LinuxQuestions.org
Visit the LQ Articles and Editorials section
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Server
User Name
Password
Linux - Server This forum is for the discussion of Linux Software used in a server related context.

Notices

Reply
 
LinkBack Search this Thread
Old 05-23-2007, 01:14 AM   #1
linderox
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Apr 2007
Posts: 29

Rep: Reputation: 15
my Qmail is sending spam


I have a problem with a qmail
My MTA server every day is sending for me letter with different adresses. I think that is spam and i'm


Hi. This is the qmail-send program at local1.example.com.
I tried to deliver a bounce message to this address, but the bounce bounced!

<sec@fcradio.net>:
Sorry, I wasn't able to establish an SMTP connection. (#4.4.1)
I'm not going to try again; this message has been in the queue too long.



i found this one on the google and i found one program SPAMDYKE

Code:
#!/bin/sh
exec 2%26gt;%261
exec envuidgid qmaild softlimit -d 30000000 tcpserver -x /var/qmail/tcp.smtp.cdb \ 
-p -DRHl mail.myserver.ru 0.0.0.0 25 /var/qmail/bin/qmail-smtpd \ 
mail.myserver.ru /usr/local/bin/checkpassword /usr/bin/true 2%26gt;%261
this i should be add to the /service/qmail-smtpd/run,but when i did this my server stoped work...
Code:
   /usr/bin/spamdyke -l -d /var/qmail/control/rcpthosts -a 5 -T 60 \
   -g /home/vpopmail/graylist \
   -m 300 -M 1814400 \
   -u http://proxy.org/tor_blacklist.txt  \
   -s /home/vpopmail/blacklist_senders    \
   -S /home/vpopmail/blacklist_recipients \
   -k /home/vpopmail/blacklist_keywords \
   -B /home/vpopmail/blacklist_ip \
   -b /home/vpopmail/blacklist_rdns.d
   -rRc -w /home/vpopmail/whitelist_rdns \
   -W /home/vpopmail/whitelist_ip -e 5 \
   -x zombie.dnsbl.sorbs.net -x dul.dnsbl.sorbs.net -x bogons.cymru.com \
   --reject-missing-sender-mx --smtp-auth-command-encryption "/home/vpopmail/bin/vchkpw /bin/true"\
   --hostname ${LOCAL} \
   --access-file /etc/tcp.smtp \
this is my /service/qmail-smtpd/run

Code:
#!/bin/bash
SERVICE=smtp
source /var/qmail/bin/qmail-config-system && \
exec /usr/bin/softlimit ${SOFTLIMIT_OPTS} \
${QMAIL_TCPSERVER_PRE} \
/usr/bin/tcpserver ${TCPSERVER_OPTS} -x ${TCPSERVER_RULESCDB} \
-c ${MAXCONN} -u ${QMAILDUID} -g ${NOFILESGID} \
${TCPSERVER_HOST} ${TCPSERVER_PORT} \
${QMAIL_SMTP_PRE}
/var/qmail/bin/qmail-${SERVICE}d ${QMAIL_SMTP_POST} \
2>&1
 
Old 05-23-2007, 08:29 AM   #2
activeq
Member
 
Registered: Jul 2006
Location: Balen, Belgium
Distribution: Suse 10, Centos, Open Solaris
Posts: 76

Rep: Reputation: 15
How does your tcp.smtp in /etc looks like?
 
Old 05-23-2007, 11:09 AM   #3
JimBass
Senior Member
 
Registered: Oct 2003
Location: New York City
Distribution: Debian Sid 2.6.32
Posts: 2,099

Rep: Reputation: 47
That message is what is generated by qmail when your server tries to bounce a message, and the bounce bounces, as detailed here:
Quote:
I tried to deliver a bounce message to this address, but the bounce bounced!
Here is what is happening -

Some spam program sends an email to your domain, using a created email address. Say your domain is example.com. The spam program will just attempt addresses, 99% of which don't exist, like say asdfadsf@example.com. Since your server is a mail server for example.com, the message will reach it. Then your server tries to deliver the message to asdfadsf@example.com, and can't because that user doesn't exist. Your server bounces the message (the first bounce) back to the sender. Now the problem is, the spam program just made its own email address up, just as it made up the address it was sending to. So the message that came to asdfadsf@example.com claimed to be sent by bozo@theclown.net. The problem is, there is no bozo@theclown.net. The mail will be bounced to the theclown.net MX, and it will bounce the bounce, because bozo@theclown.net was a false address to begin with. So the first bounce is your machine rejecting the initial message, and the message you're seeing is the bounce of the bounce, the rejection of the message by what is supposed to be the original sender. It is just spam being processed. Don't lose any sleep over it. My machines produce literally thousands of these each day. Almost every piece of spam your server sees will double bounce, and that email is the notification of a double bounce due to spam.

Peace,
JimBass
 
Old 05-24-2007, 12:49 AM   #4
linderox
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Apr 2007
Posts: 29

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 15
my tcp.qmail-smtp
Code:
127.0.0.1:allow,RELAYCLIENT="",RBLSMTPD=""
#
#-----------------------------------------------------------------
# ALLOW EVERYONE ELSE TO SEND US MAIL
#
# Everyone else can make connections to our server,
# but not allowed to relay
# RBL lookups are performed
10.0.3.:allow,RELAYCLIENT=""
:allow
 
Old 05-24-2007, 04:23 PM   #5
JimBass
Senior Member
 
Registered: Oct 2003
Location: New York City
Distribution: Debian Sid 2.6.32
Posts: 2,099

Rep: Reputation: 47
You didn't seem to understand what I wrote the first time. Those messages are not caused by someone sending spam pretending to come from your server, they are the rejection (bounces) of spam sent to your server.

Its the opposite direction of what you're thinking. It isn't outbound mail from you, it is originally inbound mail to your domain. Mail is sent to addresses that don't exist on your machine, and the "from" address is also falsified, so it double bounces.

Peace,
JimBass
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Blocking spam with qmail Apollo77 Linux - General 70 03-05-2009 02:22 AM
ahhh my sendmail is sending spam?!?! mrlucio79 Linux - Security 6 04-14-2007 07:52 PM
Qmail Spam problem fw12 Linux - Server 0 02-13-2007 06:38 PM
Tracking Spam with Qmail kemplej Linux - Software 2 09-28-2004 04:31 PM
filtering spam in Qmail? IceNineJon Linux - Software 2 07-05-2003 02:35 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:24 PM.

Main Menu
 
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: @linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration