LinuxQuestions.org
Welcome to the most active Linux Forum on the web.
Home Forums Tutorials Articles Register
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Software
User Name
Password
Linux - Software This forum is for Software issues.
Having a problem installing a new program? Want to know which application is best for the job? Post your question in this forum.

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 02-23-2005, 11:06 AM   #1
Ephracis
Senior Member
 
Registered: Sep 2004
Location: Sweden
Distribution: Ubuntu, Debian
Posts: 1,109

Rep: Reputation: 50
configure tells me I don't have pthread


I am trying to install a snort monitor and when I run configure I get this error:
Code:
checking for pthread_create in -lpthread... no
checking for pthread_create in -lpthreads... no
checking for pthread_create in -lc_r... no
checking for pthread_create... no
Error: Pthread is required to build this package.
The problem is that I have pthread. I have even used it myself when programming. I have checked my ld.so.conf so it points to the directions I get when I do this:
Code:
$ locate libpthread              
/lib/libpthread-0.10.so
/lib/libpthread.so.0
/usr/lib/libpthread.so
/usr/lib/libpthread_nonshared.a
/usr/lib/libpthread.a
What is the problem now? I am able to compile my own programs with g++ just using the -lpthread switch. And I am using the pthread_create function without problems. What is configure complaining about?
 
Old 02-23-2005, 12:09 PM   #2
foo_bar_foo
Senior Member
 
Registered: Jun 2004
Posts: 2,553

Rep: Reputation: 53
i don't really know what that is but have seen other people talking about it

it may have something to do with optimizations or something
more likelly just a minor conflict in versions of something or a bug in pthread or gcc or libtool or whatever

i think it would be perfectly safe to just hack the configure script and make it so it always thinks those tests worked (returned 0)
 
Old 02-23-2005, 01:35 PM   #3
Ephracis
Senior Member
 
Registered: Sep 2004
Location: Sweden
Distribution: Ubuntu, Debian
Posts: 1,109

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 50
Haha, nice. But one problem, I don't know how to hack configure. I have not yet explored the autotools-world as much as I should. :P
 
Old 02-23-2005, 03:34 PM   #4
__J
Senior Member
 
Registered: Dec 2004
Distribution: Slackware, ROCK
Posts: 1,973

Rep: Reputation: 46
objdump -R /usr/lib/libgthread-2.0.so.0 | grep pthread_create

that's probably the pthread_create your finding when you compile your own stuff ( even if it's not in libpthread ( which it wasn't on my slack 10 using objdump) the linker will find it if it's in the lib path when you compile your own apps)
 
  


Reply



Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hardrive tells me it is full number11 Slackware 12 04-28-2005 10:24 AM
Upgraded Qt But Kde Tells Me Qt 3.3 Not Found HGeneAnthony Linux - Software 0 02-16-2005 08:57 AM
Mplayer tells me my C Compiler is not the right version. J_angel2000 Linux - Software 4 04-14-2004 12:46 PM
this site tells why you should just say no to Microsoft studpenguin General 27 02-02-2004 07:55 AM
giFT tells me Mandrake 9.1 is useless Riley Linux - Software 3 08-07-2003 05:54 PM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Software

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:33 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration