LinuxQuestions.org
Help answer threads with 0 replies.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Newbie
User Name
Password
Linux - Newbie This Linux forum is for members that are new to Linux.
Just starting out and have a question? If it is not in the man pages or the how-to's this is the place!

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 07-09-2013, 11:23 AM   #1
dr_velociraptor
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Jul 2013
Posts: 5

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Really Stupid Question - VMware and alt-f2


I'm very new to Linux and I'm working with Fedora. I have it on a VM and I can't get alt-f2 to bring up the run application. Is there another way to bring to bring this up?

Thanks
 
Old 07-09-2013, 10:49 PM   #2
lucmove
Member
 
Registered: Aug 2005
Location: Brazil
Distribution: Debian Jessie
Posts: 715

Rep: Reputation: 72
I doubt your problem is in VMWare. I suspect the Alt-F2 shortcut does not work on Fedora. Actually, it doesn't work on the window manager you're using. What is it? Gnome? 2 or 3?
 
Old 07-10-2013, 08:38 AM   #3
dr_velociraptor
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Jul 2013
Posts: 5

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Quote:
Originally Posted by lucmove View Post
I doubt your problem is in VMWare. I suspect the Alt-F2 shortcut does not work on Fedora. Actually, it doesn't work on the window manager you're using. What is it? Gnome? 2 or 3?
It's Gnome 3 in fallback mode, using VMware Workstation 8.0.4, thanks!
 
Old 07-10-2013, 12:42 PM   #4
lucmove
Member
 
Registered: Aug 2005
Location: Brazil
Distribution: Debian Jessie
Posts: 715

Rep: Reputation: 72
Google tells me that the correct shortcut is indeed Alt+F2. So I don't know, maybe it is disabled. Check your configuration.
 
Old 07-10-2013, 01:44 PM   #5
dr_velociraptor
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Jul 2013
Posts: 5

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Quote:
Originally Posted by lucmove View Post
Google tells me that the correct shortcut is indeed Alt+F2. So I don't know, maybe it is disabled. Check your configuration.
Yeah I know that, I'm using the Sobell book, I wouldn't know which configuration to check, hence the question.

Is there another way to bring up the run application besides alt+f2?
 
Old 07-11-2013, 08:16 AM   #6
dr_velociraptor
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Jul 2013
Posts: 5

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
I guess this question was not that stupid, I thought there would be a simple answer to this.
 
Old 07-11-2013, 08:25 AM   #7
szboardstretcher
Senior Member
 
Registered: Aug 2006
Location: Detroit, MI
Distribution: GNU/Linux systemd
Posts: 3,774
Blog Entries: 1

Rep: Reputation: 1339Reputation: 1339Reputation: 1339Reputation: 1339Reputation: 1339Reputation: 1339Reputation: 1339Reputation: 1339Reputation: 1339Reputation: 1339
What virtualization are you using?
 
Old 07-11-2013, 08:28 AM   #8
dr_velociraptor
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Jul 2013
Posts: 5

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Quote:
Originally Posted by szboardstretcher View Post
What virtualization are you using?
WMware Workstation 8.0 with VMware tools installed.
 
Old 07-11-2013, 08:33 AM   #9
szboardstretcher
Senior Member
 
Registered: Aug 2006
Location: Detroit, MI
Distribution: GNU/Linux systemd
Posts: 3,774
Blog Entries: 1

Rep: Reputation: 1339Reputation: 1339Reputation: 1339Reputation: 1339Reputation: 1339Reputation: 1339Reputation: 1339Reputation: 1339Reputation: 1339Reputation: 1339
Are you able to switch between Terminals? Ctrl-alt-f3 f4 f5 etc?
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[V 13.0] Ctrl+Alt+Fn not work on VMWare 7.X. godlsd Slackware 2 11-24-2010 06:34 AM
recovering "lost" users..... probably stupid question (stupid user.......) bigjohn Linux - Newbie 6 11-07-2009 07:51 PM
Stupid, stupid question; I lost Klaptop. :( Surfrider Slackware 2 08-31-2005 10:12 PM
Stupid Dumb Stupid Question... drigz Linux - Software 3 09-23-2004 04:09 PM
stupid vmware question tearinox Linux - Newbie 8 10-05-2003 10:25 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:38 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration