LinuxQuestions.org
Register a domain and help support LQ
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Software
User Name
Password
Linux - Software This forum is for Software issues.
Having a problem installing a new program? Want to know which application is best for the job? Post your question in this forum.

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 08-13-2003, 06:29 AM   #1
fender
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Jun 2003
Distribution: slack 9
Posts: 20

Rep: Reputation: 0
yet another kazaa/wine thread


I'm sure everyone is sick of these, but the search button couldn't answer my question. I'm trying to install kazaa lite by following the directions from this site. I had no problems installing wine, but the problems came when i wanted to get kazaa running.

when I type: mv *.dll /home/user/.wine/fake_windows/Windows/System/ , I get this:
mv: cannot stat `*.dll': No such file or directory

also, it says: Almost at the bottom of this configfile we add the following rule:

how can i add them when I can't type anything. I open the config file while in konsole, but I cannot type a single thing. I know I must be doing something wrong, but what?

thanks
 
Old 08-13-2003, 08:35 AM   #2
Zerodark
Member
 
Registered: Mar 2003
Location: Fort Sill, Oklahoma
Distribution: Gentoo
Posts: 192

Rep: Reputation: 30
always helps to know what distro you are using too

well,.. instead of typing *.dll you should try the actual name of the dll, or try moving them without using terminal.
 
Old 08-13-2003, 08:39 AM   #3
Rico16135
Member
 
Registered: Aug 2003
Location: Texas, USA
Distribution: Slackware 9.1, SuSE 9.1
Posts: 245

Rep: Reputation: 30
I assume you are root, correct? Sometimes its the simplest of solutions
 
Old 08-13-2003, 04:00 PM   #4
fender
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Jun 2003
Distribution: slack 9
Posts: 20

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 0
one more question, how do I save the changes I make in vi config? and how do I get out of it? thanks

I'm using slackware 9.0 btw.

hmm, when I try to move the files, it always says not found.

it also says to move them to /.wine/fake_windows/Windows/System/ , and I don't have that.

I'm not in x when I do all that btw.

Last edited by fender; 08-13-2003 at 04:20 PM.
 
Old 09-21-2003, 03:14 AM   #5
computerjunkie
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Jul 2003
Posts: 6

Rep: Reputation: 0
This one I can answer though the thread is old. Saving in vi and exiting at the same time is done with "ZZ"
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wine And Kazaa lil213 Linux - Software 7 11-24-2003 06:50 PM
Kazaa on wine iKnowNothing Linux - Software 2 07-08-2003 11:37 PM
Wine+Kazaa v2lk Linux - Software 3 06-15-2003 04:07 PM
Wine Questions with Kazaa wolffmanl7 Linux - Software 3 05-02-2003 01:10 AM
Kazaa and WINE? Obi-Wan_Kenobi Linux - Software 5 02-13-2003 02:03 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:39 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration