LinuxQuestions.org
Review your favorite Linux distribution.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - General > LinuxQuestions.org Member Success Stories
User Name
Password
LinuxQuestions.org Member Success Stories Just spent four hours configuring your favorite program? Just figured out a Linux problem that has been stumping you for months?
Post your Linux Success Stories here.

Notices

Reply
 
Search this Thread
Old 06-27-2004, 01:38 PM   #1
andrewdodsworth
Member
 
Registered: Oct 2003
Location: United Kingdom
Distribution: SuSE 10.0 - 11.4
Posts: 347

Rep: Reputation: 30
SuSE 9.1 and Belkin 54g F5D7010 (Broadcom BCM94306 chipset)


Managed to get Belkin 54g card working with manual configuration using ndiswrapper.
Although SuSE 9.1 and YaST support a lot of wireless cards not ones based on this chipset.

Using Belkin 802.11g wireless router - ESSID broadcast disabled 128 bit WEP.

Toshiba Satellite 2450 Pentium 4 2.4GHz 256Mb memory onboard Realtek 8139 multiboot XP/SuSE 9.0/SuSE 9.1

SuSE 9.1 comes with ndiswrapper 0.6 which I had installed with YaST but I downloaded latest 0.8.tar.gz. Didn't need to uninstall 0.6 or make clean - but if you have ndiswrapper 0.4 or earlier you should.
Followed the install instructions that came with ndiswrapper.
Extracted to folder
copied all files from Belkin CDROM Driver folder to same folder (bcmwl5.sys bcm43xx.cat bcmwl5.inf)
make install
ndiswrapper -i /path/to/bcmwl5.inf

ndiswrapper -l showed:
bcmwl5 present

iwconfig wlan0 essid "essid_name"
iwconfig wlan0 key <hexadecimalkey>

iwconfig now shows wlan0 with correct ESSID and Key but ifconfig shows no IP addresses

dhcpcd wlan0

gives error message - no config file but gets IP address

ifconfig wlan0 now shows IP addresses and everything works.

Now to make it stick!

Because this card is not guaranteed to be present in the machine which has onboard ethernet decided not to make it load on boot. Although it is hotpluggable, if the machine is booted without a cable in the onboard ethernet it gets network errors on boot up and won't hotplug. Once card set up and network working then it can be removed and reinserted and will hotplug. Good enough for what I need.

Used /etc/sysconfig/ifcfg.template as a template to create new /etc/sysconfig/network/ifcfg-wlan0.
Key sections are:

STARTMODE='hotplug'
BOOTPROTO='dhcp'
DHCLIENT_MODIFY_RESOLV_CONF='yes'
DHCLIENT_SET_DEFAULT_ROUTE='yes'

WIRELESS_ESSID='your_ESSID'
WIRELESS_KEY=''
WIRELESS_AP=''
WIRELESS_AUTH_MODE=''
WIRELESS_BITRATE='auto'
WIRELESS_CHANNEL=''
WIRELESS_DEFAULT_KEY='0'
WIRELESS_FREQUENCY=''
WIRELESS_KEY_0='your_key'
WIRELESS_KEY_1=''
WIRELESS_KEY_2=''
WIRELESS_KEY_3=''
WIRELESS_KEY_LENGTH='128'
WIRELESS_MODE='Managed'
WIRELESS_NICK=''
WIRELESS_NWID=''
WIRELESS_POWER='yes'

everything else can be left as ''

On first boot run (as root):
iwconfig wlan0

This should show wlan0 details connecting to your router and obtaining IP address

ifconfig wlan0

This should show the normal stuff complete with IP addresses obtained by DHCP

route

Check that the default gateway is shown against wlan0

That's it!

Initial problems I had were to do with the default gateway not being set on wireless and even after manually adding default gateway (route add default gw 192.168.x.x wlan0) not being able to resolve DNS names because the nameserver wasn't being set up. Finally tracked it down to entries in ifcfg-wlan0.

Once up and running it does appear in YaST Network devices .. Network cards but DON'T use YaST to change anything!
 
Old 08-03-2004, 01:08 AM   #2
haymaker
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Jun 2004
Location: New Zealand
Distribution: Red Hat 9
Posts: 4

Rep: Reputation: 0
Arrow I have exactly the same problem. dhclient/wlan0/no conf found

can u tell me what exactly u added in your /etc/resolv.conf? What do u mean by AP?

I have:
nameserver 192.168.0.1

I know this is the router, because I already have a running network and it works with windoze and my other linux boxes (without wlan).

The green link liight is constantly flashing and the other light is off.

Also another question:

I downloaded:

rtl8180_linuxdrv_v15_rh90.zip

it has all the drivers for Red Hat 9.0, obviously. It even has 2 scripts:
wlanup
wlandown

When I do ./wlanup ap it tells me:
Warning: loading rtl8180_24x.o will taint the kernel: forced load

The only time I got, wht u had was when I used ./wlanup ap , but there are also other options:
Usage: ./wlanup {ap | infra | adhoc}

What are they for? I'm completely new to wlan, so plz help. Also, I would like to use encryption/passwd to have secure connections. Where is a good place to start other than google?
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SuSE 9.0 with Belkin 54g F5D7010 (Broadcom BCM94306 chipset) andrewdodsworth LinuxQuestions.org Member Success Stories 0 07-14-2004 08:34 AM
Belkin 54g/Broadcom chipset with Mandrake 10.0? snecklifter Mandriva 2 03-13-2004 07:47 PM
wlan belkin 54g pcmcia (f5d7010) broadcom airforce chipset + linuxant driverloader MmiB Linux - Hardware 7 11-11-2003 04:28 PM
wlan belkin 54g pcmcia (f5d7010) broadcom airforce chipset + linuxant driverloader MmiB Linux - Newbie 1 11-08-2003 01:44 AM
wlan belkin 54g pcmcia (f5d7010) broadcom airforce chipset + linuxant driverloader MmiB Linux - Wireless Networking 1 11-07-2003 02:28 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:15 AM.

Main Menu
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration