LinuxQuestions.org
Visit Jeremy's Blog.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Puppy
User Name
Password
Puppy This forum is for the discussion of Puppy Linux.

Notices

Reply
 
Search this Thread
Old 05-06-2008, 11:31 AM   #1
masinick
Member
 
Registered: Apr 2002
Location: Concord, NH
Distribution: Debian, sidux, antiX, SimplyMEPIS, Kubuntu, Mandriva, Fedora, Xandros, Arch, and many others
Posts: 560
Blog Entries: 14

Rep: Reputation: 35
Puppy 4.00 review in the review section


I installed Puppy last night and I wrote a short review on the release in the review section of the forum. The summary of my findings is that Puppy has been modernized and trimmed down - Puppy had been gaining weight from all the good packaged food that he had been chowing on in recent releases.

As usual, Puppy loaded easily onto my system and it recognized an earlier .pup configuration and offered to update the configuration. My environment was readily detected and the software loaded completely into RAM.

I did not yet test to see if there have been further improvements in wireless support. Earlier releases did have wireless support, but the wpa_supplicant software was not included in previous packaging; it had to be loaded in separately. Hopefully this component is included to simplify the wireless experience for users who utilize the improved WPA-PSK authentication.

I recommend trying out this version, particularly if you maintain a collection of Live CDs or you like to create a system that can be carried around either on a business card CD or a USB stick. Puppy works very well in either situation, plus it can be installed on your disk.

Puppy includes a full featured Seamonkey Internet suite for browsing, reading Email, news, chat, and organizing your calendar. Puppy also includes multimedia and office software, so in spite of its modest size Puppy is quite capable of performing the kinds of tasks that desktop users most frequently access.
 
Old 05-08-2008, 03:37 PM   #2
thorn168
Member
 
Registered: Oct 2004
Location: USA
Distribution: Vector Linux 5.1 Std., Vector Linux 5.8 Std., Win2k, XP, OS X (10.4 & 10.5)
Posts: 344

Rep: Reputation: 42
I tried puppy 4 last night on my IBM 570 and it was ok. I could not get the wireless to work however

I like the new desktop wall paper better then the puppy 3.01 wall paper.
 
Old 05-14-2008, 05:17 AM   #3
Agrouf
Senior Member
 
Registered: Sep 2005
Location: France
Distribution: LFS
Posts: 1,591

Rep: Reputation: 79
I installed puppy on my usb stick. I got my ralink wireless working fine, with WPA-PSK authentication. I did it from the command line though. I coulnd't figure out how the wizard worked.
The distro is amazing.
 
Old 05-16-2008, 10:23 AM   #4
masinick
Member
 
Registered: Apr 2002
Location: Concord, NH
Distribution: Debian, sidux, antiX, SimplyMEPIS, Kubuntu, Mandriva, Fedora, Xandros, Arch, and many others
Posts: 560
Blog Entries: 14

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 35
I'm going to have to do it from the command line too

Quote:
Originally Posted by Agrouf View Post
I installed puppy on my usb stick. I got my ralink wireless working fine, with WPA-PSK authentication. I did it from the command line though. I coulnd't figure out how the wizard worked.
The distro is amazing.
People in the Puppy forums seem to think that Puppy has the best wireless setup of any system. It may be good at detection, but I find the wizard tool to be confusing instead of helpful. In contrast, Xubuntu was almost automatic in its handling of my wireless configuration. It detected everything and simply asked me to pick a connection and establish authentication, and it remembered it from there on out. Fedora, which previously has not been all that great on the desktop, has made tremendous strides with Fedora 9, and it is now just about as easy as Xubuntu - you get a task bar icon with the network services viewable, you select one, and then it asks you to provide a pass code. Easy.

For all the things that Puppy is good at - its faster than most systems and small, yet it has some great applications - this is one area much in need of improvement, in my opinion. Take a chapter from the Ubuntu or Fedora projects to see how to do it right. Alternatively, look at AntiX or sidux. They use a command line tool called ceni that makes managing networks much easier.

That said, when I get some time, I am going to investigate the command line tools again and see if I can do better with this. I rarely let a challenge conquer me, I conquer the challenge! :-)
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
LXer: Puppy Linux 3.01 Review LXer Syndicated Linux News 0 12-11-2007 08:50 AM
Puppy Linux review henrysukumar Puppy 3 07-04-2007 06:27 PM
review section for computer related furniture t3gah LQ Suggestions & Feedback 10 05-29-2005 09:57 AM
maybe a kernel review section czarherr LQ Suggestions & Feedback 1 05-18-2004 04:10 PM
Review Section Updated - Books Added jeremy LQ Suggestions & Feedback 8 02-15-2004 11:25 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:51 AM.

Main Menu
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration