LinuxQuestions.org
Share your knowledge at the LQ Wiki.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Newbie
User Name
Password
Linux - Newbie This Linux forum is for members that are new to Linux.
Just starting out and have a question? If it is not in the man pages or the how-to's this is the place!

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 01-02-2008, 04:02 PM   #1
geek1234
Member
 
Registered: Apr 2007
Posts: 38

Rep: Reputation: 15
pthread issues


Hi,

In my ubuntu gutsy machine, I deleted libpthread.so and 2-3 more related files from /usr/lib by mistake. Now when I am trying to install some other software, I get errors saying 'must have pthreads'. So somehow I have messed up pthreads. How can I fix this?

I searched a bit and found out that libthread may be provided by libc6. Is this correct? If yes, how can I get pthreads up again? Removing libc6 with apt-get removes a whole lot of other packages which is scary, so I did not do it. But how can I fix it without removing libc6 and installing it again?

Thanks
 
Old 01-02-2008, 04:31 PM   #2
jailbait
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Feb 2003
Location: Blue Ridge Mountain
Distribution: Linux Mint 17, Debian 8
Posts: 7,856

Rep: Reputation: 310Reputation: 310Reputation: 310Reputation: 310
Quote:
Originally Posted by geek1234 View Post
Hi,

In my ubuntu gutsy machine, I deleted libpthread.so and 2-3 more related files from /usr/lib by mistake. Now when I am trying to install some other software, I get errors saying 'must have pthreads'. So somehow I have messed up pthreads. How can I fix this?

I searched a bit and found out that libthread may be provided by libc6. Is this correct? If yes, how can I get pthreads up again? Removing libc6 with apt-get removes a whole lot of other packages which is scary, so I did not do it. But how can I fix it without removing libc6 and installing it again?

Thanks
You can find out what files a package provides with synaptic. Click on libc6 to highlight it. Then click on properties at the top of the screen and click on Installed files. On my Debian system the resulting screen shows that /lib/libpthread-0.10.so is provided by package libc6.

You can probably get libpthread back by using the --reinstall option. Something like:

apt-get --reinstall install libc6

------------------------
Steve Stites
 
Old 01-04-2008, 09:32 PM   #3
geek1234
Member
 
Registered: Apr 2007
Posts: 38

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 15
Thanks, but that did not help me and the software I am trying to install still complains that it cannot find pthreads. I also resinstalled g++, libstdc and libstdc-dev pacakages, but still no luck. Does anyone have an idea what other things I could try to have pthreads working?
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
libtest.a uses pthread: user of libtest.a should not link pthread again debulu Programming 2 01-31-2007 09:23 PM
pthread zaman Programming 6 08-29-2004 04:04 PM
pthread and C++ gt73 Programming 17 11-04-2003 03:01 AM
about pthread c12ayon Programming 6 10-25-2003 04:37 AM
need help about pthread c12ayon Programming 1 10-24-2003 07:47 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:06 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration