LinuxQuestions.org
View the Most Wanted LQ Wiki articles.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Newbie
User Name
Password
Linux - Newbie This Linux forum is for members that are new to Linux.
Just starting out and have a question? If it is not in the man pages or the how-to's this is the place!

Notices

Reply
 
Search this Thread
Old 01-06-2007, 08:38 AM   #1
greengrocer
Member
 
Registered: Aug 2005
Distribution: Ubuntu Intrepid and Meerkat, formerly used Debian 3.1 (Sarge) with Gnome Desktop
Posts: 353

Rep: Reputation: 37
which deb package is required to preview .wav


Hi Guys,

Does anybody know which deb package is required in order to preview WAV files?

What I mean by this is that the WAV file starts playing when the mouse cursor is hovering over the icon for a WAV file.

I used to have this working, but I just re-installed Ubuntu and now it wont preview WAV files when I hover the mouse over the icons.

Funny enough it previews when I hover over MP3 files after installing win32codec pack. And this never ever used to work with MP3 files for me.

Regards,
Greenie
 
Old 01-06-2007, 09:30 AM   #2
greengrocer
Member
 
Registered: Aug 2005
Distribution: Ubuntu Intrepid and Meerkat, formerly used Debian 3.1 (Sarge) with Gnome Desktop
Posts: 353

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 37
Interesting,

Preview of WAV files in Nautilus started to work after installing "sox"

So I guess you need the "sox" package for WAV file preview to work.
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to make deb package chrisstooss Debian 6 09-16-2005 06:21 PM
the last installed deb package, how ? ag2uki Debian 7 08-15-2005 08:44 AM
How to install deb package tstrickland Linux - Newbie 10 07-21-2005 07:39 PM
NFS DEB Package? Al Hawley MEPIS 3 07-11-2005 11:16 AM
help with deb package on Xandros 3.0 xiongnu Debian 2 06-09-2005 12:03 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:11 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration