If you remove the whole .kde folder, then your KDE settings will all revert back to the 'factory default' settings. If you're using redhat, then there are files in /usr/share/config that KDE uses to rebuild your settings from scratch when you restart KDE.
When you first create your user account, or when you first install your distro, there is no .kde folder, so if you delete it, you should go back to the settings from when you first logged in - there's no chance of really breaking your user account. Don't quote me on that, though!
Try just moving the folder to somewhere like the desktop, then restart KDE and see what happens - a new .kde folder should appear with default files in it. If you don't like what you see, you can just move your old .kde folder back into your home folder, and all will be returned to normal.
Last edited by ilikejam; 10-11-2003 at 12:34 AM.