LinuxQuestions.org
Support LQ: Use code LQ3 and save $3 on Domain Registration
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Puppy
User Name
Password
Puppy This forum is for the discussion of Puppy Linux.

Notices

Reply
 
Search this Thread
Old 02-25-2007, 06:20 AM   #1
henrysukumar
Member
 
Registered: Feb 2007
Location: Bangalore
Distribution: Fedora
Posts: 33

Rep: Reputation: 15
Puppy Linux review


Refer
http://linuxgalore.com/distro-review/puppy.php
 
Old 02-25-2007, 11:16 AM   #2
XavierP
Moderator
 
Registered: Nov 2002
Location: Kent, England
Distribution: Lubuntu
Posts: 19,176
Blog Entries: 4

Rep: Reputation: 430Reputation: 430Reputation: 430Reputation: 430Reputation: 430
The Distro Review or the Linux-News area would have been better for this. Particularly as you have just posted a link and no text. And the link is to your own website. Which is very very slow.

However, as your site is a pure Linux site and you provide a link to LQ, I'll allow it.
 
Old 05-29-2007, 10:40 PM   #3
LobsterEd
Puppy Publicity Officer
 
Registered: Jun 2006
Distribution: Puppy
Posts: 63

Rep: Reputation: 23
more Puppy Reviews
http://puppylinux.org/wikka/ReviewsPuppy
 
Old 07-04-2007, 06:27 PM   #4
eoinrua
Member
 
Registered: May 2007
Location: Lurgan, Northern Ireland
Distribution: Ubuntu, Xubuntu and Puppy
Posts: 121

Rep: Reputation: 15
I have to say Puppy is a brilliant distro. I use ubuntu on my main machine, but I carry Puppy around on a USB stick so I can use it anywhere (BIOS permitting). People are so impressed when they see an OS up and running so quickly.

It's also really handy to use when something has gone wrong in ubuntu - or windows - because Rox means I can go in as auto-root and sort things out.

I must praise your review - you're clearly a big fan of Puppy - and I agree with you 100 per cent.

The one area where Puppy does fall down, however, is in support for Winmodems. I use the Linuxant driver in ubuntu and it's great. (I know I really should be on broadband by now but I always put it off until next month's paycheck.)

If Barry (he really deserves a lot of praise for what he's done with Puppy) could see his way to improving soft modem support I'm sure I could persuade a lot of my friends and family to make the switch to Linux.

I'll be sticking with ubuntu for my main box, but Puppy is a real showstopper when I boot their machines from USB. They can't believe how quickly it runs, especially on older PCs and laptops that crawl along in Windows.

It's one of the best advertisements for Linux we could have.

Get the modem compatibility issues sorted and Puppy really could go mainstream.
 
  


Reply

Tags
linux, puppy


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
puppy linux and puppy.bat livepie22 Puppy 5 11-09-2006 08:02 AM
LXer: Puppy Linux 2.02 Review LXer Syndicated Linux News 0 09-11-2006 06:33 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:50 PM.

Main Menu
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration