LinuxQuestions.org
Latest LQ Deal: Linux Power User Bundle
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Newbie
User Name
Password
Linux - Newbie This Linux forum is for members that are new to Linux.
Just starting out and have a question? If it is not in the man pages or the how-to's this is the place!

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 10-03-2009, 04:23 AM   #1
jayeshbhat55
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Oct 2009
Posts: 2

Rep: Reputation: 0
Windows inside linux+C2D T6500 doesn't support hardware VT


I am new user of ubuntu and would like to use windows inside linux using some worthwhile VT tools like virtualbox or Vmware. The problem is that my processor is core 2 duo T6500 and from its updated specifications it doesn’t support hardware virtualization!. Does that mean I cannot use VT at all ??. In some website its said that without hardware VT, 64bit OSs cannot be virtual guests, does that mean I can have 32 bit OS guests. I plan to use ubuntu 9.04 64 bit ( jaunty jackalope) and any windows OS (XP or more; 32 bit or 64 bit plz guide)..
 
Old 10-03-2009, 04:39 AM   #2
lutusp
Member
 
Registered: Sep 2009
Distribution: Fedora
Posts: 835

Rep: Reputation: 102Reputation: 102
Quote:
Originally Posted by jayeshbhat55 View Post
I am new user of ubuntu and would like to use windows inside linux using some worthwhile VT tools like virtualbox or Vmware. The problem is that my processor is core 2 duo T6500 and from its updated specifications it doesn’t support hardware virtualization!. Does that mean I cannot use VT at all ??. In some website its said that without hardware VT, 64bit OSs cannot be virtual guests, does that mean I can have 32 bit OS guests. I plan to use ubuntu 9.04 64 bit ( jaunty jackalope) and any windows OS (XP or more; 32 bit or 64 bit plz guide)..
But neither VMWare nor VirtualBox require hardware virtualization -- that's their advantage. You may be a bit confused -- there are ways to use hardware virtualization to support a VM, and those methods have a rosy future, but the two products you mention don't require it.

I personally prefer VirtualBox, having tried both. I find it more robust and bug-free. And it's free, not an introduction to a paid product as VMWare is.
 
Old 10-07-2009, 05:20 AM   #3
jayeshbhat55
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Oct 2009
Posts: 2

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 0
hey I installed virtual Box amd64 OSE and it works like a charm. I have WIN7 beta as my VM n performance has been good to my needs. Installation went like breeze no probs. Quite satified:-).
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
LXer: Linux Hardware Support Better Than Windows LXer Syndicated Linux News 0 08-19-2007 05:21 AM
Booting Windows inside Linux onlyone-jc Red Hat 10 01-17-2006 11:09 AM
SMC says Linux on box but not inside or via TECH SUPPORT suguru Linux - Networking 4 11-30-2005 07:36 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:17 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration