LinuxQuestions.org

LinuxQuestions.org (/questions/)
-   Linux - Software (http://www.linuxquestions.org/questions/linux-software-2/)
-   -   What's the best X-Window System window manager in your opinion? (http://www.linuxquestions.org/questions/linux-software-2/whats-the-best-x-window-system-window-manager-in-your-opinion-303980/)

t3gah 03-20-2005 01:56 PM

What's the best X-Window System window manager in your opinion?
 
POLL

david_ross 03-20-2005 02:05 PM

Rather than asking everone again why not just look at the MCAs?
http://www.linuxquestions.org/questi...hreadid=272101
http://www.linuxquestions.org/questi...hreadid=272100

t3gah 03-20-2005 06:25 PM

what's a MCA?

(at Dell & Compaq & IBM & Sony there were millions of acronymns that people used and never gave an explanation of what it was after I'd get an email... seems nothing changes no matter where you go.........)

slakmagik 03-20-2005 07:19 PM

If you've clicked on the links, you've seen that they lead to the ' 2004 LinuxQuestions.org Members Choice Awards'.

iZvi 03-21-2005 05:48 AM

Here is my opinion (in order of preference):

Windows managers:
1. Fluxbox
2. IceWM
3. Windowmaker

Desktop environments:
1. KDE
2. Xfce
3. Gnome

x_freeride_x 12-10-2006 03:32 PM

Hey, sorry for the newb question, what is the difference between a window manager and a desktop environment? I've been looking into enlightenment, I like the look of it.

ethyrdude 12-12-2006 06:43 PM

Okay, this has probably been answered more than a few times but here it is one more time. I'll use KDE as an example. KDE is a desktop manager, it displays the desktop and icons, and is part of the graphical user interface (GUI). The other part is the window manager, which controls how the windows are displayed and where they are placed on the screen. KDE uses kwin as it's window manager. The nice thing about linux, is that you can mix and match desktop and windows managers to suit your tastes and needs.

kcirick 12-12-2006 08:44 PM

FVWM, then TWM... ;)

I just like the simplicity of those two.

x_freeride_x 12-13-2006 12:12 AM

ahh, so you can use kde and enlightment together?

ethyrdude 12-16-2006 10:10 PM

I'm not sure about that combo, I haven't tried it. Kde usually doesn't play too nicely with other window managers, Gnome does work with Windowmaker, I've used it in the past and Rox works with a number of other window managers, fluxbox, is one I know that it does work with, so it would probably work with enlightment. Rox also has it's own windows manager, but of the three desktop managers, KDE, Gnome and Rox, Rox is probably the most adaptable.

I myself used to use KDE, as I got more familiar, I switched to Gnome. While there are differences, I found both desktop managers similar, I also tried Rox with the Rox window manager I think it's Oroborox and with other window managers, fluxbox and with xfwin, as well as xfce with xfwin, icewm by itself and I think with Rox.

I currently am using fluxbox by itself, I don't care for icons and I can fully customize my own menu with it plus instead of icons, I can set up keys to start programs, running programs can be tabbed, similar to browsing with tabs, and I just like the whole experience. This is what's great about linux, it's all about choices, trying things out and seeing what works for you. While KDE works for most people new to linux, it's not your only choice.

Whew! I realize that's a lot of info to digest but, at least it gives you some idea at the power you now possess, by being able to mix and match managers or use window managers by themselves. You do need a window manager for the desktop but not a desktop for your window manager. However, I don't think kwin would be too happy without KDE.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:49 PM.