LinuxQuestions.org
Visit Jeremy's Blog.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Software
User Name
Password
Linux - Software This forum is for Software issues.
Having a problem installing a new program? Want to know which application is best for the job? Post your question in this forum.

Notices

Reply
 
Search this Thread
Old 10-26-2002, 10:17 PM   #1
Johng
Member
 
Registered: Feb 2002
Location: NZ
Distribution: Mageia
Posts: 282

Rep: Reputation: 30
Qt3 thread support


I have installed qt3-3.0.5-2mdk.src.rpm on my Mandrake 8.2 system.
When I try to install scribus-0.8 by doing "rpm -rebuild scribus-0.8-1mdk.src.rpm" I get an error message:

configure: error: Qt (>= Qt 3.0.2) (library qt-mt) not found
Make sure you have installed Qt with thread support

How do I add thread support to the already installed qt3 rpm?
 
Old 10-27-2002, 09:25 AM   #2
Mara
Moderator
 
Registered: Feb 2002
Location: Grenoble
Distribution: Debian
Posts: 9,539

Rep: Reputation: 149Reputation: 149
Yes, it should be. Without it, KDE won't compile (and won't run). Make sure the qt-mt library is in your LD_LIBRARY_PATH (or in /etc/ld.so.conf).
 
Old 10-27-2002, 09:00 PM   #3
Johng
Member
 
Registered: Feb 2002
Location: NZ
Distribution: Mageia
Posts: 282

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 30
Thank you Mara for your reply. Searching with Google, etc shows this qt-mt thing to be a common problem - but the solutions don't seem as obvious as might be expected - at least to newbies! My /etc/ld.so.conf looks like this:

/usr/X11R6/lib
/usr/lib/qt2/lib
/usr/lib/qt3/lib <---- which should be ok (?)
/opt/kde3/lib/
/usr/local/lib
/usr/lib
/usr/lib/wine

and in /usr/lib/qt3/lib there are the following files (plus others):

libqt-mt.prl
libqt-mt.so
libqt-mt.so.3.0
libqt-mt.so.3.0.5

So what do I do now?

Don't know whether it's relevant, but as well as scribus, other software that I've not succeeded in installing successfully includes: wine, Xine, GnoCam, gtkam, Audacity. Some installs are a breeze, others ........

Cheers

JohnG
 
Old 10-30-2002, 01:00 PM   #4
Mara
Moderator
 
Registered: Feb 2002
Location: Grenoble
Distribution: Debian
Posts: 9,539

Rep: Reputation: 149Reputation: 149
It should be:
Quote:
/usr/X11R6/lib
/usr/lib/qt3/lib
/usr/lib/qt2/lib
/opt/kde3/lib/
/usr/local/lib
/usr/lib
/usr/lib/wine
Note that I've changed directories for qt2 and qt3. Programs look to directories in the order they're in, so qt3 should be before qt2.
 
Old 10-30-2002, 04:25 PM   #5
Johng
Member
 
Registered: Feb 2002
Location: NZ
Distribution: Mageia
Posts: 282

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 30
Hi Mara
Thank you for that - in great hope (and confidence?) , I edited the /etc/ld.so.conf file - but alas it has not made any difference. I looked at the end of the config.log file (below) for clues, but I'm out of my depth here ...

int main() {
jpeg_CreateDecompress(0L, 0, 0);
; return 0; }
configure:6583: checking for libjpeg
configure:6621: gcc -o conftest -O2 -I/usr/X11R6/include -D_REENTRANT conftest.c -L/usr/X11R6/lib -ljpeg -lm 1>&5
configure: 6661: /usr/include/jpeglib.h
taking that
configure:6824: checking for Qt
configure: 6888: /usr/lib/qt3/include/qstyle.h
taking that
tried NO
configure:7000: rm -rf SunWS_cache; c++ -o conftest -O2 -fno-exceptions -fno-check-new -I/usr/lib/qt3/include -I/usr/X11R6/include -DQT_THREAD_SUPPORT -D_REENTRANT -L/usr/lib/qt3/lib -L/usr/X11R6/lib conftest.C -lqt-mt -lpng -lz -lm -ljpeg -ldl -lXext -lX11 -lSM -lICE -lresolv -lpthread 1>&5
/tmp/ccFxDaxp.o: In function `main':
/tmp/ccFxDaxp.o(.text+0x11): undefined reference to `QString::null'
/tmp/ccFxDaxp.o(.text+0x16): undefined reference to `QStyleFactory::create(QString const&)'
/tmp/ccFxDaxp.o(.text+0x20): undefined reference to `QCursor::QCursor(int)'
/tmp/ccFxDaxp.o(.text+0x28): undefined reference to `QCursor::~QCursor()'
collect2: ld returned 1 exit status
configure: failed program was:
#include "confdefs.h"
#include <qglobal.h>
#include <qapplication.h>
#include <qcursor.h>
#include <qstylefactory.h>
#include <private/qucomextra_p.h>
#if ! (QT_VERSION >= 302)
#error 1
#endif

int main() {
(void)QStyleFactory::create(QString::null);
QCursor c(Qt::WhatsThisCursor);
return 0;
}
 
Old 11-01-2002, 01:01 PM   #6
Mara
Moderator
 
Registered: Feb 2002
Location: Grenoble
Distribution: Debian
Posts: 9,539

Rep: Reputation: 149Reputation: 149
Try this:
export QTDIR=/usr/lib/qt3/lib
export PATH=$QTDIR/bin
export LD_LIBRARY_PATH=$QTDIR/lib
And try to run configure...
 
Old 11-01-2002, 05:46 PM   #7
Adrian
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Nov 2002
Posts: 2

Rep: Reputation: 0
Hi

> Searching with Google, etc shows this qt-mt thing to be a
> common problem.

I agree I have made the very same experience. I was surprised about so many forum posts I found. I tried about anything I read, but no effect. I don't know why it won't work.

I do have QTDIR in .profile
QTDIR=/usr/lib/qt3
KDEDIR=/opt/kde3
KDEHOME=$HOME/.kde
PATH=$QTDIR/bin:$KDEDIR/bin:$PATH
MANPATH=$QTDIR/doc/man:$MANPATH
LD_LIBRARY_PATH=$KDEDIR/lib:$QTDIR/lib:$LD_LIBRARY_PATH
export KDEDIR KDEHOME QTDIR PATH MANPATH LD_LIBRARY_PATH

I tried exporting them manually too.

I do have qt in /etc/ld.so.conf
/usr/lib/qt3/lib
/usr/lib/qt2/lib

I have these in /usr/lib/qt3
/usr/lib/qt3/lib/libqt-mt.so.3
/usr/lib/qt3/lib/libqt-mt.so.3.0
/usr/lib/qt3/lib/libqt-mt.so.3.0.5
/usr/lib/qt3/lib/libqt-mt.so

I'm pretty sure to have Thread support because I didn't installed qt by compiling, I used rpms by my distribution (SuSE 8.0)

The only thing that is a bit confusing is that I have a /usr/local/qt directory with just include in it, but none of my rpms makes this dir. I tried linking it to /usr/lib/qt3 but it didn't do anything. I guess I can rm this dir. Can't I?

I would really be glad if you could tell me whats wrong. I would post the answer in all forums where looots of users don't know what to do to make it work.


Ciao Adrian
 
Old 11-02-2002, 11:56 AM   #8
Mara
Moderator
 
Registered: Feb 2002
Location: Grenoble
Distribution: Debian
Posts: 9,539

Rep: Reputation: 149Reputation: 149
Such problem can occur when Qt is compiled with one compiler(or version) and you've got another version and trying to compile a program with it.
 
Old 11-02-2002, 03:35 PM   #9
Adrian
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Nov 2002
Posts: 2

Rep: Reputation: 0
Your are right. I used gcc 3.2 befor, now I also added 2.95.3 and it works!

Thanks a lot.



Adrian
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Linux KGDB Support for the thread debugging jaga143 Linux - General 1 07-28-2005 01:10 PM
QT with thread support ?????? bullwinkle Linux - Software 0 09-22-2004 07:51 AM
Qt Thread Support Problem zombyLINUX Linux - Software 4 03-30-2004 03:26 PM
compiling Qt with thread support? timberwolf Linux - Software 4 12-06-2003 05:15 PM
compiling qt with thread support stevenhasty Linux - Software 1 07-03-2003 01:07 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:12 AM.

Main Menu
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration