LinuxQuestions.org

LinuxQuestions.org (/questions/)
-   Linux - Software (http://www.linuxquestions.org/questions/linux-software-2/)
-   -   How to see a keyboard layout preview on linux? (http://www.linuxquestions.org/questions/linux-software-2/how-to-see-a-keyboard-layout-preview-on-linux-930784/)

JohnV2 02-22-2012 08:48 PM

How to see a keyboard layout preview on linux?
 
Hi,

Like title says, how to see a keyboard layout preview on linux? like this:
http://www.sevenforums.com/tutorials...t-preview.html

Anyone know how? or a program? I use KDE and Slackware.

Cheers,
John

ukiuki 02-23-2012 10:40 AM

This: http://www.ghacks.net/2011/09/29/how...ges-to-ubuntu/

Regards

DavidMcCann 02-23-2012 01:04 PM

In Gnome2, the panel keyboard indicator has a preview option if you right click on it, but what KDE does I don't know. A quick search on the internet shows that no-one else seems to know either!

You could just look at the driver: e.g. /usr/share/X11/xkb/symbols/gb or whatever (although Slackware probably puts them somewhere else).

JohnV2 02-24-2012 11:08 PM

Hi,

Thanks for the reply guys, I know I can view the driver, but I want to see on some GUI hahaha Hey may be is out of topic but this kind of program reads the file and then show on the preview window?

Later I will try to install that gnome program for the keyboard layout, if don't need a bunch of deps.

regards,
John

JohnV2 03-04-2012 09:12 AM

Hi!

Well I know now, where is :D easy... on Panel tool box (KDE4), look for widget and write layout. :D

The curious thing was I was not looking haha only for chance.

Regards,

John

JohnV2 03-24-2012 10:52 PM

The preview thing what I was looking for, I think only works on KDE 4.7+ someone can confirm this?

Right now I have KDE 4.5.5 and I not see the preview layout like before....

ukiuki 03-25-2012 05:26 PM

Gnome have its won tool for it, "gnome-keyboard-properties" and then under the layout tab select the keyboard set that you want to see(if you have more than one) and then you will have the option(button) show.

Regards

Pjotr1950 08-30-2013 06:18 AM

Nice layout in Gnome
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by JohnV2 (Post 4609684)
Hi,

Like title says, how to see a keyboard layout preview on linux? like this:
http://www.sevenforums.com/tutorials...t-preview.html

Anyone know how? or a program? I use KDE and Slackware.

Cheers,
John

Hi John,

I tried to locate this as well in KDE (Kubuntu) but that option seems not to be there. In Ubuntu with Gnome-session-fallback, that I prefer to use, this option is available out of the box. Click keyboard icon in panel > Show layout. Then the layout is there in full view and can be left open for reference viewing when needed.
Cheers,
Pjotr


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:09 PM.