LinuxQuestions.org
Help answer threads with 0 replies.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Networking > Linux - Wireless Networking
User Name
Password
Linux - Wireless Networking This forum is for the discussion of wireless networking in Linux.

Notices

Reply
 
Search this Thread
Old 10-21-2007, 11:42 PM   #1
prashantaghamkar
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Oct 2007
Posts: 21

Rep: Reputation: 0
Bluetooth dial-up networking thread


I am using suse linux 9.3.I am trying to connect to internet via bluetooth.But I could not connect to internet.It gives a error message in rfcomm.
Please send me the solutions to the following id.prashantaghamkar@yahoo.co.in
Prashant R. Aghamkar.
 
Old 10-23-2007, 12:33 PM   #2
2Gnu
Senior Member
 
Registered: Jan 2002
Location: Southern California
Distribution: Slackware 14.0
Posts: 1,874

Rep: Reputation: 49
What's the exact error?

I don't know jack about Bluetooth, but here's a link for a HOWTO:
http://www.howtoforge.com/linux_inte...ooth_gsm_phone
 
Old 10-24-2007, 01:05 AM   #3
prashantaghamkar
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Oct 2007
Posts: 21

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 0
Bluetooth Config.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 2Gnu View Post
What's the exact error?

I don't know jack about Bluetooth, but here's a link for a HOWTO:
http://www.howtoforge.com/linux_inte...ooth_gsm_phone
Respected Sir/Madam.
The real problem is that i could not connect to the rfcomm channel.The error is "Device already in use."
Prashant R.Aghamkar
 
Old 10-24-2007, 03:03 PM   #4
archtoad6
Senior Member
 
Registered: Oct 2004
Location: Houston, TX (usa)
Distribution: MEPIS, Debian, Knoppix,
Posts: 4,727
Blog Entries: 15

Rep: Reputation: 230Reputation: 230Reputation: 230
  1. Welcome to LQ.
  2. Please don't ask for private (e-mail) help, it defeats one of the primary purposes of LQ -- to create an archive of problems & solutions. It's much better for those who have the same or similar problems in the future to be able to find solutions w/o having to start new threads.
  3. Many of us, including myself, think that quoting the entirety of the immediately preceding post is clutter that distracts our attention from what you are saying. It's also a waste of my bandwidth.
  4. Why are you still using linux 9.3? Isn't it obsolete? This may be especially important it trying to get bluetooth to work.
  5. "trying to connect to internet via bluetooth" using what internet connected bluetooth device? A cell phone? If so which one?
  6. What Linux kernel are you using?
  7. As to the suggested HOWTO,
    1. Did you read it?
    2. Did you understand it?
    3. Do you have any Q's about what it is saying?
    4. Is there any reason you think that it doesn't apply to you & your system?
    5. Were you following it when you got the "Device already in use." error?
    6. At what step did that occur?
  8. You might want to read this.

Last edited by archtoad6; 10-24-2007 at 03:16 PM. Reason: not fininshed -- hit wrong button
 
Old 10-25-2007, 06:21 AM   #5
prashantaghamkar
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Oct 2007
Posts: 21

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by archtoad6 View Post
  1. Welcome to LQ.
  2. Please don't ask for private (e-mail) help, it defeats one of the primary purposes of LQ -- to create an archive of problems & solutions. It's much better for those who have the same or similar problems in the future to be able to find solutions w/o having to start new threads.
  3. Many of us, including myself, think that quoting the entirety of the immediately preceding post is clutter that distracts our attention from what you are saying. It's also a waste of my bandwidth.
  4. Why are you still using linux 9.3? Isn't it obsolete? This may be especially important it trying to get bluetooth to work.
  5. "trying to connect to internet via bluetooth" using what internet connected bluetooth device? A cell phone? If so which one?
  6. What Linux kernel are you using?
  7. As to the suggested HOWTO,
    1. Did you read it?
    2. Did you understand it?
    3. Do you have any Q's about what it is saying?
    4. Is there any reason you think that it doesn't apply to you & your system?
    5. Were you following it when you got the "Device already in use." error?
    6. At what step did that occur?
  8. You might want to read this.




Actually when i give he command "rfcomm show"
it shows "rfcomm0 00:1a:16:8f:b8:eb channel 1 clean".Actually i dont know how to connect via ppp.
 
Old 10-25-2007, 06:31 AM   #6
prashantaghamkar
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Oct 2007
Posts: 21

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by prashantaghamkar View Post
Actually when i give he command "rfcomm show"
it shows "rfcomm0 00:1a:16:8f:b8:eb channel 1 clean".Actually i dont know how to connect via ppp.
I have paired the device and i can send and receive the date from the bluetooth handset and pc.Now i want to configure the modem(handset) in the pc.And i want to cofigure the ppp connection to get connected to the internet.Please tell me how to configure the ppp connection and modem(handset)in suse 9.3.
 
Old 10-25-2007, 01:30 PM   #7
harshiloh
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Oct 2007
Posts: 9

Rep: Reputation: 0
if u get the real solution pls mail me to harshiloh@gmail.com

Quote:
Originally Posted by prashantaghamkar View Post
I am using suse linux 9.3.I am trying to connect to internet via bluetooth.But I could not connect to internet.It gives a error message in rfcomm.
Please send me the solutions to the following id.prashantaghamkar@yahoo.co.in
Prashant R. Aghamkar.
mail me @ harshiloh@gmail.com

if u get proper solution
 
Old 10-25-2007, 03:57 PM   #8
archtoad6
Senior Member
 
Registered: Oct 2004
Location: Houston, TX (usa)
Distribution: MEPIS, Debian, Knoppix,
Posts: 4,727
Blog Entries: 15

Rep: Reputation: 230Reputation: 230Reputation: 230
harshiloh, Did you read my previous post?
Quote:
Originally Posted by archtoad6 View Post
2. Please don't ask for private (e-mail) help, it defeats one of the primary purposes of LQ -- to create an archive of problems & solutions. It's much better for those who have the same or similar problems in the future to be able to find solutions w/o having to start new threads.
If any answer is forthcoming, you can read it here. The act of posting should have automatically subscribed you to this thread.


prashantaghamkar, Please stop quoting me back at me or I will unsubscribe from this thread. I know it's not against the rules, but it interferes w/ my ability to read the statement of the problem. Humor me, I'm the one trying to help you.

Please answer, by # please -- no need to quote them yet again, Q's 5 & 7 in my post #4, & let's get on w/ trying to find an solution to your problem.
 
Old 10-26-2007, 12:54 AM   #9
prashantaghamkar
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Oct 2007
Posts: 21

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 0
Bluetooth dial-up networking

I have paired the device and i can send and receive the data from the bluetooth and pc.When i give the command "rfcomm show" it shows rfcomm0 00:1a:16:8f:b8:eb channel 1 clean.After that i don't know what to do with the pc.Actually i don't know how to configure a bluetooth modem(nokia 7610 handset).And also i don't know how to configure a ppp connection to get connected to internet via suse linux 9.3.Please explain in details.
 
Old 10-26-2007, 09:30 AM   #10
archtoad6
Senior Member
 
Registered: Oct 2004
Location: Houston, TX (usa)
Distribution: MEPIS, Debian, Knoppix,
Posts: 4,727
Blog Entries: 15

Rep: Reputation: 230Reputation: 230Reputation: 230
Quote:
Originally Posted by archtoad6 View Post
Please answer, by # please -- no need to quote them yet again, Q's 5 & 7 in my post #4, & let's get on w/ trying to find an solution to your problem.
Make that 4 through 8; in the case of #8, tell us if you followed the link & read the essay -- it's one of the most recommended on this site.

You may now know more about bluetooth than I do -- I came to this thread to learn more about it -- but if you don't frame your Q well, give additional info. when asked, & tell us what did & did not work in our suggestions, we can't, possibly won't, help you (see #8).

You have been given a reference to a HOWTO & some requests for more details, please give us those details & tell us if the HOWTO worked. If the HOWTO didn't work, tell us where it went wrong (see #7).

The 1st screen of the HOWTO lists "latest 2.6 kernel" as one of the requirements, my #6 & #4 address this issue. I can't & won't go further until you respond to them.
 
Old 10-26-2007, 01:17 PM   #11
prashantaghamkar
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Oct 2007
Posts: 21

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 0
Bluetooth dial-up networking

Sir, I want to know that, how to know the kernel version for the bluetooth dial-up networking.Actually when i give the command "rfcomm show", It displays "rfcomm0 00:1a:16:8f:b8:eb channel 1 clean".But when i try to give the command "/dev/rfcomm0". It displays the window "open with" and options in it.Actually it should display the paired device Nokia 7610.And please tell me that how to configure the bluetooth modem in a pc.And also how to configure the ppp or pppd or dund.Please help sir.
 
Old 10-26-2007, 01:57 PM   #12
archtoad6
Senior Member
 
Registered: Oct 2004
Location: Houston, TX (usa)
Distribution: MEPIS, Debian, Knoppix,
Posts: 4,727
Blog Entries: 15

Rep: Reputation: 230Reputation: 230Reputation: 230
I have no idea (yet) of the answers to any of your bluetooth Q's.

1st, let's establish if you have the right kernel:
Code:
uname -r
& for n-th time, WTF are you still using SuSE 9.2?
BTW, I know that "WTF" is rude & verging on abusive, but I have politely asked this several times already & I am getting sick of your failure to answer.

In case you haven't guessed the reasons behind my Q's, I think that what you want can't be done in SuSE 9.2 & this is a waste of time & the sooner we confirm that the better off we'll both be.
 
Old 10-27-2007, 01:24 AM   #13
harshiloh
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Oct 2007
Posts: 9

Rep: Reputation: 0
iam usin fedora7 gnome ,dell ispiron 6400(inbulit bluetooth) & nokia 6600.

icant make interconnection between them.,in my fedora it detect my inbuilt bluetooth.but cant find my bluetooth phone.

iam trying these..............
[root@localhost etc]# sdptool search DUN
Inquiring ...
Inquiry failed

[root@localhost etc]# hcitool scan
Scanning ...
Inquiry failed: Connection timed out

whats the problem, did i wann to install any software package extra.
 
Old 10-27-2007, 03:35 AM   #14
prashantaghamkar
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Oct 2007
Posts: 21

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 0
Bluetooth dial-up networking

1. Obviously, be sure your bluetooth hardware is installed and working
in your system. There are too many permutations to deal with, so
that's up to you to figure out.

2. Put your modem-capable cellphone into discoverable mode, and turn
Bluetooth on, on your phone.

3. Run "hcitool scan" at a command prompt. It will dutifully go out
and look for any bluetooth devices. In my c ase, it finds my phone,
and returns:

Scanning ...
00:80:37:1A:CB:38 Motoko

Make a node of this number and name for later use.

4. To make sure things are working, ping your phone via bluetooth:

l2ping 00:80:37:1A:CB:38

Be sure to do this while your phone is still in discoverable mode,
otherwise it will give you a permission denied message.

5. Bind the phone to a comm channel via Bluetooth by using:

rfcomm bind 0 00:80:37:1A:CB:38

Verify this worked by typing in "rfcomm show" afterwards. You should
then see an open comm channel:

rfcomm0: 00:80:37:1A:CB:38 channel 1 clean

6. So far, you've gotten your Linux box to talk to your phone, via
bluetooth. The only thing that's left is to get a data connection
going via PPP over that /dev/rfcomm0 link, which is easier than it
sounds.

Under /etc/bluetooth, edit the hcid.conf file. Look for the
pin_helper line, and make it read:

pin_helper kbluepin

Save the file and exit the editor. Restart Bluetooth services. On my system, that's "/etc/init.d/bluetooth restart"

7. Now, from the command-prompt, enter "kbluepin". Enter the
pairing code you want to use, when you pair with other devices.
REMEMBER this number, you'll need it.

8. On your system, you've got Bluetooth up and running, and kbluepin
is serving up any pairing requests. On your phone, initiate a pairing
request. It should go out, and find your Linux box, and prompt you
for the pairing code you entered before. Enter it, and the pairing
should take place, showing you a PC-type device on your lists of
paired devices.

9. On my system, I have a small script which will bind the rfcomm
device, and open the channel. it's a one-liner, reading:

rfcomm bind 0 00:80:37:1A:CB:38 1

To explain:

rfcomm bind 0 - This binds the connection to device 0.
You can also have rfcomm bind /dev/rfcomm0, and it'll do the same
thing. Typing in a 0 will make the /dev/rfcomm0 device magically show
up.

The 00:80:etc... is the Bluetooth 'MAC' address of my phone. You'll
naturally want to replace this with the Bluetooth address of YOUR
phone.

The 1 at the end says to open up a data channel, which is defaulted to
1.

The script will save you some typing, and come in handy later.

10. Now, go into your PPP manager (I use kpp). Set up a new modem,
pointing to /dev/rfcomm0. Enter the account params as you normally
would for a dial-up connection to your provider. Enjoy slow, but
totally wireless, goodness, from anywhere you can get a cell signal.


I have two modems, one for my internal modem on my laptop (using /dev/modem, via the Linuxant drivers), and one for my cell phone, using /dev/rfcomm0. I have kppp set up to run the bind-script from above, before trying to initiate a modem connection to my cell device. Otherwise, the device won't be there to dial.

I know there are GPRS cards and connections that will give you far higher speeds. This only goes to 9600 baud on my phone, but for the rare times I need a connection and can't find a WiFi point (i.e. on car trips, or using my laptop for GPS navigation to download map data), it's all I need, and is pretty handy to have.


Sir,My linux kernel is 2.6.11.4-20a-default.I have successfully binded the rfcomm0 channel to my phone.But now please tell me that how to configure the modem(handset Nokia 7610) in my pc.It only shows /dev/modem in fact it should show /dev/rfcomm.Whats the exact problem.Reply.
 
Old 10-27-2007, 08:56 AM   #15
harshiloh
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Oct 2007
Posts: 9

Rep: Reputation: 0
sir,
how to asure my bluetooth hardware is installed and working.
iam very much new in linux.
 
  


Reply

Tags
cannot, channel, clean, command, dont, how, ie, ppp, rfcomm


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DISCUSSION: PPP dial-up over Bluetooth Cell-Phone TB0ne LinuxAnswers Discussion 8 11-18-2011 08:38 AM
What phone for Bluetooth DUN (Dial-Up Networking)? DeNayGo Linux - Hardware 1 10-04-2007 03:49 PM
Bluetooth dial-up connection with nokia 6600 in ubuntu 7.04 kaykay.mudgle Linux - Newbie 1 09-19-2007 04:18 PM
PPP dial-up over Bluetooth Cell-Phone TB0ne Linux - General 2 07-30-2006 08:00 PM
Bluetooth dial-up connectivity issue with Motorola v360 g3n0xp0rt Linux - Hardware 1 01-22-2006 01:46 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:04 AM.

Main Menu
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration