LinuxQuestions.org
Latest LQ Deal: Latest LQ Deals
Home Forums Tutorials Articles Register
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Slackware
User Name
Password
Slackware This Forum is for the discussion of Slackware Linux.

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 09-12-2009, 06:33 AM   #1
[GOD]Anck
Member
 
Registered: Dec 2003
Location: The Netherlands
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 171

Rep: Reputation: 35
dual boot two disks with separate /boot partitions


I have a machine with 2 disks, one has slackware 12.2 (/dev/sda) and the other has slackware 13 (/dev/sdb). Both disks have a separate /boot as the first primary partition. I installed lilo into MBR (boot=/dev/sda) and would like to be able to dual boot. How do I set this up?

I tried this lilo.conf:

Code:
image = /boot/vmlinuz
  root = /dev/sda2
  label = Slackware-12.2
  read-only
image = /boot/vmlinuz
  root = /dev/sdb2
  label = Slackware-13.0
  read-only
This obviously doesn't work; when I try to boot Slackware 13, it loads the kernel image from /dev/sda.. how can I tell it where to look for the kernel image?
 
Old 09-12-2009, 06:39 AM   #2
linus72
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Jan 2009
Location: Gordonsville-AKA Mayberry-Virginia
Distribution: Slack14.2/Many
Posts: 5,573

Rep: Reputation: 470Reputation: 470Reputation: 470Reputation: 470Reputation: 470
maybe just put the 13.0 kernel in a different named folder

Code:
image = /boot/slack/vmlinuz
  root = /dev/sdb2
  label = Slackware-13.0
  read-only
so, just put it in a diff folder named whatever and try that
 
Old 09-12-2009, 07:36 AM   #3
[GOD]Anck
Member
 
Registered: Dec 2003
Location: The Netherlands
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 171

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by linus72 View Post
maybe just put the 13.0 kernel in a different named folder

Code:
image = /boot/slack/vmlinuz
  root = /dev/sdb2
  label = Slackware-13.0
  read-only
so, just put it in a diff folder named whatever and try that
Hmm but, unless I put the 13.0 kernel in /boot on sda, lilo still wouldn't know where to find it?

Would it be possible to set up chain loading like one would do with Vista? I guess I'd have to boot 13.0 from DVD and run liloconfig to write a loader to the second disk's superblock and then use an other=/dev/sdb stanza to chain load from the MBR on sda.. would that work?
 
Old 09-12-2009, 02:23 PM   #4
gegechris99
Senior Member
 
Registered: Oct 2005
Location: France
Distribution: Slackware 15.0 64bit
Posts: 1,159
Blog Entries: 5

Rep: Reputation: 392Reputation: 392Reputation: 392Reputation: 392
Hello,

Let say that you are using lilo from 12.2.

You need to mount the /boot partition of the other Slackware version (13.0) on Slackware 12.2. For example using /mnt/13.0 as the mount point, the /etc/lilo.conf file in 12.2 should look like this:

Code:
# Linux bootable partition config begins
image = /boot/vmlinuz
root = /dev/sda2
initrd = /boot/initrd.gz
label = Slackware-12.2
read-only
# Linux bootable partition config ends
# Linux bootable partition config begins
image = /mnt/13.0/boot/vmlinuz
root = /dev/sdb2
initrd = /mnt/13.0/boot/initrd.gz
label = Slackware-13.0
read-only
# Linux bootable partition config ends
If you do not use any initrd image, remove the lines "initrd" in my example.

Do not forget to mount the 13.0 /boot partition before running lilo.

Of course, if you use lilo from 13.0, you need to mount the /boot directory from 12.2 in 13.0
 
Old 09-12-2009, 03:05 PM   #5
[GOD]Anck
Member
 
Registered: Dec 2003
Location: The Netherlands
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 171

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 35
Thanks, that works like a charm!
 
Old 09-12-2009, 03:32 PM   #6
gegechris99
Senior Member
 
Registered: Oct 2005
Location: France
Distribution: Slackware 15.0 64bit
Posts: 1,159
Blog Entries: 5

Rep: Reputation: 392Reputation: 392Reputation: 392Reputation: 392
Hello,

I'm glad to hear that it worked as prescribed

You can indicate that this thread is SOLVED but selecting the correct option in the "Thread Tools" menu on top of your first post.
 
  


Reply



Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Solved: Dual boot, deleted /boot and all linux partitions, system boots to grub> cuco76 Linux - Software 0 01-06-2009 05:27 PM
Two hard disks - dual boot ( XP - Linux ) using microsoft boot loader, not grub cristy88 Linux - General 2 12-17-2007 06:26 PM
Dual boot, two HDs. Separate /boot partition advisable? mailforbiz Ubuntu 3 06-14-2007 10:15 AM
Red Hat AS Windows Xp dual boot problem on separate disks parthiv108 Linux - Enterprise 1 06-13-2006 05:42 AM
cloning both partitions, dual boot system, master boot record, logical volume manager saranga2000 Linux - Hardware 3 01-10-2005 11:04 AM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Slackware

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:51 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration