LinuxQuestions.org
Visit Jeremy's Blog.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Newbie
User Name
Password
Linux - Newbie This Linux forum is for members that are new to Linux.
Just starting out and have a question? If it is not in the man pages or the how-to's this is the place!

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 04-02-2008, 08:03 PM   #1
tractng
Member
 
Registered: Nov 2007
Posts: 75

Rep: Reputation: 15
time synchronization - NTP


Guys,

I am looking to point our linux redhat ES4 to the NTP (time synchronization). Where do I start?


Btw, we have updated the DST (installed tzdata-2006-1.EL4.noarch.rpm and then copied /usr/share/zoneinfo/PST8PDT to /etc/localtime)to four of our linux servers last year, but only 2 works. The other 2 don’t work at all (the same steps were taken).

The servers were never rebooted at all for all four.

When I ran zdump -v /etc/localtime |grep 2008, I get the following (it does show the correct time frame):

[root@lnx2 etc]# zdump -v /etc/localtime |grep 2008
/etc/localtime Sun Mar 9 09:59:59 2008 UTC = Sun Mar 9 01:59:59 2008 PST isdst=0 gmtoff=-28800
/etc/localtime Sun Mar 9 10:00:00 2008 UTC = Sun Mar 9 03:00:00 2008 PDT isdst=1 gmtoff=-25200
/etc/localtime Sun Nov 2 08:59:59 2008 UTC = Sun Nov 2 01:59:59 2008 PDT isdst=1 gmtoff=-25200
/etc/localtime Sun Nov 2 09:00:00 2008 UTC = Sun Nov 2 01:00:00 2008 PST isdst=0 gmtoff=-28800

I do notice the two servers that work have an extra file (locales.conf), but they again, the server at home do not have the extra file. Not sure if it make any differences.

[root@lnx3 etc]# ls -l local*
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 362 May 12 2007 locales.conf
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 837 Sep 11 2007 localtime
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 844 Sep 11 2007 localtime.bak

TIA,
tnt
 
Old 04-02-2008, 09:28 PM   #2
sundialsvcs
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Feb 2004
Location: SE Tennessee, USA
Distribution: Gentoo, LFS
Posts: 7,151

Rep: Reputation: 2203Reputation: 2203Reputation: 2203Reputation: 2203Reputation: 2203Reputation: 2203Reputation: 2203Reputation: 2203Reputation: 2203Reputation: 2203Reputation: 2203
A few things...

As you've seen, /etc/localtime is what determines how the time-zone is handled. I usually use a symbolic link (the ln -s command) to establish this file as a "link to" the appropriate file in /usr/share/zoneinfo, but that's just me.

Most frequently, a "daemon" process called ntpd is used to automatically synchronize the clock with a time-server. There's also a console-command ntpdate that the root-user can use.

Either way, it's probably going to take some disto-specific setup on your part...
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NTP time sync with windows 2000 AD time csghosh Linux - Enterprise 7 02-24-2012 04:46 PM
NTP Server giving central time instead of eastern time wjleon Linux - Networking 3 11-01-2007 05:04 PM
debian: Get time from ntp (network time protocol) servers checkmate3001 LinuxQuestions.org Member Success Stories 0 09-30-2007 07:36 PM
NTP synchronization, slewing for large period of time ? trubi Solaris / OpenSolaris 1 10-18-2004 06:26 AM
ntp synchronization problems ricky_ds Linux - Networking 1 10-13-2004 11:22 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:32 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration