LinuxQuestions.org
Download your favorite Linux distribution at LQ ISO.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Virtualization and Cloud
User Name
Password
Linux - Virtualization and Cloud This forum is for the discussion of all topics relating to Linux Virtualization and Linux Cloud platforms. Xen, KVM, OpenVZ, VirtualBox, VMware, Linux-VServer and all other Linux Virtualization platforms are welcome. OpenStack, CloudStack, ownCloud, Cloud Foundry, Eucalyptus, Nimbus, OpenNebula and all other Linux Cloud platforms are welcome. Note that questions relating solely to non-Linux OS's should be asked in the General forum.

Notices

Reply
 
Search this Thread
Old 03-03-2011, 03:56 PM   #1
goatboyx
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Jan 2011
Posts: 6

Rep: Reputation: 0
KVM Guest to Host Bridge Hijacking F14


I've installed F14 on KVM using bridged networking between my host device eth1 and guest device eth0. I manually added the bridge by editing my /etc/sysconfig/network-scripts/ifcfg-eth1 and ifcfg-br0(name I gave the bridge). When I run the virtual machine and enable the eth0 device on the guest, it works completely fine, however, my host eth0 device has extremely limited bandwidth and isn't usable. I tried shutting down the KVM machine, and the host eth0 still wasn't usable. It does however retain it's use if I reboot the physical machine, which also for some reason deletes my ifcfg-br0 bridge file in /etc/sysconfig/network-scripts/ . I am now lost,lol.
 
Old 03-04-2011, 06:13 AM   #2
dyasny
Member
 
Registered: Dec 2007
Location: Canada
Distribution: RHEL,Fedora
Posts: 834

Rep: Reputation: 91
if you set up a bridge br0 on eth0, the bridge should be configured with an IP and the eth0 is only there as the physical device.
In general, VM running or not, br0 becomes the hosts' working NIC.

If you see network degradation after that, you need to troubleshoot the NIC, I doubt kvm has anything to do with that
 
Old 03-05-2011, 02:09 PM   #3
goatboyx
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Jan 2011
Posts: 6

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 0
The thing that was confusing me was that I have two pyhsical NICs both cable connected to a switch so even if I have one bound to the VM shouldn't the other still maintain a connection. It's connected, it's just REALLY slow.
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLVED] KVM - Bridge, guest works until I start my iptables greenpoise Linux - Virtualization and Cloud 3 01-27-2014 08:50 AM
LXer: Set up RH VirtIO SCSI driver on Windows XP KVM at KVM-QEMU Instance on F14 LXer Syndicated Linux News 14 01-09-2011 12:21 PM
KVM: run guest commands from host without SSH s7upify Linux - Virtualization and Cloud 1 08-16-2010 02:29 PM
Share between Qemu-Kvm host and guest Alexvader General 1 06-13-2010 03:07 PM
Has anyone attempted running OS/2 guest under KVM (or other host)? kaza Linux - Virtualization and Cloud 3 05-16-2010 02:53 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:00 AM.

Main Menu
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration