders but when i try to click on anyone of them it loops back to restarting the VM and back to login screen. can anyone Help.
Thanks
 
Old 02-21-2012, 04:16 PM   #2
mostlyharmless
Senior Member
 
Registered: Jan 2008
Distribution: Slackware -current (multilib) with kernel 3.16.2
Posts: 1,564
Blog Entries: 13

Rep: Reputation: 178Reputation: 178
Sounds more like a VBox issue than a slackware issue (Slackware has no splash screens, Slackware needs no splash screens... )

Probably a few answers *might* help.

What kind/size of virtual drive did you make for slackware and what do the kernel messages say about recognizing the drive on boot up? I presume you're booting from CD/DVD added as a device on Vbox, are you emulating IDE, SCSI, is your virtual HDD master or slave?
 
Old 02-22-2012, 04:42 AM   #3
skelley
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Feb 2012
Posts: 2

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Thanks mostlyharless for heads up and the link will draft the questions again with all the relevant information and post it Thanks again
 
Old 02-22-2012, 04:51 AM   #4
catkin
LQ 5k Club
 
Registered: Dec 2008
Location: Tamil Nadu, India
Distribution: Servers: Debian Squeeze and Wheezy. Desktop: Slackware64 14.0. Netbook: Slackware 13.37
Posts: 8,557
Blog Entries: 28

Rep: Reputation: 1178Reputation: 1178Reputation: 1178Reputation: 1178Reputation: 1178Reputation: 1178Reputation: 1178Reputation: 1178Reputation: 1178
Which desktop did you chose -- KDE or Xfce?

Logging in to the desktop as root is a security risk. Better to create an ordinary user and log in to the desktop as that user. That might fix the problem, too.

To add an ordinary user (assuming you have installed VirtualBox Guest Additions)
Code:
/usr/sbin/useradd -c Skelley -d /home/skelley -g users -G  audio,cdrom,netdev,plugdev,power,scanner,vboxusers,video,wheel -m -s /bin/bash -u 1000 skelley

passwd skelley
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:06 AM.

Main Menu
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration