LinuxQuestions.org
Support LQ: Use code LQ3 and save $3 on Domain Registration
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Software
User Name
Password
Linux - Software This forum is for Software issues.
Having a problem installing a new program? Want to know which application is best for the job? Post your question in this forum.

Notices

Reply
 
Search this Thread
Old 06-28-2006, 10:08 AM   #1
edgjerp
Member
 
Registered: Dec 2004
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Distribution: kubuntu 10.04
Posts: 308

Rep: Reputation: 31
previews with file metainfo


on my desktop computer running mandriva 2006, when I point on a file, I get a preview of the contents including modified date, id3 info for mp3s, exif info for digicam images etc. on my laptop running fc5 I do not have this, but I want to change that. my question is: is this a more or less specific feature of mandriva, or am I simply missing the right package? if so, which one. (they both use kde)
 
Old 06-29-2006, 08:47 PM   #2
nilleso
Member
 
Registered: Nov 2004
Location: ON, CANADA
Distribution: ubuntu, RHAS, and other unmentionables
Posts: 372

Rep: Reputation: 31
that feature has been a part of kde for a few versions I think. Not sure about FC5. Check to make sure you have file preview set up like here
 
Old 07-10-2006, 09:06 AM   #3
edgjerp
Member
 
Registered: Dec 2004
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Distribution: kubuntu 10.04
Posts: 308

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 31
that setting makes icons preview file content, but what I am looking for is more, if you point on a file with a very long name, the full name appears as a tooltip. for example: if I point on a movie, foo.avi I might get something like this:
Code:
 _______________________________________________
||                    |                        |
||                    |   foo.avi              |
||                    |   Microsoft AVI movie  |
||                    |  <modified date>       |
||                    |  1:36:42               |
||     preview        |   27 frames/second     |
||                    |                        |
||____________________|  video encoding: xvid  |
|                        audio encoding: mp3   |
|                         576x384              |
|                                              |
|______________________________________________|
information possibly in a different order, maybe a few more/other details depending on file type and what has been included in the metadata tag of the file.

Last edited by edgjerp; 07-10-2006 at 09:10 AM.
 
  


Reply

Tags
fc5, kde, mandriva, metadata, preview


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
No video previews in konqueror yapp Suse/Novell 11 09-07-2006 08:26 AM
No More jpeg previews kkempter Suse/Novell 1 02-01-2006 04:12 PM
movie previews citrus Linux - Newbie 1 05-24-2005 12:53 AM
Cannot get Mandrake 10 Konqueror to display previews of file icons. tried the normal ryord Linux - General 3 03-22-2004 04:01 PM
Konqueror Sound previews mrsolo Linux - Software 1 12-02-2003 09:18 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:17 AM.

Main Menu
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration