LinuxQuestions.org
Support LQ: Use code LQ3 and save $3 on Domain Registration
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Software
User Name
Password
Linux - Software This forum is for Software issues.
Having a problem installing a new program? Want to know which application is best for the job? Post your question in this forum.

Notices

Reply
 
Search this Thread
Old 09-03-2004, 03:42 AM   #1
_UnPrEdictAbLe_
Member
 
Registered: Aug 2004
Location: Hyderabad, India
Distribution: Fedora Core 4
Posts: 183

Rep: Reputation: 30
Question How to preview Audio and Video in KDE?


Hi,

I am using FC2 with KDE(the version which came with the FC2 release).

I just wanted to know how do I preview audio and video files in KDE? I mean, basically, if I mouse over a *.wav file, it automatically plays its preview. How to make it work for MP3(as that is the most prominent format).

Also, if there is a way to allow Video preview(with MPLAYER?)

Another matter, basically, I use XMMS for audio and MPLAYER for video, so in doing this preview thing, I just dont want to disturb the settings(like double clicking video plays it in mplayer and double clicking audio queues it in XMMS), so please tell me a workaround for that too.


Regards,
Anurag
 
Old 09-03-2004, 03:56 AM   #2
bestofmed
Member
 
Registered: Jul 2004
Location: Jemna, Tunisia
Posts: 46

Rep: Reputation: 15
ok, u should know that FC2 does not have mp3 support because of patents issues.

KDE support by default the mp3 & avi formats for playing and previewing (in konqueror of course) by the version included with FC2 doesnt.

So I think U should replace your KDE desktop with another one (e.g. the latest version of KDE) so you gain new version and multimedia files support.

Try it
 
Old 09-03-2004, 04:04 AM   #3
_UnPrEdictAbLe_
Member
 
Registered: Aug 2004
Location: Hyderabad, India
Distribution: Fedora Core 4
Posts: 183

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 30
Hmmmm......... well I am waiting for KDE 3.3 to release Fedora RPM.
I just dont wanna risk it with compiling the source.

Anyway, is there no shortcut ? And I never tried a KDE upgrade, is it same like any other package/application? Also, will it retain the settings of current KDE?

Regards,
unpredictable.
 
Old 09-03-2004, 04:47 AM   #4
paulinimus
Member
 
Registered: Aug 2004
Distribution: SLACKWARE10.0
Posts: 65

Rep: Reputation: 15
Dont worry about compiling the source. There are makefiles included for KDE are there not?
 
Old 09-03-2004, 05:00 AM   #5
_UnPrEdictAbLe_
Member
 
Registered: Aug 2004
Location: Hyderabad, India
Distribution: Fedora Core 4
Posts: 183

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 30
I mean, if I mix up RPM with source installs then basically its difficult to remove and upgrade.

I mean its fine to remove a small application software or even kernel for that matter installed directly from source, but KDE will kind of spread in a lot of directories, and then I wont have an option to upgrade, remove, rollback, etc.

Noone is contributing to the KDE mirrors by adding a RPM for Fedora.

Btw, is there a way to convert the source to an RPM, so that I can use that to install, and maybe remove later....??
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Video preview items not showing in KDE Meriadoc Linux - General 1 03-29-2005 09:53 PM
KDE, Transcode preview problem auditek747 Linux - Software 1 07-24-2004 08:42 PM
can't preview files in KDE now iceco Mandriva 3 11-03-2003 07:30 AM
audio preview with gnome (nautilus) and i810 ??? hulk1st Linux - Software 3 10-18-2003 07:54 AM
How do I turn off auto preview of sound and video? warkrime Linux - Newbie 1 07-16-2003 06:52 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:12 PM.

Main Menu
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration