LinuxQuestions.org
Download your favorite Linux distribution at LQ ISO.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Mandriva
User Name
Password
Mandriva This Forum is for the discussion of Mandriva (Mandrake) Linux.

Notices

Reply
 
Search this Thread
Old 09-14-2003, 12:27 PM   #1
garyrny
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Sep 2003
Location: Western New York
Distribution: mdk
Posts: 5

Rep: Reputation: 0
mdk 9.1 p4 hyperthread/smp


I'm fairly new to linux, and have been tinkering w/mdk for a while. I recently built a new system (msi 865g neo2, p4 2.6ghz) and enabled hyperthreading in the system bios. Windows XP sees/enables support for hyperthreading just fine. However, when installing mdk 9.1, only the non-smp kernel is installed. Shouldn't it automatically configure the smp kernel? If you look on cd1, both the smp and non smp kernels are there. Looking at /proc/cpuinfo the hyperthreading flag "ht" does show up in the list of cpu flags.

Looking at the system logs through MCC, the kernel identifies itself with the following entry "kernel: Linux version 2.4.21-0.13mdk (flepied@bi.mandrakesoft.com) (gcc version 3.2.2 (Mandrake Linux 9.1 3.2.2-3mdk)) #1 Fri Mar 14 15:08:06 EST 2003"

How do I switch to the smp kernel?

Thanks,
Gary...
 
Old 09-14-2003, 04:10 PM   #2
blixblix
Member
 
Registered: Aug 2003
Location: Berlin
Distribution: Mandrake, Debian, Suse
Posts: 44

Rep: Reputation: 15
Try simply going into MCC and using RPMDrake to install it. Should be all you need. The package is called kernel-smp-2.4.21.0.25mdk or similar.
 
Old 09-14-2003, 07:14 PM   #3
garyrny
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Sep 2003
Location: Western New York
Distribution: mdk
Posts: 5

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 0
Thanks. I gave that a try. Although I can now boot to either kernel, the smp kernel (2.4.21.0.25) reports only one cpu.

Is anyone running mdk 9.1 w/a p4 with hyperthreading enabled? How did you get the smp kernel to detect both logical CPUs?
 
Old 09-17-2003, 11:43 AM   #4
erik
Member
 
Registered: Jul 2003
Location: USA,N.C.
Distribution: mandrake 10.1
Posts: 79

Rep: Reputation: 15
hi
I am running a P4 3.06 hyperthread with the smp kernel tried all of the kernels that came with the mdk power pack and smp was the only one that would run things correctly.(gigabit 8inxp mainboard)
I dont know if my system is seeing 1 or 2 processors how did you check this?
 
Old 09-17-2003, 08:40 PM   #5
garyrny
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Sep 2003
Location: Western New York
Distribution: mdk
Posts: 5

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 0
From everything I've seen, you should be able to enter "cat /proc/cupinfo" to see what the kernel detected.

I posted essentially the same question over on the mdk unofficial users board (http://www.mandrakeusers.org/viewtop...?p=64944#64944), but haven't had a chance to try it.
 
Old 09-17-2003, 09:02 PM   #6
erik
Member
 
Registered: Jul 2003
Location: USA,N.C.
Distribution: mandrake 10.1
Posts: 79

Rep: Reputation: 15
i am only showing 1 processor in mandrake control center but i am not sure if two will show up there when hyperthread is enable.
I f you find the answer somewhere else please post it here
 
Old 09-18-2003, 03:37 AM   #7
zedrob
Member
 
Registered: Aug 2003
Location: Italy
Distribution: Gentoo, Fedora, Ubuntu
Posts: 30

Rep: Reputation: 15
Hi all
I use an HT CPU with Mandrake 9.2b2...when I look into the Kernel Boot Log I find that 2 Processors are found: 0 and 1.
But I really don't know if the system manages correctly both or still uses the first only...
Hope this helps
Ciao
 
Old 09-18-2003, 06:54 AM   #8
erik
Member
 
Registered: Jul 2003
Location: USA,N.C.
Distribution: mandrake 10.1
Posts: 79

Rep: Reputation: 15
i have processor 0 and 1 also. I guess if it is seeing two then it is working correctly.But i do not know how to confirm this>
 
Old 09-20-2003, 09:34 AM   #9
garyrny
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Sep 2003
Location: Western New York
Distribution: mdk
Posts: 5

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 0
Over on the mandrakeusers.org forum (the link provided in a previous post in this thread), the suggestion of adding "acpismp=force" on the kernel command parameters did the trick. In my case, MDK had placed "acpi=off" in the parameter list, which also had to be removed before the smp kernel recognized both of the virtual processors.

One easy way to determine how the smp kernel will utilize both of the logical cpus is to install/run the "gkrellm" system monitor, which will graph the usage of each cpu. If you are using a recent version of mdk, it's bundled on the CDs, but not necessarily installed by default. You can use rpmdrake to install it.
 
Old 09-20-2003, 11:17 AM   #10
erik
Member
 
Registered: Jul 2003
Location: USA,N.C.
Distribution: mandrake 10.1
Posts: 79

Rep: Reputation: 15
thanks garyrny
i'll try gkrellm and see what is going on with the cpu
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Any reason to keep a non-smp kernel installed on a smp FC3 machine? jim-j Fedora 2 03-12-2006 07:06 AM
problem with smp kernel after mdk 9.1 to 10.2 upgrade danzinho Mandriva 0 05-23-2005 05:15 AM
Cant access linux filesystem ext3 after upgrading from mdk 9.1 to mdk 10 drewineal Linux - Newbie 1 02-27-2005 03:45 PM
Hard lock problems - SATA/NVIDIA/Hyperthread problem? insectile Linux - General 2 09-17-2004 04:13 PM
where is a good place to get an mdk smp kernel? RIgimp75 Mandriva 1 08-24-2003 04:58 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:02 AM.

Main Menu
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration