LinuxQuestions.org
LinuxAnswers - the LQ Linux tutorial section.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Software
User Name
Password
Linux - Software This forum is for Software issues.
Having a problem installing a new program? Want to know which application is best for the job? Post your question in this forum.

Notices

Reply
 
Search this Thread
Old 09-09-2008, 01:17 AM   #16
tarahmarie
Member
 
Registered: Jan 2006
Distribution: Kubuntu 8.04 Hardy Heron with KDE 4.1.1
Posts: 36

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 15

Quote:
Originally Posted by klearview View Post
Obviously build will not contain CMakeLists.txt since it's in timoid - one directory above! Hence '../'

Just follow instructions - don't improvise! Use copy/paste

'cmake -DCMAKE_INSTALL_PREFIX=/usr/lib/kde4 ../'
Here is the output I got when I used that exact command:

tarahmarie@tarahmarie-desktop:~/Documents/Software/Timoid/build$ ls
CMakeCache.txt CMakeFiles
tarahmarie@tarahmarie-desktop:~/Documents/Software/Timoid/build$ cmake -DCMAKE_INSTALL_PREFIX=/usr/lib/kde4 ../
-- Found Qt-Version 4.4.1 (using /usr/bin/qmake)
-- Found X11: /usr/lib/libX11.so
-- Found Automoc4: /usr/bin/automoc4
-- Found Perl: /usr/bin/perl
-- Found KDE 4.1 include dir: /usr/lib/kde4/include
-- Found KDE 4.1 library dir: /usr/lib/kde4/lib
-- Found KDE4 kconfig_compiler preprocessor: /usr/lib/kde4/bin/kconfig_compiler
-- Found automoc4: /usr/bin/automoc4
-- Configuring done
-- Generating done
-- Build files have been written to: /home/tarahmarie/Documents/Software/Timoid
tarahmarie@tarahmarie-desktop:~/Documents/Software/Timoid/build$ ls
CMakeCache.txt CMakeFiles
tarahmarie@tarahmarie-desktop:~/Documents/Software/Timoid/build$ sudo updatedb
[sudo] password for tarahmarie:
tarahmarie@tarahmarie-desktop:~/Documents/Software/Timoid/build$ locate timoid
/home/tarahmarie/Documents/Software/Timoid/misc/timoid.desktop
/home/tarahmarie/Documents/Software/Timoid/src/timoid.cpp
/home/tarahmarie/Documents/Software/Timoid/src/timoid.h
/home/tarahmarie/Documents/Software/Timoid/src/timoid_automoc.cpp.files
/home/tarahmarie/Documents/Software/Timoid/src/CMakeFiles/timoid.dir
/home/tarahmarie/Documents/Software/Timoid/src/CMakeFiles/timoid.dir/DependInfo.cmake
/home/tarahmarie/Documents/Software/Timoid/src/CMakeFiles/timoid.dir/build.make
/home/tarahmarie/Documents/Software/Timoid/src/CMakeFiles/timoid.dir/cmake_clean.cmake
/home/tarahmarie/Documents/Software/Timoid/src/CMakeFiles/timoid.dir/depend.make
/home/tarahmarie/Documents/Software/Timoid/src/CMakeFiles/timoid.dir/flags.make
/home/tarahmarie/Documents/Software/Timoid/src/CMakeFiles/timoid.dir/link.txt
/home/tarahmarie/Documents/Software/Timoid/src/CMakeFiles/timoid.dir/progress.make

It seems to have worked, but there is no file here with the .so extension, which I think is the plasmoid extension. Also, when I tried to use the desktop context menu, there is no option to install the Timoid widget. What am I doing wrong?
 
Old 09-09-2008, 01:23 AM   #17
tarahmarie
Member
 
Registered: Jan 2006
Distribution: Kubuntu 8.04 Hardy Heron with KDE 4.1.1
Posts: 36

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by tarahmarie View Post
Here is the output I got when I used that exact command:

tarahmarie@tarahmarie-desktop:~/Documents/Software/Timoid/build$ ls
CMakeCache.txt CMakeFiles
tarahmarie@tarahmarie-desktop:~/Documents/Software/Timoid/build$ cmake -DCMAKE_INSTALL_PREFIX=/usr/lib/kde4 ../
-- Found Qt-Version 4.4.1 (using /usr/bin/qmake)
-- Found X11: /usr/lib/libX11.so
-- Found Automoc4: /usr/bin/automoc4
-- Found Perl: /usr/bin/perl
-- Found KDE 4.1 include dir: /usr/lib/kde4/include
-- Found KDE 4.1 library dir: /usr/lib/kde4/lib
-- Found KDE4 kconfig_compiler preprocessor: /usr/lib/kde4/bin/kconfig_compiler
-- Found automoc4: /usr/bin/automoc4
-- Configuring done
-- Generating done
-- Build files have been written to: /home/tarahmarie/Documents/Software/Timoid
tarahmarie@tarahmarie-desktop:~/Documents/Software/Timoid/build$ ls
CMakeCache.txt CMakeFiles
tarahmarie@tarahmarie-desktop:~/Documents/Software/Timoid/build$ sudo updatedb
[sudo] password for tarahmarie:
tarahmarie@tarahmarie-desktop:~/Documents/Software/Timoid/build$ locate timoid
/home/tarahmarie/Documents/Software/Timoid/misc/timoid.desktop
/home/tarahmarie/Documents/Software/Timoid/src/timoid.cpp
/home/tarahmarie/Documents/Software/Timoid/src/timoid.h
/home/tarahmarie/Documents/Software/Timoid/src/timoid_automoc.cpp.files
/home/tarahmarie/Documents/Software/Timoid/src/CMakeFiles/timoid.dir
/home/tarahmarie/Documents/Software/Timoid/src/CMakeFiles/timoid.dir/DependInfo.cmake
/home/tarahmarie/Documents/Software/Timoid/src/CMakeFiles/timoid.dir/build.make
/home/tarahmarie/Documents/Software/Timoid/src/CMakeFiles/timoid.dir/cmake_clean.cmake
/home/tarahmarie/Documents/Software/Timoid/src/CMakeFiles/timoid.dir/depend.make
/home/tarahmarie/Documents/Software/Timoid/src/CMakeFiles/timoid.dir/flags.make
/home/tarahmarie/Documents/Software/Timoid/src/CMakeFiles/timoid.dir/link.txt
/home/tarahmarie/Documents/Software/Timoid/src/CMakeFiles/timoid.dir/progress.make

It seems to have worked, but there is no file here with the .so extension, which I think is the plasmoid extension. Also, when I tried to use the desktop context menu, there is no option to install the Timoid widget. What am I doing wrong?
I take it back--I hadn't run make/make install yet. It worked!!! Wahoo! Thanks!
 
Old 09-09-2008, 01:35 AM   #18
tarahmarie
Member
 
Registered: Jan 2006
Distribution: Kubuntu 8.04 Hardy Heron with KDE 4.1.1
Posts: 36

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 15
Next problem: My folder view widget will open folders in Dolphin, but not Krusader. Does anyone know why? I don't like Dolphin; there's not enough features. When I try to click on a folder like "Music", to which I've created a link in my folder view widget, the Krusader icon thingy bounces for a few seconds, then disappears. Has anyone come across this problem before?
 
Old 09-10-2008, 02:00 AM   #19
tarahmarie
Member
 
Registered: Jan 2006
Distribution: Kubuntu 8.04 Hardy Heron with KDE 4.1.1
Posts: 36

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 15
Does anyone know how to configure hotkeys in KDE4? How do I set ALT-f2 to open a terminal, for instance?
 
Old 09-10-2008, 06:23 PM   #20
tarahmarie
Member
 
Registered: Jan 2006
Distribution: Kubuntu 8.04 Hardy Heron with KDE 4.1.1
Posts: 36

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 15
I have hotkeys working great in KDE4 with the use of xbindkeys and xbindkeys-config as a GUI. I can now pick my hotkeys, like CTR+ALT+b to open firefox as my default browser, etc. Works GREAT!

So, now, my updated list includes these:

3. I'd like to configure different virtual desktops for individual tasks, like: (1)--home desktop with weather, RSS, time, Twitter, Facebook, and other info gizmos along with Kontact widgets for mail and alarms and file management stuff like Krusader; (2)--development desktop with quick starters for my Eclipse and KompoZer and widgets for code snippets and updates on my fave forums like Nabble and the Java Development Forums; (3)--entertainment desktop with quick starters for VLC Player, Amarok widget, iPod info widget, YouTube subscription widget that auto-opens new videos in VLC or Flash, and other similar, and (4)--working desktop with Open Office most frequently accessed files and folders widget, quick starter for Open Office apps, link to my dissertation files and database, etc, and dictionary/thesaurus widget, Blogger widget for quick blog updates and other relevant writing widgets.

5. I'd like to understand the difference between the cube and the cylinder--which one seems better for my interface, based on what you all have seen that I'd like to accomplish?

6. I'd like to be able to specify a different folder for random wallpaper slideshows for each different desktop (like for my home desktop, use pix of friends or pets, for the development desktop, use Java Fact Of The Day or something similar, for the entertainment desktop, use a folder full of Johnny Depp and Russell Crowe, for the work desktop, use a folder of non-distracting landscape and flower images, etc).

8. I'd like to specify different home tabs for Firefox based on which desktop I open it in (like in the entertainment desktop, if I open Firefox, it opens tabs at IMDB, TV.com, Netflix, and so forth, if I open Firefox in the development desktop, it opens tabs in the Sun Developers Forum, Nabble, Koders, etc, and so forth).

9. I REALLY want the centered maxpect issue fixed with the desktop wallpaper; I have many wallpaper images that aren't 1024x768, like movie posters for Watchmen, captured images from my favorite comic books and graphic novels, and stuff like that. They're all distorted in the current slideshow.

11. I want Crystal for KDE4.1.1. It is GORGEOUS with the transparency.

Any ideas on any of these?
 
  


Reply

Tags
desktop, environment, kde4, plasmoid, widget


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
kde4-desktop rockman-x Ubuntu 4 01-09-2009 09:21 PM
Questions about configuring KDE4 JoeDuncan Linux - Desktop 3 09-01-2008 08:46 AM
LXer: Beyond the desktop with KDE4 LXer Syndicated Linux News 0 07-04-2008 11:10 AM
Is there a way to put a calender on the desktop (maybe as a widget) in KDE4? Cinematography Linux - Desktop 4 06-28-2008 06:33 PM
LXer: How to create desktop icons in KDE4 LXer Syndicated Linux News 0 06-17-2008 12:11 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:10 PM.

Main Menu
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration