LinuxQuestions.org
Visit the LQ Articles and Editorials section
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Software
User Name
Password
Linux - Software This forum is for Software issues.
Having a problem installing a new program? Want to know which application is best for the job? Post your question in this forum.

Notices

Reply
 
LinkBack Search this Thread
Old 11-29-2008, 05:43 AM   #1
hulk321
Member
 
Registered: Jul 2007
Posts: 137

Rep: Reputation: 15
Question how do i install rpm in F10?


I have downloaded skype which is in rpm form (i didnt havee any choice to download for FC7).

which command should i use to install this rpm package?
 
Old 11-29-2008, 05:49 AM   #2
Xian
Member
 
Registered: Feb 2004
Location: 33.31N -111.97W
Distribution: SuSE
Posts: 918

Rep: Reputation: 31
$ su -
# <password>
$ rpm -i </path/to/package>
 
Old 11-29-2008, 05:51 AM   #3
colucix
Moderator
 
Registered: Sep 2003
Location: Bologna
Distribution: CentOS 6.5 OpenSuSE 12.3
Posts: 10,368

Rep: Reputation: 1910Reputation: 1910Reputation: 1910Reputation: 1910Reputation: 1910Reputation: 1910Reputation: 1910Reputation: 1910Reputation: 1910Reputation: 1910Reputation: 1910
You can try yum from the command line or eventually rpm (both as root). The former will try to resolve dependencies for you, the latter will simply complain if some dependency is not met. So, do either
Code:
yum localinstall skype-blah-blah-blah.rpm
this will ask for confirmation before installing, or
Code:
rpm --test -Uvh skype-blah-blah-blah.rpm
this will simply test the installation (option --test) and will tell you about additional required packages. I suggest to try the first one, using yum.

Edit: another option is to right-click on the rpm icon and chose "Open with Software Manager" or something similar. On F10 it should launch the PackageKit installer.

Last edited by colucix; 11-29-2008 at 05:55 AM.
 
Old 11-29-2008, 07:13 AM   #4
hulk321
Member
 
Registered: Jul 2007
Posts: 137

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 15
Thanks for the help. I am downloading it through yum install skype.
 
Old 11-29-2008, 07:46 AM   #5
colucix
Moderator
 
Registered: Sep 2003
Location: Bologna
Distribution: CentOS 6.5 OpenSuSE 12.3
Posts: 10,368

Rep: Reputation: 1910Reputation: 1910Reputation: 1910Reputation: 1910Reputation: 1910Reputation: 1910Reputation: 1910Reputation: 1910Reputation: 1910Reputation: 1910Reputation: 1910
Very good!
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Disable F10 for menu drop down titanandrews Linux - General 1 03-30-2011 12:31 PM
static ip on F10 box andy1974 Fedora 13 01-27-2009 08:03 PM
which one will takes more time Live install or full install-F10? hulk321 Linux - Software 3 11-26-2008 05:43 PM
disable F10 from login screen? slvjerome Linux - Desktop 0 08-27-2008 11:23 AM
ctl-alt-f8 thru f10 give nothing desolat Mandriva 2 09-17-2003 07:28 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:10 AM.

Main Menu
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration