LinuxQuestions.org
Welcome to the most active Linux Forum on the web.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Networking > Linux - Wireless Networking
User Name
Password
Linux - Wireless Networking This forum is for the discussion of wireless networking in Linux.

Notices

Search this Thread
Old 03-16-2004, 03:06 PM   #1
bucknutty
LQ Newbie

Rep: Reputation: 0
d-link 650 newbie question

hello my name is buck and im a windowsaholic ..heh heh heh
seriously though i am a total newbie to linux. i just installed the suse 9.0 proffesional on my system and my d-link-650 wirelss router card isnt working in the suse system. i have seen some articles by people who talk about rewriting a kernal to get it to work, but like i said before i am a complete newbie.(what's a kernal? where do i write it? where does it go?) I really could use someones help in a step by step guide in writing the kernal for this and where to put it etc etc etc...basically i need someone who has the patience to help me crawl before i can walk. Once i get the wireless network card runiing i can then start reading and practicing tutorials online through the linux system instead of trying to read them and undrstanding what i am reading through windows then switching back over to the linux system and being confused again. please feel free to e-mail me at bucknuttyshag@aol.com with any help in this matter.

Old 03-17-2004, 12:50 PM   #2
bucknutty
LQ Newbie

Original Poster
well the suse support line cant help with netwrok cards are routers. If anyone knows how to configure a dwl-650 or dwl 650+ card with the suse linux os i would really appreciate it. If i cant get this running i might end up giving up and sticking with windows . any help on this would be greatly appreciated.

Old 03-17-2004, 01:04 PM   #3
bucknutty
LQ Newbie

Original Poster