LinuxQuestions.org
Share your knowledge at the LQ Wiki.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Non-*NIX Forums > Programming
User Name
Password
Programming This forum is for all programming questions.
The question does not have to be directly related to Linux and any language is fair game.

Notices

Reply
 
Search this Thread
Old 07-12-2009, 10:26 PM   #1
kike_coello
Member
 
Registered: Jul 2005
Location: maryland
Distribution: Ubuntu 9.04
Posts: 88

Rep: Reputation: 17
How do you change the rows and columns in screen when you press ctrl-alt-f1?


Hi, you know how when you start up linux, you go into gui mode and start using gnome, xfce, etc etc, and when you want to switch to text mode you press ctrl-alt-f1 (through f6).

Well what I want to know is, how do you change your number of rows and columns because my ubuntu installation is setup so that I only have 24x75 (approximately)?

I would like to specify the amount of rows and columns myself, or is there a list of defined row x col that I have to select depending on the size of my screen or resolution. Thanks in advance.

Enrique
 
Old 07-13-2009, 01:35 PM   #2
bannock
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Jun 2009
Location: Toronto
Distribution: Ubuntu, Fedora
Posts: 24

Rep: Reputation: 18
You can change your console resolution with the 'vga=' kernal boot parameter. And you can change your font with the 'setfont' command.
 
Old 07-13-2009, 02:59 PM   #3
catkin
LQ 5k Club
 
Registered: Dec 2008
Location: Tamil Nadu, India
Distribution: Servers: Debian Squeeze and Wheezy. Desktop: Slackware64 14.0. Netbook: Slackware 13.37
Posts: 8,563
Blog Entries: 29

Rep: Reputation: 1179Reputation: 1179Reputation: 1179Reputation: 1179Reputation: 1179Reputation: 1179Reputation: 1179Reputation: 1179Reputation: 1179
Quote:
Originally Posted by bannock View Post
You can change your console resolution with the 'vga=' kernal boot parameter. And you can change your font with the 'setfont' command.
This page looks helpful: http://fvue.nl/wiki/Linux:_Terminal_...umns_x_24_rows
 
Old 07-13-2009, 09:22 PM   #4
kike_coello
Member
 
Registered: Jul 2005
Location: maryland
Distribution: Ubuntu 9.04
Posts: 88

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 17
Thanks bannock and catkin. I'll try out both solutions.
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
change Ctrl+Alt+F7 to F7 + K hammil Linux - General 4 03-17-2009 01:56 AM
ntldr missing press alt + ctrl .... ankuryu Linux - Newbie 1 05-25-2007 06:16 AM
How to change KDE default Ctrl+Alt+K for changing language into Alt+Shift sepetar Linux - General 9 01-04-2006 07:06 AM
How do you press Ctrl,Alt and shift? littertiger Programming 4 05-17-2005 04:00 AM
dark screen when pressing Ctrl + Alt + Backspace or Ctrl + Alt F1-F6 in Gnome or KDE trinoo Slackware 5 01-28-2005 09:13 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:06 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration