LinuxQuestions.org
LinuxAnswers - the LQ Linux tutorial section.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Software
User Name
Password
Linux - Software This forum is for Software issues.
Having a problem installing a new program? Want to know which application is best for the job? Post your question in this forum.

Notices



Reply
 
Search this Thread
Old 12-26-2009, 05:24 PM   #1
MaGicMaX
Member
 
Registered: Aug 2009
Location: Calgary, AB, Canada
Distribution: Ubuntu
Posts: 51

Rep: Reputation: 15
Nautilus Audio Preview (PulseAudio)?


Ok i really like the audio preview feature of nautilus when you hold your mouse over an audio file. I noticed the sound quality is noticeably better in nautilus than in Audacious 2. In Audacious im using PulseAudio, and as far as i know Nautilus uses PulseAudio too, im not sure why the sound is so much better in Nautilus, most notably the volume (which is turned up all the way in Audacious too). Messing with the equalizer in Audacious seems to improve things, but its still no where near as good as Nautilus.

Does anyone know why? Is there a way i can get the same quality in Audacious, or is there a player that produces the same sound nautilus does?
 
Old 01-06-2010, 12:33 AM   #2
tommyttt
Member
 
Registered: Oct 2009
Location: Federal Way, WA
Distribution: openSUSE 11.4 x86_64, openSuSE 12.1, Fedora 15
Posts: 207

Rep: Reputation: 34
Please provide more information; i.e. distro, desktop, kernel version, etc. Would I be right in assuming Audacious is a gnome program? I would recommend that you try going to your distros' forums for more information.

Also, a google search for "Audacious sound quality" turned up some leads to follow.

Tom (retired penguin)
 
  


Reply

Tags
audacious, sound


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
smplayer: video+audio stutters with pulseaudio, audio files play fine GamerX Linux - Desktop 1 02-06-2009 09:53 PM
pdf preview in nautilus aZZZ Linux - Desktop 2 09-27-2007 01:20 PM
movie preview in nautilus kaega2 Linux - Software 0 01-24-2005 02:56 AM
Preview HTML files as icons in Nautilus? distantlyyours Linux - Software 0 07-25-2004 05:28 PM
audio preview with gnome (nautilus) and i810 ??? hulk1st Linux - Software 3 10-18-2003 08:54 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:24 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration