LinuxQuestions.org
Did you know LQ has a Linux Hardware Compatibility List?
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Networking > Linux - Wireless Networking
User Name
Password
Linux - Wireless Networking This forum is for the discussion of wireless networking in Linux.

Notices

Reply
 
Search this Thread
Old 01-23-2007, 01:13 PM   #1
probabil1ty
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Dec 2006
Distribution: LFS, Gentoo
Posts: 19

Rep: Reputation: 0
Cannot access to web interface of wireless ethernet bridge Belkin F5D7330


I'm a big newbie in configuring network interfaces. Here is what I did (I am using openSUSE 10.2 and NetworkManager)

-I plugged-in the wireless ethernet adapter
-I tried to access 192.168.2.225 (as written in the manual) with a browser (It said the connection was refused)

-I ran
Code:
ifconfig eth0 up
and ifconfig gives me the following output:
Code:
eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:11:43:68:4F:91
          inet addr:169.254.191.15  Bcast:169.254.255.255  Mask:255.255.0.0
          inet6 addr: fe80::211:43ff:fe68:4f91/64 Scope:Link
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:2 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:23 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:128 (128.0 b)  TX bytes:3098 (3.0 Kb)
          Interrupt:11

eth1      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:0B:7D:10:91:14
          UP BROADCAST MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:10141 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:7273 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:12634119 (12.0 Mb)  TX bytes:807160 (788.2 Kb)
          Interrupt:7 Memory:faff6000-faff8000

lo        Link encap:Local Loopback
          inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
          inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
          UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
          RX packets:70 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:70 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:4824 (4.7 Kb)  TX bytes:4824 (4.7 Kb)
Knetworkmanager tells me it is connected to the Wired Interface. I still cannot enter 192
.168.2.225 (I have tried various other ip, but none worked).

-I have tried reseting my device several time: always the same results.
-I have googled the problem and searched the manual: no problem at all, everything seems to work out of the box even for linux users...
-I have even tried to access the web interface in a windows pc (not sure this test is reliable though: the pc is very buggy and uses a very restrictive firewall...), it didn't work. When I use the easy setup cd, it crashes when looking for the device...

I wonder if something could be broken in the device. So my questions are:
-How can I try to configure my eth0 interface so that I can access the device ?
-How to make sure that my ethernet interface is working and that the device has a problem I cannot fix from the PC ?

Thanks for your consideration. (Any kind of help would be very welcome)
 
Old 01-23-2007, 02:29 PM   #2
Quakeboy02
Senior Member
 
Registered: Nov 2006
Distribution: Debian Squeeze 2.6.32.9 SMP AMD64
Posts: 3,245

Rep: Reputation: 121Reputation: 121
Your router needs you to be able to connect to it at 192.168.2.225. However, your eth0 is on 169.254.191.15 and on a different "subnet" entirely, so they can't talk. Try this instead: "ifconfig eth0 192.168.2.100" and see if that works.

Could you give us the output from this please: "cat /etc/network/interfaces" From what I've seen so far, it looks like the interfaces file is misconfigured. If so, we should be able to get it set right so that you get an address from your wireless bridge.

Also, I couldn't download the manual, but if there's a switch on it, it needs to be switched to client mode.
 
Old 01-23-2007, 02:43 PM   #3
probabil1ty
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Dec 2006
Distribution: LFS, Gentoo
Posts: 19

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 0
Code:
ipconfig eth0 192.168.2.100
That solved my problem (I tried various address but none with 192.168.2.x)
Thank you very much, I will try helping you one day
 
Old 01-23-2007, 03:34 PM   #4
Quakeboy02
Senior Member
 
Registered: Nov 2006
Distribution: Debian Squeeze 2.6.32.9 SMP AMD64
Posts: 3,245

Rep: Reputation: 121Reputation: 121
Wait! Hold on! We're not finished. That was just a hack to get you working for a minute. It wasn't a fix. Give me the results of "cat /etc/network/interfaces" so we can get to the root of what's happening and I can give you a proper fix.
 
Old 01-24-2007, 11:22 AM   #5
probabil1ty
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Dec 2006
Distribution: LFS, Gentoo
Posts: 19

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 0
Code:
BOOTPROTO='dhcp'
BROADCAST=''
ETHTOOL_OPTIONS=''
IFPLUGD_PRIORITY='20'
IPADDR=''
MTU=''
NAME='Dell BCM4401 100Base-T'
NETMASK=''
NETWORK=''
REMOTE_IPADDR=''
STARTMODE='ifplugd'
UNIQUE='rBUF.iShmefsNM+5'
USERCONTROL='yes'
_nm_name='bus-pci-0000:02:00.0'
PREFIXLEN=''
I have changed some options in the meantime (use of ifup instead of networkmanager), so here is the output of ifconfig (with wireless (eth1) up and running. I suppose I will have to disable it ?)
Code:
eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:11:43:68:4F:91
          UP BROADCAST MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:4 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:12 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:256 (256.0 b)  TX bytes:876 (876.0 b)
          Interrupt:11

eth1      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:0B:7D:10:91:14
          inet addr:192.168.1.101  Bcast:192.168.1.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
          inet6 addr: fe80::20b:7dff:fe10:9114/64 Scope:Link
          UP BROADCAST NOTRAILERS RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:20501 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:18751 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:18774094 (17.9 Mb)  TX bytes:3064364 (2.9 Mb)
          Interrupt:7 Memory:faff6000-faff8000

lo        Link encap:Local Loopback
          inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
          inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
          UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
          RX packets:511 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:511 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
For the moment
ifconfig eth1 down
and
ifconfig eth0 192.168.1.100
Solve my problem.

Last edited by probabil1ty; 01-24-2007 at 12:01 PM.
 
Old 01-24-2007, 12:57 PM   #6
Quakeboy02
Senior Member
 
Registered: Nov 2006
Distribution: Debian Squeeze 2.6.32.9 SMP AMD64
Posts: 3,245

Rep: Reputation: 121Reputation: 121
Oh, duh, Suse and not Debian. My mistake. The network configurations are completely different. What you really want is to setup eth0 for dhcp, but I can't help you with Suse. I guess you would be able to use the NetworkManager gui to disable eth1 and change eth0 from static to dhcp. I don't usually use the gui for this stuff so I don't even think to suggest someone else use it.
 
Old 01-24-2007, 01:14 PM   #7
probabil1ty
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Dec 2006
Distribution: LFS, Gentoo
Posts: 19

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 0
I don't like those GUI interfaces either. I guess I will just learn how to set it up by myself, there are enough tutorials on the internet. Thanks again for helping me.
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
wireless ethernet bridge to various Hotspots? dabailey Linux - Wireless Networking 0 10-17-2006 03:01 PM
Wireless ethernet bridge problems FiliusVitae Linux - Wireless Networking 2 02-13-2006 01:42 AM
Belkin Wireless Ethernet Bridge on Mandriva LE 2005 bluseychris Linux - Wireless Networking 5 07-19-2005 01:50 PM
try an ethernet to wireless bridge!! leec11 Linux - Wireless Networking 0 10-10-2004 09:42 PM
Best way to set up a wireless to ethernet bridge? Electrode Linux - Wireless Networking 1 10-11-2002 11:52 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:02 AM.

Main Menu
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration