LinuxQuestions.org
Review your favorite Linux distribution.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Newbie
User Name
Password
Linux - Newbie This Linux forum is for members that are new to Linux.
Just starting out and have a question? If it is not in the man pages or the how-to's this is the place!

Notices

Reply
 
Search this Thread
Old 02-27-2004, 08:07 AM   #1
Jongi
Senior Member
 
Registered: Aug 2003
Distribution: Debian Sid 32/64-bit, F10 32/64-bit
Posts: 1,070

Rep: Reputation: 45
Preview , MP3s, Icon View and KDE 3.1


Almost wrote the whole issue in the subject.

Anyway, when using KDE Konquerer (sp?) and preview is on and the view is set to icons, when i hover the mouse over an mp3 it starts to play it. However when in list view, when I hover the mouse over an mp3 it doesn't play it.

What causes it and how can i disable this feature for MP3s?

Another seperate issue: How can Iset KDE to run/activate/open a file when I double-click instead of a single-click?
 
Old 02-27-2004, 08:21 AM   #2
Baldrick65
Member
 
Registered: Aug 2003
Location: Dunedin NZ
Distribution: Mint 13 Cinnamon
Posts: 653

Rep: Reputation: 31
I don't use icon view, so that was news to me ... But as far as the double/single click thing goes, open the Control Centre, choose "Peripherals" then "Mouse". There you can change the click behavior.

Baldrick
 
Old 02-27-2004, 08:25 AM   #3
Jongi
Senior Member
 
Registered: Aug 2003
Distribution: Debian Sid 32/64-bit, F10 32/64-bit
Posts: 1,070

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 45
Thanks for the help on that issue. I don't normally use it (icon view) but i wanted to see what thumbnails of some pictures I had taken look like and changed the view while i was in my mp3 directory. Feel free to find out anything else about my history
 
Old 02-27-2004, 12:40 PM   #4
Jongi
Senior Member
 
Registered: Aug 2003
Distribution: Debian Sid 32/64-bit, F10 32/64-bit
Posts: 1,070

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 45
Looks like that doesn´t change the way Konqueror behaves. When in list mode it still takes one click to open a file.
 
Old 02-27-2004, 01:51 PM   #5
aaa
Guru
 
Registered: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Distribution: Slack 10.1
Posts: 2,194

Rep: Reputation: 46
There is a preview setting in Konqueror - not sure where exactly it is (obviously in the Konqueror settings, I think there is a 'Previews section), but when you find it there is a list of the types of stuff it does previews for; a checklist.

For the clicking, this is a window manager setting, right-click the top of a window and click 'Configure Window Behavior' or similar.
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
picture icon preview size iLLuSionZ Linux - General 3 11-13-2006 03:35 PM
Konqueror - Hover over an icon to view metadata RoaCh Of DisCor Linux - Software 12 07-25-2005 10:54 AM
KDE, Transcode preview problem auditek747 Linux - Software 1 07-24-2004 08:42 PM
In konqueror icon file preview stop working Mitsuhashi Linux - General 1 06-11-2004 04:29 AM
can't preview files in KDE now iceco Mandriva 3 11-03-2003 07:30 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:05 PM.

Main Menu
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration