LinuxQuestions.org
View the Most Wanted LQ Wiki articles.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Non-*NIX Forums > General
User Name
Password
General This forum is for non-technical general discussion which can include both Linux and non-Linux topics. Have fun!

Notices

Closed Thread
 
Search this Thread
Old 04-10-2007, 07:11 AM   #1
chessonly
Member
 
Registered: Jan 2005
Distribution: ubuntu
Posts: 57

Rep: Reputation: 15
WARNING!! There is windows in my.. BIOS!!!!


From my laptop's Bios download page

Quote:
This BIOS is ONLY for use with Windows Vista. Please do not install this BIOS for use with Windows XP, or other Windows versions.
Now what the hell does a bios have to do anything with the OS installed??

Anyways ignoring this, I installed win xp, opensuse and all went fine. But since yesterday I have not been able to boot into anything coz the bios is suddenly asking for a password I never set! This happened ever since I attached usb-to-serial thing.

SO while trying to fing a solution for my problem I stumbled upon this 4 year old Article (which explains why such a problem probably arrived)

Quote:
Microsoft Embraces BIOS Vendor Phoenix


The reality of the agreement will mean fewer choices for customers and more control for Microsoft. Oct 16, 2003 - By Steven Schuchart Jr.


In a move best described as puzzling, BIOS manufacturer Phoenix Technologies inked an agreement with Microsoft that will more tightly bind Windows to the system BIOS. The goal of the agreement, both companies say, is to improve security, serviceability and deployment of Windows boxes.

Although this is a laudable goal, the reality of the agreement will mean fewer choices for customers and more control for Microsoft. Any benefits should be accessible to all, not just those running Microsoft operating systems. The agreement was a foolish move on Phoenix's part, not only in a customer relations sense but also a practical sense. Phoenix doesn't sell operating systems and should not play favorites when it comes to its BIOS. Better to make the new BIOS features available to everyone, and let the consumer decide what operating system to run.


For its part, convicted monopolist Microsoft should stop trying to push the hardware and BIOS industries into sentencing alternative operating systems to a second-rate electronic Siberia. Customers should take note and hope that competing BIOS manufacturers, such as American Megatrends, have a clearer vision than the people running Phoenix.
In short PHOENIX is making its bios specifically for one single OS! in this case its pis-sta

Avoid phoenix and ofcourse toshiba thats selling such laptops(crippled to work only with one OS).

EDIT: and for linux sake please Digg this

Edit2: Boy this got dugges!! Thanks all

TO clear some points:
1. I did NOT flash my bios. I am not a stupid lonely kid playing around with a 'toy'.
2. I did not set any power-on, super-user or bios password.
3. PROOF : In this thread there is another person with the same problem (who had to send it to toshiba for repair). If you google
around you will find more.
4. I never said ALL-phoenix bios have the problem.

Last edited by chessonly; 04-11-2007 at 06:08 AM.
 
Old 04-10-2007, 07:23 AM   #2
akudewan
Member
 
Registered: Apr 2004
Location: India
Distribution: Ubuntu
Posts: 364

Rep: Reputation: 30
Thats bloody crazy man...I wonder if there's a way out of that mess.

I'll stay away from Phoenix
 
Old 04-10-2007, 07:24 AM   #3
alred
Member
 
Registered: Mar 2005
Location: singapore
Distribution: puppy and Ubuntu and ... erh ... redhat(sort of) :( ... + the venerable bsd and solaris ^_^
Posts: 658
Blog Entries: 8

Rep: Reputation: 31
no point getting on people like them without getting the boss first ...


//ok ... lets go ...

.
 
Old 04-10-2007, 07:40 AM   #4
GrapefruiTgirl
Guru
 
Registered: Dec 2006
Location: underground
Distribution: Slackware64
Posts: 7,594

Rep: Reputation: 550Reputation: 550Reputation: 550Reputation: 550Reputation: 550Reputation: 550
Quote:
Originally Posted by akudewan
Thats bloody crazy man...I wonder if there's a way out of that mess.

I'll stay away from Phoenix
Indeed that REALLY sucks but if you want a suggestion as to what to do, here's two or three:
1 - look up your BIOS all over Google, locate the assortment of default admin passwords used by phoenix BIOS's, and try them all to get in.
2 - Failing that, clear your CMOS memory to reset the BIOS, and install your own password upon reboot.
3 - Flash the BIOS to a previous version for your motherboard & chipset, preferably a version from the 'pre-vista-microsoft-monopoly-B.S.-era'
 
Old 04-10-2007, 07:51 AM   #5
rkelsen
Senior Member
 
Registered: Sep 2004
Distribution: slackware
Posts: 1,769

Rep: Reputation: 205Reputation: 205Reputation: 205
Quote:
Originally Posted by chessonly
From my laptop's Bios download page
Quote:
This BIOS is ONLY for use with Windows Vista. Please do not install this BIOS for use with Windows XP, or other Windows versions.
So you chose to ignore the warning, and now you're complaining that it's broken?

I know that the BIOS shouldn't be able to dictate which OS you use, but apparently this one does. Flash your old BIOS back in and be happy.
 
Old 04-10-2007, 07:54 AM   #6
pixellany
LQ Veteran
 
Registered: Nov 2005
Location: Annapolis, MD
Distribution: Arch/XFCE
Posts: 17,802

Rep: Reputation: 728Reputation: 728Reputation: 728Reputation: 728Reputation: 728Reputation: 728Reputation: 728
Unfortunately, Toshiba and Phoenix can install/sell/write any kind of BIOS they want---noone is required to sell computers with any particular kind of BIOS. This said, there is no harm in contacting Toshiba to voice your concerns.

Will Dell come through on it's promise to sell Linux systems?? This will help.

And there are several vendors selling Linux laptops.

AND--isn't there a Linux BIOS project?
 
Old 04-10-2007, 07:56 AM   #7
hacker supreme
Member
 
Registered: Oct 2006
Location: As far away from my username as possible
Distribution: Gentoo
Posts: 259
Blog Entries: 1

Rep: Reputation: 30
Ouch...

It seems like someone at Microsoft is feeling a little insecure.
I think they've realised their future isn't looking to pretty at the moment, IMNSHO.

Edit:
Pixellany: Yes, there is a Linux BIOS project.

link: http://linuxbios.org/index.php/Main_Page

Last edited by hacker supreme; 04-10-2007 at 07:58 AM.
 
Old 04-10-2007, 07:57 AM   #8
rickh
Senior Member
 
Registered: May 2004
Location: Albuquerque, NM USA
Distribution: Debian-Lenny/Sid 32/64 Desktop: Generic AMD64-EVGA 680i Laptop: Generic Intel SIS-AC97
Posts: 4,250

Rep: Reputation: 60
Actually there are tons of articles on the net about this. (Google "phoenix bios" vista). Here's one that explains how proud Phoenix is of this new funtionality. I would contact the Phoenix bios people and ask if that feature can be bypassed by people who wish to run other OSes.

If it does indeed render computers unable to run other OSes, I wonder what the folks who said TPM was no problem in this thread think now.

Last edited by rickh; 04-10-2007 at 08:08 AM.
 
Old 04-10-2007, 07:58 AM   #9
GrapefruiTgirl
Guru
 
Registered: Dec 2006
Location: underground
Distribution: Slackware64
Posts: 7,594

Rep: Reputation: 550Reputation: 550Reputation: 550Reputation: 550Reputation: 550Reputation: 550
Quote:
Originally Posted by pixellany
AND--isn't there a Linux BIOS project?
Yup, there is, but it isn't quite as "widely compatible" with machines in general as are the standard BIOSes. By Googling 'Linux BIOS Project' one can read all about it, and see the motherboards and chipsets it is available for. The selection is a relatively small portion of what's out there.
 
Old 04-10-2007, 08:14 AM   #10
chessonly
Member
 
Registered: Jan 2005
Distribution: ubuntu
Posts: 57

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 15
Quote:
So you chose to ignore the warning, and now you're complaining that it's broken?
well you have a point there, but tell me is it possible to 'tolerate' vista for long?. Besides there are plenty of ppl on notebook forums who have and use xp on this.
And most importantly I am not complaining (that I will do in grand fashion) but informing .
 
Old 04-10-2007, 11:12 AM   #11
hacker supreme
Member
 
Registered: Oct 2006
Location: As far away from my username as possible
Distribution: Gentoo
Posts: 259
Blog Entries: 1

Rep: Reputation: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by rickh
Here's one that explains how proud Phoenix is of this new funtionality.
I tried to read this article but my eyes hurt too much.

However, I can just imagine Phoenix's response to Linux users: 'w3 pwnd j00!'
 
Old 04-10-2007, 12:05 PM   #12
Chargh
Member
 
Registered: Apr 2004
Location: Seba Beach Alberta Canada
Distribution: Fedora 16
Posts: 251
Blog Entries: 24

Rep: Reputation: 31
Hmmm this is Evil but not surprising. Microsoft is famous for playing Dirty.
 
Old 04-10-2007, 12:24 PM   #13
DotHQ
Member
 
Registered: Mar 2006
Location: Ohio, USA
Distribution: Red Hat, Fedora, Knoppix,
Posts: 542

Rep: Reputation: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by pixellany

Will Dell come through on it's promise to sell Linux systems?? This will help.
We recently bought 6 Dell servers w/ the RHEL AS4.x license. The OS was not pre-loaded, but that is how we asked for it, so no complaints about that.

Why create Bios that will only support one OS. Sure seems like backward thinking to me.
 
Old 04-10-2007, 01:28 PM   #14
Jeebizz
Senior Member
 
Registered: May 2004
Distribution: Slackware 14.1 64-bit with multilib
Posts: 2,075

Rep: Reputation: 210Reputation: 210Reputation: 210
This is interesting. My notebook is an HP, and the bios is a Phoenix bios, and on the notebook it is marked as Vista capable, however I am happily dual booting XP and Slackware with it, and I have not encountered such problems about suddenly being locked out, and so far the only issues I have under Linux with this particular bios right now is just getting ACPI and APM to work correctly, but other than that, no problems.

[edit]

I should also point out that LILO is the default loader as well.
 
Old 04-10-2007, 01:33 PM   #15
GrapefruiTgirl
Guru
 
Registered: Dec 2006
Location: underground
Distribution: Slackware64
Posts: 7,594

Rep: Reputation: 550Reputation: 550Reputation: 550Reputation: 550Reputation: 550Reputation: 550
@ Jeebiz, For the time being at least, I guess 'Vista Capable' and 'Vista Limited' are still two different things

A suggestion, regarding your ACPI/APM : I believe (not 100% certain) you only need one of them. They work to the same end, but ACPI is the newer way of doing things.
 
  


Closed Thread

Tags
buttons, enable, keys, media, special


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Warning --for Windows Laptop Users And Fc4 1kyle Fedora 14 09-28-2005 09:51 AM
Wine: Error message: Warning: the specified Windows directory L"c:\\windows" and such DarkNice Linux - Software 4 11-14-2004 06:36 PM
Windows manager warning? ??? Khronus Linux - Newbie 5 08-22-2004 04:56 PM
SuSE 9.1 Warning: you may lose Windows partition! thom Linux - Distributions 17 07-08-2004 08:03 AM
Windows XP BIOS John Manion Linux - Software 17 01-02-2003 11:47 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:37 PM.

Main Menu
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration