For example, if you had samba all setup with your workgroup name and shares. And
lets say slackpkg had a update of samba
available. If you selected overwrite, slackpkg will replace your original
configurationn file(s) for samba with a newer default version. Which means you have to repeat setting up samba again.
slackpkg has updated the packages, it just wants to know if you want to keep the
configuration file(s) or replace them
with newer ones with default values.
If slackware is a fresh installed and you ran slackpkg, I would overwrite the old files.
If you had slackware for quite sone time,
and install programs, configured services like samba, apache, mysql, etc...
then I would keep the the original configurations files.
Anyway, if you elect to overwrite. slackpkg will make a backup copy
with the org suffix. So the configuration file for samba is /etc/samba/smb.conf will make a backup copy to /etc/samba/smb.conf.org
Last edited by dv502; 05-30-2007 at 02:21 PM.