I dont suppose it is possible to delete the root account ans start that back up again is there without having to reload everything?
Don't try to remove the root account!
You can reset the root desktop settings by recreating the /root folder.
At the grub menu, get into single user mode ( init 1 ) .
You do that by typing e
( edit ) and add init 1
to the end of the kernel line.
When booted up in level 1 , run these commands:
rm -rf /root
That should get you back to a clean desktop.
If you are nervous about doing that, you can move the old /root to someplace safe so you could restore it if need be ( in single mode ) ....
mv /root .
The restore command would then be ....
mv /home/root .