LinuxQuestions.org
Go Job Hunting at the LQ Job Marketplace
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Newbie
User Name
Password
Linux - Newbie This Linux forum is for members that are new to Linux.
Just starting out and have a question? If it is not in the man pages or the how-to's this is the place!

Notices



Reply
 
Search this Thread
Old 04-17-2009, 03:30 AM   #1
sumeet inani
Member
 
Registered: Oct 2008
Posts: 882
Blog Entries: 26

Rep: Reputation: 47
preview of music files in openSUSE


I am using openSUSE 10.3.In nautilus I enabled sound preview of mp3 files with 'always' option.When i select .mp3 file then music symbol appears over it but no sound.In mandriva the song was played almost immediately.Any one has experienced above problem in openSUSE 10.3.what is missing.
NOTE:i have played mp3 files with totem & banshee after adding fluendo mp3 decoder available free.
 
Old 04-18-2009, 11:49 AM   #2
jay73
Guru
 
Registered: Nov 2006
Location: Belgium
Distribution: Ubuntu 11.04, Debian testing
Posts: 5,019

Rep: Reputation: 130Reputation: 130
I don't know about Suse but on Ubuntu that kind of functionality would require you to install mpg123.
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
LXer: Exaile Music Player - Music Player for GTK+ in openSUSE LXer Syndicated Linux News 0 08-31-2008 01:50 AM
Preview .gbr files Tuxabuzr Linux - Newbie 0 01-14-2008 09:52 PM
LXer: Preview of the 1-CD openSUSE-10.3-Beta2-KDE-i386 LXer Syndicated Linux News 0 08-27-2007 07:41 AM
LXer: Hands-on Preview: Motorola Rokr E2 music phone LXer Syndicated Linux News 0 07-15-2006 09:33 PM
can't preview files in KDE now iceco Mandriva 3 11-03-2003 08:30 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:08 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration