LinuxQuestions.org
Help answer threads with 0 replies.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Networking > Linux - Wireless Networking
User Name
Password
Linux - Wireless Networking This forum is for the discussion of wireless networking in Linux.

Notices

Reply
 
LinkBack Search this Thread
Old 06-01-2008, 10:23 PM   #1
sir-lancealot
Member
 
Registered: Aug 2007
Posts: 336

Rep: Reputation: 31
problems getting broadcomm bcmxx working in f9


From what I have read, I don't need to go through the ndiswrapper route. There is nothing more fustrating then someone replying once, say's try this and report back, which you do and then the thread just drops with no resolution. With that fustration out of the way as that issue was solved, back to wireless.

Dell M1330 with the following;
0c:00.0 Network controller: Broadcom Corporation BCM4312 802.11a/b/g (rev 01)

From all my reading, I have installed Network Manager (not thrilled with it), tried using that as the controller for the device, but still nothing. I am up to the following;

iwconfig
lo no wireless extensions.
eth0 no wireless extensions.
wmaster0 no wireless extensions.

wlan0 IEEE 802.11 ESSID:""
Mode:Managed Frequency:2.412 GHz Access Point: Not-Associated
Tx-Power=27 dBm
Retry min limit:7 RTS thrff Fragment thr=2352 B
Encryption keyff
Link Quality:0 Signal level:0 Noise level:0
Rx invalid nwid:0 Rx invalid crypt:0 Rx invalid frag:0
Tx excessive retries:0 Invalid misc:0 Missed beacon:0

pan0 no wireless extensions.

iwlist wlan0 scan
wlan0 No scan results

lsmod | grep b4
b43 142896 0
rfkill 14752 3 rfkill_input,b43
mac80211 227952 1 b43
input_polldev 12176 1 b43
ssb 43396 1 b43

Does anyone have .02 they wish to add to help, or say, try this, etc. Also heard some people using wicd, but not sure on the fedora side vs. ubuntu.

Thanks
 
Old 06-01-2008, 11:44 PM   #2
spurious
Member
 
Registered: Apr 2003
Location: Vancouver, BC
Distribution: Slackware, Ubuntu
Posts: 558

Rep: Reputation: 31
See this post from fedora forums: http://fedoraforum.org/forum/showthr...27#post1014327

It suggests you use a GUI autoinstall script from Dangermouse: http://dnmouse.webs.com/autoinstall.html

I don't use Fedora myself. I have a Dell D630 with a Broadcom 4328 wireless NIC, and I have to use ndiswrapper.
 
Old 06-02-2008, 07:45 AM   #3
sir-lancealot
Member
 
Registered: Aug 2007
Posts: 336

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 31
I will give it a shot, but my 4312 is not listed in his app when it ran.

-----------
update:
-----------

As I thought, nothing new. Still more bugs since I switched, eth0 doesn't start on boot, I now have to ifup it, and still no wireless. I am considering going the ndiswrapper route but this way would make it so much easier (not to mention the right way)

Last edited by sir-lancealot; 06-02-2008 at 08:15 AM.
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RTL8185 problems (not working) hate29 Linux - Hardware 1 04-12-2008 04:39 PM
upgrade from fc4 to fc6 and now broadcomm 4306 not working aw_wolfe Linux - Wireless Networking 4 02-10-2007 10:54 AM
problems getting avidemux2 working fakie_flip Linux - Software 0 08-17-2006 08:38 AM
SUSE 9.3 problems (mouse working incorrectly) and other problems izquierdista Suse/Novell 1 09-22-2005 08:08 PM
Problems getting sound working donnyj Debian 11 05-14-2005 02:23 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:02 PM.

Main Menu
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration