LinuxQuestions.org
Download your favorite Linux distribution at LQ ISO.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Newbie
User Name
Password
Linux - Newbie This Linux forum is for members that are new to Linux.
Just starting out and have a question? If it is not in the man pages or the how-to's this is the place!

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 03-21-2010, 11:13 AM   #1
goofybud16
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Mar 2010
Location: California, United States
Distribution: Ubuntu
Posts: 15

Rep: Reputation: 0
Ubuntu Linux 9.10 Floppy Drive issue on Dell Dimension T500


I just downloaded the Ubuntu Linux CD image and burned it onto a CD. I am running the CD version at the moment. I am using it on a Dell Dimension XPS T500. It has 384MB of RAM and it wont mount the floppy drive. Here is what happens:

ubuntu@ubuntu:~$ sudo mkdir /mnt/fd0
ubuntu@ubuntu:~$ sudo mount /dev/fd0 /mnt/fd0
mount: special device /dev/fd0 does not exist
I put several different floppys in the drive and tried it, Blank and Some with data. All the same Error. The floppy drive did come with computer built in. Thanks!
 
Old 03-21-2010, 11:21 AM   #2
Super TWiT
Member
 
Registered: Oct 2009
Location: Cyberville
Distribution: Debian
Posts: 132

Rep: Reputation: 16
Is the floppy enabled in the BIOS?
 
Old 03-21-2010, 11:43 AM   #3
fbsduser
Member
 
Registered: Oct 2009
Distribution: Hackintosh, SlackWare
Posts: 267

Rep: Reputation: 30
Did you check if udev made the symlinks you need (namelly /dev/fd0).
 
Old 03-21-2010, 01:50 PM   #4
Spudley
Member
 
Registered: Mar 2003
Location: Berkshire, England.
Distribution: SuSE 10.0
Posts: 299

Rep: Reputation: 32
I haven't used a floppy disk in years, but from memory, I believe has Ubuntu disabled the floppy drive by default since around v 8.04. But don't worry, I hear it's quite easy to re-enable.

These links are quite old, but may help:
http://justanotherwebblog.wordpress....in-ubuntu-810/
https://lists.ubuntu.com/archives/ub...st/120223.html
http://www.ubuntugeek.com/tiphow-to-...in-ubuntu.html
 
Old 03-22-2010, 06:18 PM   #5
Super TWiT
Member
 
Registered: Oct 2009
Location: Cyberville
Distribution: Debian
Posts: 132

Rep: Reputation: 16
I am on an Xubuntu Livecd and I have floppy support
 
Old 04-06-2010, 04:11 PM   #6
goofybud16
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Mar 2010
Location: California, United States
Distribution: Ubuntu
Posts: 15

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 0
I took the HDD out of that computer and put it in a DELL Dimension 4400. I am now using that dell dimension 4400 as my ubuntu computer. It has a nVidia graphics card and I installed the driver/tool. On this computer it finds the Floppy Disk Drive but it will not mount. I put blank floppy disks in, Floppy Disks with data that I know is readable because I tested it on my dell dimension 4600.I do it in command line and it just says it mounts. I tried to access it and it just said there was no media, but command line said it was mounted. I went to Places then clicked on floppy drive and it says "There is no mountable Data on this disk" Any help?
 
Old 04-07-2010, 09:53 AM   #7
Super TWiT
Member
 
Registered: Oct 2009
Location: Cyberville
Distribution: Debian
Posts: 132

Rep: Reputation: 16
Try making a folder where you would like to have floppy access (for example, /home/ubuntu/floppy) then, in a terminal typing:
Code:
sudo mount /dev/fd0 /home/ubuntu/floppy
and then typing:
Code:
sudo nautilus /home/ubuntu/floppy
Be careful you don't delete anything important though as you are now fully priveleged with this. For some reason, you have to be root to write to it. Then when you are done, exit the window and type:
Code:
sudo umount /dev/fd0
Floppy access seems to be kinda broken by default. For instance, in my case I can read the floppy, but not eject it. I use floppies quite a bit. This should be a viable workaround though.

Last edited by Super TWiT; 04-07-2010 at 10:01 AM.
 
Old 04-10-2010, 03:34 PM   #8
goofybud16
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Mar 2010
Location: California, United States
Distribution: Ubuntu
Posts: 15

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 0
Thanks Super TWiT, Your way of solving it worked perfectly after I played with it a little to customise it to my directories. Now I can Access floppies!
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ubuntu-804 in Dell Dimension.. troiubles installing... Cosmicb Linux - Newbie 13 03-07-2009 10:16 AM
Will Ubuntu 7.10 work on a dell dimension 4300S? POV_Dave Linux - General 13 01-10-2008 12:35 PM
issues with ubuntu and dell dimension c521 elphias Linux - Newbie 0 06-28-2007 04:43 PM
Dell Dimension e521 SATA DVD drive wont install burrito_bill Slackware 1 12-28-2006 05:24 AM
Ubuntu installer randomly kernel panics - Dell Dimension 4500 sexybomber Linux - Newbie 3 03-13-2006 10:28 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:05 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration