LinuxQuestions.org
Support LQ: Use code LQ3 and save $3 on Domain Registration
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Newbie
User Name
Password
Linux - Newbie This Linux forum is for members that are new to Linux.
Just starting out and have a question? If it is not in the man pages or the how-to's this is the place!

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 07-06-2010, 12:15 PM   #1
kungfur@mone
Member
 
Registered: Jul 2010
Location: California, USA
Distribution: Debian.
Posts: 35

Rep: Reputation: 1
Video Preview / Thumbnails


Is anyone aware of an app that previews video files, i.e. by showing thumbnails, with or without an embedded player?

Running KDE4, the preview setting in Dolphin is very, very slow to render usable icons (even on my reasonably fast / beefy system) and I'm wondering if there isn't something better than the preview modes of file managers in general.

I STFW already and couldn't find anything - there are plenty of picture viewers and plenty of video players, but I couldn't find any video previewers. The closest thing seems to be mplayerthumbs, but if I'm not mistaken, that's just the preview mode built in to Dolphin.
 
Old 07-06-2010, 12:51 PM   #2
jay73
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Nov 2006
Location: Belgium
Distribution: Ubuntu 11.04, Debian testing
Posts: 5,019

Rep: Reputation: 130Reputation: 130
Well, there is ffmpegthumbnailer but that is not guaranteed to work with all types of video. I use the totem-thumbnail function which is integrated into nautilus but that won't be much help since you are a KDE user.

You might consider creating custom thumbs using (sm)player. Smplayer has a GUI preview function that will build jpegs that contain multiple screenshots neatly lined up in rows and colums. It is just a front-end to mplayer so it should be possible to do the same from the command line or from a script. But those previews are just that, not thumbnails; you'd have to do some extra work to use them as click-and-play icons.

.
 
Old 07-07-2010, 02:39 PM   #3
kungfur@mone
Member
 
Registered: Jul 2010
Location: California, USA
Distribution: Debian.
Posts: 35

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 1
Yeah, not exactly what I was looking for, but I suspect that what I was looking for doesn't exist.

That said, smplayer is a really nice front-end to mplayer I hadn't seen before, and that preview function is really useful. Thanks for the tip!
 
Old 07-19-2010, 05:15 PM   #4
brserek
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Apr 2009
Posts: 4

Rep: Reputation: 1
Hallo,
there's a ready solution - kffmpegthumbnailer
http://kde-apps.org/content/show.php...content=117562
It's KDE application and I'm using it for some time now. It's even included in Fedora's repositories. And it's fast too.
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sequential video thumbnails jay73 Linux - Software 3 04-14-2009 08:09 PM
Thumbnails are blue boxes instead of pic preview MooseMagnet Linux - Newbie 1 08-13-2008 08:48 AM
Nautilus video thumbnails pvilela SUSE / openSUSE 0 05-30-2006 03:38 PM
Nautilus Video Thumbnails sanmadjack Linux - Software 12 06-12-2004 02:51 PM
Video Thumbnails prompt Linux - Software 1 04-01-2004 06:06 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:56 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration