LinuxQuestions.org
Help answer threads with 0 replies.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Newbie
User Name
Password
Linux - Newbie This Linux forum is for members that are new to Linux.
Just starting out and have a question? If it is not in the man pages or the how-to's this is the place!

Notices

Reply
 
Search this Thread
Old 04-25-2006, 09:34 PM   #1
tokenringman38
Member
 
Registered: Apr 2006
Location: USA
Distribution: (ed)ubuntu
Posts: 85

Rep: Reputation: 15
RH 10/ F4 and xfce for Newbie


Not wanting to debate anything, just clarify: Been told that gnome is a little resource heavy and that Xfce might be a better option. System is maxed out with nothing but system monitor running -- 98-100% cpu, 90+% on RAM.


IF this is true, then the following questions arise:

(1) Being a newbie, how can I switch desktops easily?
(2) ANything special I need to be aware of with doing this?
(3) Other options I can add or modify to this?
(4) I don't know what I don't know on this

Last edited by tokenringman38; 04-25-2006 at 10:18 PM.
 
Old 04-25-2006, 10:47 PM   #2
lotusjps46
Member
 
Registered: Apr 2003
Location: Dallas
Distribution: Vector Linux, Suse 10.1
Posts: 186

Rep: Reputation: 30
Red Hat might be a little resource hungry for that machine. I use a 366mhz laptop with 192meg of ram, with Vector Linux. Damn Small Linux would be good too. Red Hat was a pig on it.

KDE and Gnome are too much; the machine is too slow. Xfce is a good option, as are Fluxbox and IceWM.

When you log into the system, I assume that you get a graphical log-in (that is, not just a console). Are there not other window managers available from a drop-down menue on that screen? All the Red Hat systems I have used had at least a couple window managers installed by default.

If not you need to go find the Xfce package. It will be an RPM file. You might look on the install CD; mount it and explore with Konqueror. Double clicking in Konqueror should start the install process. If it needs other packages it will tell you. You can Google for it too. Download it, and use the Package Manager or Konqueror to install it.

Good luck.

C
 
Old 04-25-2006, 10:57 PM   #3
lotusjps46
Member
 
Registered: Apr 2003
Location: Dallas
Distribution: Vector Linux, Suse 10.1
Posts: 186

Rep: Reputation: 30
Oops, forgot to answer all your questions.

Switching window managers (desktops are really something else again) is usually done by logging out and selecting a new one, then logging in again. There might be an item in the menu for selecting window managers that will let you switch, but I do not think Red Hat does that. It wuold not be hard to add, but it would take a while to explain.

Logging out can be as simple as Control-Alt-Backspace. That restarts X and takes you to the log-in again.

There are alot of things to add to a window manager like Xfce. Read about RoxFiler.

It is odd that the CPU is running so high. Even KDE should not run it up to 90% standing still. Try opening a console and typing "top" (without the ""). It will tell you what processes are using the most cycles. Use Control-C to stop top. To understand better, type "man top" first and read the information about top. Use "q" to get out.

Tell us how it goes.

C

Last edited by lotusjps46; 04-25-2006 at 10:58 PM.
 
Old 04-26-2006, 07:03 AM   #4
tokenringman38
Member
 
Registered: Apr 2006
Location: USA
Distribution: (ed)ubuntu
Posts: 85

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by lotusjps46
Red Hat might be a little resource hungry for that machine. I use a 366mhz laptop with 192meg of ram, with Vector Linux. Damn Small Linux would be good too. Red Hat was a pig on it.

KDE and Gnome are too much; the machine is too slow. Xfce is a good option, as are Fluxbox and IceWM.

When you log into the system, I assume that you get a graphical log-in (that is, not just a console). Are there not other window managers available from a drop-down menue on that screen? All the Red Hat systems I have used had at least a couple window managers installed by default.
3 desktops available on this machine are gnome, KDE and TWM. Had never heard of TVM at all. Tried it, now unsure what to do with it or should I get back to KDE or something.

Quote:
If not you need to go find the Xfce package. It will be an RPM file. You might look on the install CD; mount it and explore with Konqueror. Double clicking in Konqueror should start the install process. If it needs other packages it will tell you. You can Google for it too. Download it, and use the Package Manager or Konqueror to install it.

Good luck.C
Sorry for not understanding all this, can you walk me through this or send me to a webiste that will explain in plain English?

Last edited by tokenringman38; 04-26-2006 at 07:20 AM.
 
  


Reply

Tags
desktop, fedora, xfce


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Xfce problems with task bar and xfce-panel aeruzcar Linux - Software 4 06-26-2006 05:29 AM
newbie XFCE question maginotjr Slackware 5 07-20-2005 12:37 PM
xfce 4.2.2 Hyakutake Slackware 8 05-23-2005 05:51 PM
Xfce 4.0.6.1 RySk8er30 Mandriva 9 03-11-2005 02:59 PM
newbie xfce question schurt Linux - Software 1 02-27-2004 03:07 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:10 PM.

Main Menu
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration