LinuxQuestions.org
Visit Jeremy's Blog.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Software
User Name
Password
Linux - Software This forum is for Software issues.
Having a problem installing a new program? Want to know which application is best for the job? Post your question in this forum.

Notices



Reply
 
Search this Thread
Old 10-07-2003, 07:20 PM   #1
hulk1st
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Oct 2003
Distribution: Gentoo
Posts: 3

Rep: Reputation: 0
audio preview with gnome (nautilus) and i810 ???


hi there,
with my new vaio notebook the mp3 preview in nautilus isn't working anymore. i use the intel ich audio drivers and the latest ac-sources which are based on the 2.4.22 vanilla kernel. i installed mpg123 and enabled the mp3 preview in nautilus. i enabled to start the sound server with gnome. playing mp3s with xmms is no problem but the preview doesn't work. i tried to play files with mpg123 but didn't get any output.
btw, the little symbol appears when i point on mp3 files. but i nothing to hear.
any suggestions?

it should be solved if i could set the rate to 48khz somewhere in mpg123 ...

thanks in advance and greets,
hulk

Last edited by hulk1st; 10-07-2003 at 07:37 PM.
 
Old 10-07-2003, 07:49 PM   #2
hw-tph
Senior Member
 
Registered: Sep 2003
Location: Sweden
Distribution: Debian
Posts: 3,032

Rep: Reputation: 57
I think you'll want to run mpg321 instead of mpg123 for Nautilus to behave well.

hw
 
Old 10-07-2003, 07:59 PM   #3
hulk1st
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Oct 2003
Distribution: Gentoo
Posts: 3

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 0
that could be possible. ive never heard of mpg321before. where can i change the setting that nautilus uses mpg321 instead of mpg123?

greets,
hulk
 
Old 10-18-2003, 08:54 AM   #4
hulk1st
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Oct 2003
Distribution: Gentoo
Posts: 3

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 0
i installed mpg321 but nothing happens. i can play mp3's with mpg123 with -r 48000 but how can i say nautilus to use mpg123 with -r 48000 ( rate 48khz )???
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gnome Nautilus compile failed in [nautilus-printer.lo] chunlee Linux - Software 5 01-24-2005 05:57 PM
movie preview in nautilus kaega2 Linux - Software 0 01-24-2005 02:56 AM
How to preview Audio and Video in KDE? _UnPrEdictAbLe_ Linux - Software 4 09-03-2004 06:00 AM
Preview HTML files as icons in Nautilus? distantlyyours Linux - Software 0 07-25-2004 05:28 PM
Mandrake 8.1 and i810 audio Chijtska Linux - General 0 02-19-2002 07:15 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:56 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration