LinuxQuestions.org
Have you heard the LinuxQuestions.org Podcast?
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux > Linux - Server
User Name
Password
Linux - Server This forum is for the discussion of Linux Software used in a server related context.

Notices

Tags used in this thread
Popular LQ Tags , ,

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-06-2008, 12:18 PM   #1
Carl Filby
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Aug 2008
Location: Arlington
Distribution: Debian
Posts: 27
Thanked: 0
Exclamation Postfix+rbl restrictions-postmaster/abuse not getting complaints


[Log in to get rid of this advertisement]
running postfix on debian etch. I want postmaster or at least abuse account to be able to receive emails regarding false postive claims from rbls.
current main.cf:
smtpd_client_restrictions =
check_client_access hash:/etc/postfix/cbl_exceptions
reject_rbl_client cbl.abuseat.org,
reject_rbl_client korea.blackholes.us,
reject_rbl_client russia.blackholes.us,
reject_rbl_client china.blackholes.us,
reject_rbl_client taiwan.blackholes.us,
reject_rbl_client nigeria.blackholes.us,
reject_rbl_client argentina.blackholes.us,
reject_rbl_client brazil.blackholes.us,
reject_rbl_client thailand.blackholes.us,
reject_rbl_client bl.spamcop.net
smtpd_helo_required = yes
smtpd_helo_restrictions =
permit_mynetworks,
check_client_access hash:/etc/postfix/helo_client_exceptions
reject_invalid_helo_hostname,
warn_if_reject,
reject_non_fqdn_helo_hostname,
warn_if_reject,
reject_unknown_helo_hostname
smtpd_sender_restrictions =
permit_mynetworks,
reject_non_fqdn_sender,
reject_unknown_sender_domain
smtpd_recipient_restrictions =
permit_mynetworks,
check_recipient_access hash:/etc/postfix/postmaster,
reject_non_fqdn_sender,
reject_non_fqdn_recipient,
reject_unknown_sender_domain,
permit_mynetworks,
reject_unauth_destination,
reject_unknown_recipient_domain,
permit
______________________________________________________
contents of /etc/postfix/postmaster:
postmaster@ OK
abuse@ OK
______________________________________________
How do I insure abuse account can be emailed if sender gets blocked?

Last edited by Carl Filby; 09-06-2008 at 07:26 PM..
Carl Filby is offline  
Tag This Post , ,
Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2008, 06:36 PM   #2
Berhanie
Senior Member
 
Registered: Dec 2003
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 1,260
Thanked: 36
What are "false postie claims"?
Berhanie is offline     Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2008, 07:25 PM   #3
Carl Filby
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Aug 2008
Location: Arlington
Distribution: Debian
Posts: 27
Thanked: 0

Original Poster
Quote:
Originally Posted by Berhanie View Post
What are "false postie claims"?
forgive the ONE letter slip
Carl Filby is offline     Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2008, 09:57 PM   #4
Berhanie
Senior Member
 
Registered: Dec 2003
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 1,260
Thanked: 36
Ah! False positive! Got it. Ok, so what you might mean is that you sometimes get an unintended answer to an RBL query; perhaps your ISP gets involved and tries to be "helpful" by converting an empty DNS response to a pointer to one of their web servers, in effect giving a false positive. If this is your concern, here is something you can do. RBLs -- at least the ones I use -- publish a list of their possible responses, and what they mean. For example, Spamhaus' is here. So, if I were looking up an IP address on zen.spamhaus.org, I expect an answer in the range 127.0.0.2 - 127.0.0.11. You can test this by doing the lookup manually. To see whether the IP address a.b.c.d has an A-record with zen.spamhaus.org, execute
Code:
dig d.c.b.a.zen.spamhaus.org
If you're querying your ISP's DNS servers, you might get a (false positive) response, but it will not be in the expected range. Now, to tell postfix about the list of possible answers, you would put the following in main.cf:
Code:
smtpd_client_restrictions =
  ...
  reject_rbl_client zen.spamhaus.org=127.0.0.2
  reject_rbl_client zen.spamhaus.org=127.0.0.3
  ...
  reject_rbl_client zen.spamhaus.org=127.0.0.11

Last edited by Berhanie; 09-06-2008 at 10:00 PM..
Berhanie is offline     Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2008, 10:09 PM   #5
Carl Filby
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Aug 2008
Location: Arlington
Distribution: Debian
Posts: 27
Thanked: 0

Original Poster
No but thx for the information
I want someone that has had their email blocked be able to email abuse@mydomain.com.
Carl Filby is offline     Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2008, 10:15 PM   #6
Berhanie
Senior Member
 
Registered: Dec 2003
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 1,260
Thanked: 36
Ah, sorry. I read your post again (did you change it from the first time?). Ok, so you have to whitelist the recipient (abuse) before acting on the rbl checks. You can do that by putting all restriction lists under smtpd_recpient_restrictions.
Berhanie is offline     Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2008, 10:30 PM   #7
Carl Filby
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Aug 2008
Location: Arlington
Distribution: Debian
Posts: 27
Thanked: 0

Original Poster
Moved the restrictions as suggested. Time will tell. Thank you
Carl Filby is offline     Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2008, 12:29 AM   #8
Berhanie
Senior Member
 
Registered: Dec 2003
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 1,260
Thanked: 36
You're welcome. The point is that you need to have a rule to whitelist the abuse recipient early on, so it won't be subjected to any of the other access restrictions.
Berhanie is offline     Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2008, 04:55 PM   #9
Mr. C.
Senior Member
 
Registered: Jun 2008
Posts: 2,511
Thanked: 4
Carl - make sure you have not created an open relay. See: http://www.postfix.org/SMTPD_ACCESS_README.html#danger.
Mr. C. is offline     Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2008, 05:12 PM   #10
Carl Filby
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Aug 2008
Location: Arlington
Distribution: Debian
Posts: 27
Thanked: 0

Original Poster
Thank You
Extremely valuable information. Adjustments made and relay test performed and server passed not an open relay.
Carl Filby is offline     Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2008, 05:00 AM   #11
jimmy03
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: May 2008
Location: http://www.pharmaexpressrx.com
Posts: 1
Thanked: 0
Thanks.

Thanks for your such a informational post.
It's very nice and informational post.
Jimmy
jimmy03 is offline     Reply With Quote

Reply

Bookmarks


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Emailing Postmaster (postfix) Carlwill Linux - Server 1 04-20-2008 03:18 PM
rbl problem with postfix-amavisd-spamassassin rointy Linux - Server 6 01-25-2007 11:01 AM
Postfix RBL Bounce Messages must die! thewonka Linux - Software 5 08-08-2006 02:54 PM
how can postfix redirect unknown users mail to postmaster LinuxLover Linux - Software 1 05-16-2006 09:54 AM
I need RBL/DNS Server and RBL list cccc General 0 01-09-2004 04:57 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:27 PM.

Main Menu
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
RSS2  LQ Podcast
RSS2  LQ Radio
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: @linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration